BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Sword Thief (The 39 Clues Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 310 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

My View on the Book!

I personaly liked this book the best in the series so far. It is funny, like the others. But it also doesn't turn back serious between parts of the book as it mostly does. Even when Dan and Amy have their usual brother/sister fight things do not get as tense aftwards. ...
I personaly liked this book the best in the series so far. It is funny, like the others. But it also doesn't turn back serious between parts of the book as it mostly does. Even when Dan and Amy have their usual brother/sister fight things do not get as tense aftwards. I even liked the flirting between Amy and Ian, even though they're cousins. The way the Cahill family treats each other, you can't really tell they're family. I mean, how they treat the branchs different from there own, you'd never know.
*SPOILER* When Ian betrays Amy at the end, I do not think it was just to trick her. I predict that he had fallen for her but couldn't let his sister know * END OF SPOILER* The sub plot about Mr. Oh and his family leaves you wanting to know more at the end! The book over all is a good read.

posted by TammyG on August 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as the rest

This book was a huge disappointment compared to the rest. I hated it so much that I skipped half of it and went onto the 4th.

posted by Sarah98 on November 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Nice

    What a great book

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Lucian-Madrigal

    Peter Lerangis if you are reading this i think it was a good book ,but what up with cousin kiss thing Please don't put that in another book Sorry

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    A Middle School Student's Perspective

    The Book Review of The Sword Thief
    By Hennry, Grade 7, Yangon International School

    Imagine a situation in which believing in one’s cousins and uncles can be a death sentence In the Sword Thief by Peter Lerangis, the protagonists’ task is to find 39 clues around the world in order to uncover the secret of the power of Cahill family, the world’s richest and strongest family. Lerangis, the author of more than 160 books, had written this book for the third clue. Clue one- found, Clue two-found, Clue three-starting to find.

    Amy and her brother Dan are searching for the third clue with their unreliable uncle, Alistair and their enemy, Kabras. The adventure leads to three mysterious places that nearly ends the life of Amy and Dan. They met with a Japanese guy name Yakuza in Tokyo. He gave Amy and Dan troubles like Amy’s foot stuck in the rail road when the train is going to hit in three minutes. The conflict of the book affects the book because to accomplish their purpose the protagonist have to work with the antagonists. When Amy and Dan first met Kabras they were fighting like Kabras steal Amy and Dan’s air ticket to Japan. The conflict of the book is shown in very specific way. It is not very clearly. While Amy and Dan work with them, they always argue. Arguments were almost about the alchemy, a study of the chemistry from the middle age.

    This book was had a slow stent but when it reaches to like chapter three and four, the story seemed to move so quickly that it could be challenging to follow. Throughout the book the author tries to offer some insights into the concept of trust. If Amy and Dan did not trust with Kabras, they will not be able to find the clue. Yet if they over trust the others, Amy and Dan could be betrayed. The emotions of the characters also changed the view of Amy and Dan to Kabras. At first Amy behaved harshly and very rude to both Kabras but later on Kabras did
    . . . to Amy, so she become kinder as the story goes on. I didn’t like the point of being kind to your enemy. They would had betrayed if you are kinder.

    The Sword Thief is certain to catch the attention of most young adults because it is mostly about action of Amy and Dan face the multitude of dangers. On a scale of 1 (low) to 5 (high), I give this book a four because even though the plot and the clue is fascinating, there are some parts where the story proceeds too quickly.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2014

    Amy and Dan Cahill are journeying to Tokyo, to find the next clu

    Amy and Dan Cahill are journeying to Tokyo, to find the next clue in a giant treasure hunt that their grandmother's will initiated.

    They siblings fall in stride with their elderly relative, Alistair Oh, once again --- this time forming an alliance --- which could be a deadly decision. Unless their other alliance with the Kabra siblings proves to be more deadly...

    Lots of intrigue for middle grade readers. I liked the historical aspects that the readers gains from the story, whether its all true or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    The sword theif by Peter Leragis

    This one is REALLY good but a little to much romance but its still awesome!
    J. M. Janus agent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    39 clues is an awesome book. The characters and plot are both ex

    39 clues is an awesome book. The characters and plot are both exciting and fun. There are a couple of things I didn't like about the book. It has a lot of hard words and too many bad words.

    The funny parts made me laugh, like when Dan shouted, "Hey Amy this hike is rated PG."

    I really liked the exciting parts. At one point in the book someone put dynamite in a cave and lit it.

    I recommend this book to boys and girls who are 9- 12 years olds because there are some bad words in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Great

    I like it. Not my fave but still good. Cant wait to read the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    y kids love these books!

    The great thing about this series is I can read it to my 2nd grader and them my fifth grader grabs it to read on her own. Lots of historical facts woven in the story. Makes my kids hungry for adventure and travel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    This Series Is Addictive!

    The 39 Clues series has been a favorite of my 11 year old son. As soon as he's finished with one, he wants to move on to the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great for kid(s) and parent(s)

    My 8 yr old daughter and I are reading the series together. She is a strong reader but this series is for a bit older readers. She loves the series. It gives us a project to work on together, increases her interest in reading, and we really enjoy the time together. Not to mention, I am a bit addicted as well. The interation between the books and online is not just a game but educational. After reading Book 1 a Benjamin Franklin exhibit was in town and she looked at the exhibit is a different light. Hope more series are created with this writing style and concept in mind. True fan!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Bought it for my granddaughter

    I bought this book for my 9 year old granddaughter, an avid reader. She is working her way through the series.I myself have not read it, so I really cannot comment. I had to rate the book as a required field above, but I did not read the book, so it is not reallly fair that I had to rate it. I guess all I can say is that my granddaugher is such an avid reader that if she recommends a book, it must be good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    KEB reviews. Please read and comment!

    The mood for book three is obvious. 100% romantic love between Ian and Amy. Alister stills confuses everyone with his motives. Is he a friend or foe? Answer: complete wild card. He pretends to die, only to try and give some old uncle a fright and rub it in his face. Wow, really smart for an Ekaterina, Alister. But kudos to Nellie for an awesome rescure of Amy and Dan, with Alister too. Great job Nellie! It eould be awesome to have her as an au pair. And even more of the Cahill history has come out. Now we know who the parents of the founders were and what wad going on at that time. I must also shame Ian for his escape and leaving Amy, who he is attracted to , and the other two to die. There goes any hope of ever getting her back, Ian. So long readers. Please read my maze of bones review ro find out where the rest of my reviews are. Please comment. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    This was an really intresting book and i hope that all of you enjoy it as well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    THE SWORD THIEF: ROTTEN!

    Rating: 64%

    An improvement on One False Note, The Sword Thief may seem at times too childish for older readers, yet still possesses enough action and adventure to make it an impressive new edition to the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Join in the fun!

    This series is a must read for those wanting a rollercoaster ride without ever leaving the ground! Be sure to start with Book 1 so you don't miss any of the action. A brother and sister are orphaned and forced to live under the guardianship of a not-so-great aunt. Their wonderful grandmother passes away unexpectedly and leaves them in her will to play out a mind-boggling game for their inheritence. Get ready to sprint across the globe and test your memory from History class. Great fun! Not only do you get to read a great book, but there are cards in each book that you register on-line to follow along with the search. You sign on to create your own account. Onward with the fun. Play the games, study over all the cards, complete missions, find the clues and win prizes. There are currently only three books in the series of 10. I can't wait for Book 4 to come out in June. Each book is being written by a different author, but there was a great deal of congruency through the first three books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Fun Follow-up for Kids

    I could really tell the difference between this author and previous authors. Sometimes it seemed like he had a hard time fitting everyone in. I'm still confused about some of the character relationships, but I suppose those will be revealed in later episodes.

    Overall, a good fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    great

    great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book

    it is awesome you learn alot of history in the books I just love them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2