BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sword Thief (The 39 Clues Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 310 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

My View on the Book!

I personaly liked this book the best in the series so far. It is funny, like the others. But it also doesn't turn back serious between parts of the book as it mostly does. Even when Dan and Amy have their usual brother/sister fight things do not get as tense aftwards. ...
I personaly liked this book the best in the series so far. It is funny, like the others. But it also doesn't turn back serious between parts of the book as it mostly does. Even when Dan and Amy have their usual brother/sister fight things do not get as tense aftwards. I even liked the flirting between Amy and Ian, even though they're cousins. The way the Cahill family treats each other, you can't really tell they're family. I mean, how they treat the branchs different from there own, you'd never know.
*SPOILER* When Ian betrays Amy at the end, I do not think it was just to trick her. I predict that he had fallen for her but couldn't let his sister know * END OF SPOILER* The sub plot about Mr. Oh and his family leaves you wanting to know more at the end! The book over all is a good read.

posted by TammyG on August 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as the rest

This book was a huge disappointment compared to the rest. I hated it so much that I skipped half of it and went onto the 4th.

posted by Sarah98 on November 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 312 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My View on the Book!

    I personaly liked this book the best in the series so far. It is funny, like the others. But it also doesn't turn back serious between parts of the book as it mostly does. Even when Dan and Amy have their usual brother/sister fight things do not get as tense aftwards. I even liked the flirting between Amy and Ian, even though they're cousins. The way the Cahill family treats each other, you can't really tell they're family. I mean, how they treat the branchs different from there own, you'd never know.
    *SPOILER* When Ian betrays Amy at the end, I do not think it was just to trick her. I predict that he had fallen for her but couldn't let his sister know * END OF SPOILER* The sub plot about Mr. Oh and his family leaves you wanting to know more at the end! The book over all is a good read.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The best so far!

    The 3rd book of the 39 clues is the best (I think!) so far! It's fantastic. I definately would recomend this book. But before you buy make sure your library doesn't have it. So then after you read it then you can buy it so you have it all for yourself! Dan and Amy really came more to life to me in this book. LOVE THEM!

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    LOVE IT!

    I love,love,love this book! It has adventure and romance. Not too much romance but for a 9-11 old kid, just enough. It could be any age but i reccomend this for that age(s).all i can say is LOVE IT!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    The book that ruled time.

    I think that this book really is a fun and fast read.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Great Book!

    This is a great book! My daughter really enjoys the series!

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    39 Clues Rocks

    This is the 3rd book in a 10 book Series. Read Books #1 and #2 first. Each book is written by a different author, so the books are published quickly. In each book you learn about a different person/place/history. These are short books that even reluctant readers will tackle. Added bonus: game cards and an online game that goes along with the books (but NOT necessary to enjoy the books) Buy the audio and put it on your iPod. The different character voices are fun.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Luv it

    Great book.... just like the rest of the series. I enjoyed this book so much

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    wow

    awesome i love it

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    :p only read sample but still good

    Ita good book

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as the rest

    This book was a huge disappointment compared to the rest. I hated it so much that I skipped half of it and went onto the 4th.

    7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Uoh

    Amy and Dan got tracked down!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Very suspenseful

    This book is AMAZING!!!!! The author uses his words wisely. All authors should be like this. I would no doutb about it read anothor book like this.


    A+!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    AWSOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ITS A COOL AWSOME BOOK AND RECCOMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Irishrose14

    This book is sooooooooooooooo good. Allcthe other ones are good too. I have it on my nook book. The nook is my best friend

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Nice

    What a great book

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Read

    Very good book read this book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Tatum

    It is a good book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    TAP THIS

    stop talking ahout how much yoyr daughter or son or anyhdy has liked the book if they like t le tem post it jeez

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Outstanding! (By Matthew)

    I first wanted to read these books in the fifth grade. My parents wouldnt get it though because it was a set of three books, and if I didnt like it, they wouldve wasted 20 bucks. Now, in 7th grade, I got a chance to read these books, and lemme tell you, best book ever. The intensity of this race and the suspense keeps your body attached to the book. I loved the twinge of romance in this book, not going too far like twilight, but it gives this bool that little spark. I am working my way through the series and am on the sixth book. Anyone who likes mystery, you cant count on the fact that you will like these, these books are a one of a kind series. Outstanding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Lucian-Madrigal

    Peter Lerangis if you are reading this i think it was a good book ,but what up with cousin kiss thing Please don't put that in another book Sorry

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 312 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16