Customer Reviews for

Sword Song: The Battle for London (Saxon Tales #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

best in the saxon series

Ignore the first review. It's either a joke or a mistake. Having enjoyed the 3 previous saxon stories, this one is the best. As always, Cornwell excels at battle scenes. He also brings to life a bygone age with great detail that never weights down the page. Throw in a ...
Ignore the first review. It's either a joke or a mistake. Having enjoyed the 3 previous saxon stories, this one is the best. As always, Cornwell excels at battle scenes. He also brings to life a bygone age with great detail that never weights down the page. Throw in a touch of humor and you have a great book!

posted by Anonymous on February 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as I hoped.

I had enjoyed Bernard Cornwell's previous novels in the Saxon series but Sword Song proved to be a let down. The plot was just to predictable for me. After the first few chapters, I knew where the book was going. I loved the Lords of the North, but Sword Song couldn't k...
I had enjoyed Bernard Cornwell's previous novels in the Saxon series but Sword Song proved to be a let down. The plot was just to predictable for me. After the first few chapters, I knew where the book was going. I loved the Lords of the North, but Sword Song couldn't keep me entertained for long. Bernard Cornwell is a great author, but this wasn't one of better works.

posted by 1_Nf6 on May 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    best in the saxon series

    Ignore the first review. It's either a joke or a mistake. Having enjoyed the 3 previous saxon stories, this one is the best. As always, Cornwell excels at battle scenes. He also brings to life a bygone age with great detail that never weights down the page. Throw in a touch of humor and you have a great book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Uhtred is 1 of the GREATEST literary figures ever created!

    The Saxon Chronicles, panned from the outset as Cornwell trying to return to his British roots, has proven to be a juggernaut that cannot be stopped by bad and, in this case, off-base, press reviews. Book 4, 'Sword Song: The Battle for London', continues the story of Lord Uhtred, Saxon born, Dane raised, sworn man of King Alfred the great. In this installment, Uhtred fights to take London back from the invading Northemen, the Vikings. Uhtred, who loves the Vikings far more than he cares for the Christian religion of the king he is continually sworn to serve, now must fight to take back London and to save Alfred, and his family, from defeat at the hands of the Norse invaders. This book, beginning in the year 885, probably doesn't see the end of 886 before the final page is turned. Unlike the first 3 offerings in this series, this book covers a very short period of time, perhaps 6-8 months. It is a fast moving, blood-letting adventure as Uhtred overtakes Danish controlled London whilst his estranged cousin, Aethelred, marries King Alfred's daughter, Aethelflaed, in search of a kingdom of his own. Uhtred is ordered to produce that kingdom as a gift to the newly married couple. Aetheflaed, a young woman whom Uhtred has known and loved as a daughter since she was a child, marries Uhtred's cousin, Aethelred, a man who Uhtred respects little and whom Uhtred, thanks to Alfred's order, owes much begining with the city of London. As we again hear Uhtred continue the story of his service to Alfred (All of the books in this series are told in first person), we find that a dead Dane skald (poet) is rising from his grave and announcing that Uhtred is to be King of Mercia. Uhtred witnesses this dead rising and follows the corpses instruction to meet with the Danish attackers who want to take the Saxon lands, present day England. Uhtred obeys the skald and travels to the Danish stronghold in London to meet 2 brothers, Erik and Sigefrid Thirgilson, and Haesten, a man who Uhtred once saved and who owed Uhtred an oath, which had been broken. Uhtred, if nothing else, is a man of his word, but he is tempted by the prophecy of the dead skald. He was tempted by the opportunity to fight along side the Northmen that he loved. He was desirous of seeing Alfred dethroned for he hated the pious nature of the king. Thus begins our journey with Uhtred. A journey that will lead to the battle for London, another war with the Danes, and a twist of fate (as Uhtred repeats throughout the book, 'Fate is inexorable') that will test Uhtred's oath like no other test has in his past. Uhtred is one of the greatest characters ever written. He was born a Saxon and rightfully the Lord of Bebbanburg, a county in Northumbria, a part of Saxon England. That birthright was stolen from him by his treacherous uncle earlier in the series. Uhtred longs to regain his birthright but, being a man of his word, he continues to fight for Alfred, and continually waits for his opportunity to return to Bebbanburg and avenge the loss of his birthright. This book, unlike 'Lords of the North', book 3 in the series, returns to the gory battle and grisly action of the first 2 installments ('The Last Kingdom' & 'The Pale Horseman'). 'Lords of the North' was as excellent as the other books in this series, but it lacked the battles and the carnage of the first 2 books and this latest installment 'Lords' was still an excellent book and I recommend that each be read to truly appreciate and understand Uhtred's story. Thankfully, the end of this book is not the end of Uhtred's tale. Cornwell has promised more works about the displaced warrior. With all hope, I can only wait for the Saxon Chronicles to grow to a library the size of which Cornwell has grown his 'Sharpe' series. A continued focus on this man and his adventures in establishing England for Alfred is deserving of at least a large fraction of the number of books produced on Sharpe. If fate is inexorable, I hope aga

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Great

    This book is very good and it is a great addition to the series, read it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Luvit

    Love the books. Somebody make a series of movies, HBO forget Spartagus, go with Uhtred. He is loyal to the king, though sometimes reluctantly, and a dispossed son of a Lord, trying tirelessly to regain his birthright. He's a warrior, a leader, treats his woman with respect and is a hulk to boot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOTS OF ACTION! Makes this one a hard book to put down.

    The dispossessed son of Northumbrian Lord Uhtred, once again finds himself back in the hands of King Alfred. This is the period where the Vikings started kidnapping for ransom. The King Alfred's daughter Athelfaed (sp?) is kidnapped all due thanks to her abusive husband Athelred who, through this marriage becomes a nobleman. Uhtred is, once again sent out on a battle mission, this time to rescue Alfred's daughter. The story, especially at the end, takes the reader through lots of twists and turns that will keep your nose in this book until your finished with it. THIS SERIES IS A MUST READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    The Enjoyable Saxon Tales series continue

    Sword Song is Book Four of Bernard Cornwell's Saxon Series. The book continues the adventures of Uhtred, the Saxon boy captured and raised by Danes. Uhtred is now a "middle-aged" man in his 30s, still trying to carve a niche for himself in 900s England. The book and the series excellently weave fiction and fact to make for a compelling and thrilling tale, Cornwell's signature style. Cornwell does an excellent job of describing daily life of the time without being bogged down in minutiae. The series continues to keep its steam up, with several more books apparently in the offing. The history is interesting, and part of the story, without becoming the story. I enjoy Cornwell's style and look forward to more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read

    Lord Uhtred's saga continues in this, book #4 of the 5-book series. Sword Song loses none of the punch and excitement of the first three books in this series and leaves you wanting more. Fortunately, #5 is out "The Burning Land" and I have started it. I know that once finished, I will be wanting more books in this series. If you like historical fiction, you will love this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Historical and Enjoyable

    This story provides some interesting historical insights into early english history. It is an enjoyable book as well as a quick read, quite suitable for airline travel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    great insight and storyline

    Bernard Cornwell does a great job of providing exelent insight about and age virtualy unknown to readers espechaly of the american variety. he also does an exelent job of creating a storyline that is based off of history but is not a dusty old textbook or documentery that no one would read. instead Bernard Cornwell takes the time to brush up on his history enough to be able to make a fun and intresting storyline with a historical base. He does a great job of develping the character Uhtred, origanily called osbert, over the span of the entire series uhtred undergoes changes as well as challanges as he grows out of his childhood years and becomes a warrior. Uhtred faces many challanges, in this book espechaly in choosing between the Danes, who raised him, and the Saxons, who are his own peaple. Uhtred must choose many times between his adopted brother, ragnar the younger, and his king, King Alfred the great, then just called king Alfred. over the course of the series we see Uhtred wrestling with the idea of taking back his land from his uncle who usserped it from him, and in this book we finnaly see a bit of that plan come together. altogether this book is an exelent read and i would recomend it to anyone with an intred in the more midevil warfare.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Action-packed!

    Sword Song continues the epic saga of Uhtred, the Saxon with the heart of a Viking. Now twenty-eight, Uhtred is still energetically running opposing warriors through with his sword and lopping off various body parts as the occasion demands. In ninth-century Britain, the Vikings and the Saxons still struggle for supremacy, so there is plenty of opportunity for mayhem. Uhtred dislikes both Christianity and its accompanying priests, yet must continue to honor his oath to serve the pious King Alfred and rid the country of the Norsemen. Never one to balk at risky undertakings, Uhtred keeps the action heart-stopping, with battle scenes and skirmishes vividly described in gory detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    This has been a good series so far. Completely entertaining.

    This has been a good series so far. Completely entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Sup

    Sup

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    To Percy

    I can ask you anything? Alright, then: What are the first 22 digits of Pi???????? If you are stumped, tell me and I will give you the answer. WARNING: NO CHEATING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    I percy am not running this chhat room any longer.

    I have to go on a quest and kill medusa she is seting bombs of. My brother jordan has a chat room at warfare in ancient greece result 2. To person who asked what the first 22 numbers of pie are i will tell you now as the last answer i will make, the answer is 1.1414141414141414141414 that is the true answer from the smartest person in the world........ Athena
    Goodby forever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Marshall

    Shaylee...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Very good book!

    I love these books, can't get out of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Anxiously awaiting # 7

    My husband and I have read the first six and loved them. Can't wait for the seventh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    excellent

    Great read, great story! A must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Another "Saxon Tales" hit

    Like most of Bernard Cornwell's books, this was a quick paced read with engaging characters. There are some interesting turns and twists in the plot and a few extra villians in this books compared to the previous three books in the series.
    Best of all, this is not the last book in this series. There will be at least one more and with luck seevral more in teh series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I'm hooked on Cornwell

    I have read them all and Sword Song advances the Saxon Tales series nicely, waiting for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4