Customer Reviews for

Sword Song: The Battle for London (Saxon Tales #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great

This book is very good and it is a great addition to the series, read it!

posted by Anonymous on February 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good, fast read.

Cornwell has a knack for weaving historical fact and fictional characters. 'Sword Song' is an interesting study of life and wars in the late first millinium.

posted by 3833310 on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    good stuff

    I have to say that I felt that this book was a good read and a good addition to Uhtred's story. However, I feel that out of the four books it was my least favorite. I feel that Mr Cornwell spent a lot more time in descriptions and politics as opposed to story , action, and character development. I still cannot wait for the 5th book to be written and absolutely love this series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another rousing tale!

    Cornwell can tell an exciting tale. This, the fourth of the Saxon Tales, does not disappoint. Like the previous three, Sword Song is a fast paced historical adventure featuring the pagan warrior Uhtred in service to the Christian King Alfred. The battle scenes are numerous, bloody and well written. Cornwell weaves several main conflicts together to provide a realistic view of an early developing England.

    An intriguing struggle continues with Alfred converting his kingdom to Chrisitanity. The change is not easy, nor is it uniform. Uhtred stubbornly holds out against the new religion and develops a clear disdain for most priests, in particular their treatment of women. While it does become a bit repetitive, Cornwell shows Uhtred's tight hold on paganism with his constant touching of his hammer amulet and adherence to Valhalla and the need to die with a weapon in hand. Uhtred becomes reminiscent of the Anglo Saxon Beowulf with his steadfast acceptance of fate and the human inability to change it.

    The reader can nearly feel the growth of England in this novel. The struggle to unite (conquer) the smaller kingdoms and place all of them under the rule of a single king makes for a fascinating read. The entire series does an excellent job in capturing the feel and the struggles of England's first true king.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Why put a new sword in an old scabbard? The Saxon Tales, Book F

    Why put a new sword in an old scabbard?

    The Saxon Tales, Book Four. Another resounding success from Bernard Cornwell, continuing the tale of Uhtred and his increasingly frustrated efforts to escape the influence of Alfred and return home and reclaim  Bebbanburg.
    I think this may be one of the few series that can be picked up at any point. All of the books in this series begin with a smooth intro and transition chapter to quickly put you into the mindset of Uhtred, our rough edged hero. Of course it’s better to start at the beginning (The Last Kingdom), but you’re in good hands with this author if you happen to stroll in right here at book four.
    The author’s historical notes at the end of these novels also entertains as he points out which parts of the story are based on truth and which sprang from his imagination. Since I know very little of English history, I find such things absorbing and a nice push towards the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Not as good as the previous entries in the series

    But still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Politics and battle. More politics and battle.

    These are the things of Uhtred's life and story. The battles are starting to run together for me since they mak up at least 50% of the book. I will read on after a break. Becoming a labor of love and pursuit of history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    it was a gift

    my husband collect this author's book, so i bought it as a gift

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2