Customer Reviews for

The Sword Thief (The 39 Clues Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 309 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

My View on the Book!

I personaly liked this book the best in the series so far. It is funny, like the others. But it also doesn't turn back serious between parts of the book as it mostly does. Even when Dan and Amy have their usual brother/sister fight things do not get as tense aftwards. ...
I personaly liked this book the best in the series so far. It is funny, like the others. But it also doesn't turn back serious between parts of the book as it mostly does. Even when Dan and Amy have their usual brother/sister fight things do not get as tense aftwards. I even liked the flirting between Amy and Ian, even though they're cousins. The way the Cahill family treats each other, you can't really tell they're family. I mean, how they treat the branchs different from there own, you'd never know.
*SPOILER* When Ian betrays Amy at the end, I do not think it was just to trick her. I predict that he had fallen for her but couldn't let his sister know * END OF SPOILER* The sub plot about Mr. Oh and his family leaves you wanting to know more at the end! The book over all is a good read.

posted by TammyG on August 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as the rest

This book was a huge disappointment compared to the rest. I hated it so much that I skipped half of it and went onto the 4th.

posted by Sarah98 on November 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My View on the Book!

    I personaly liked this book the best in the series so far. It is funny, like the others. But it also doesn't turn back serious between parts of the book as it mostly does. Even when Dan and Amy have their usual brother/sister fight things do not get as tense aftwards. I even liked the flirting between Amy and Ian, even though they're cousins. The way the Cahill family treats each other, you can't really tell they're family. I mean, how they treat the branchs different from there own, you'd never know.
    *SPOILER* When Ian betrays Amy at the end, I do not think it was just to trick her. I predict that he had fallen for her but couldn't let his sister know * END OF SPOILER* The sub plot about Mr. Oh and his family leaves you wanting to know more at the end! The book over all is a good read.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The best so far!

    The 3rd book of the 39 clues is the best (I think!) so far! It's fantastic. I definately would recomend this book. But before you buy make sure your library doesn't have it. So then after you read it then you can buy it so you have it all for yourself! Dan and Amy really came more to life to me in this book. LOVE THEM!

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    The book that ruled time.

    I think that this book really is a fun and fast read.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    LOVE IT!

    I love,love,love this book! It has adventure and romance. Not too much romance but for a 9-11 old kid, just enough. It could be any age but i reccomend this for that age(s).all i can say is LOVE IT!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Great Book!

    This is a great book! My daughter really enjoys the series!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    39 Clues Rocks

    This is the 3rd book in a 10 book Series. Read Books #1 and #2 first. Each book is written by a different author, so the books are published quickly. In each book you learn about a different person/place/history. These are short books that even reluctant readers will tackle. Added bonus: game cards and an online game that goes along with the books (but NOT necessary to enjoy the books) Buy the audio and put it on your iPod. The different character voices are fun.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Luv it

    Great book.... just like the rest of the series. I enjoyed this book so much

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    wow

    awesome i love it

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    :p only read sample but still good

    Ita good book

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Uoh

    Amy and Dan got tracked down!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    AWSOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ITS A COOL AWSOME BOOK AND RECCOMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Very suspenseful

    This book is AMAZING!!!!! The author uses his words wisely. All authors should be like this. I would no doutb about it read anothor book like this.


    A+!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Read

    Very good book read this book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Irishrose14

    This book is sooooooooooooooo good. Allcthe other ones are good too. I have it on my nook book. The nook is my best friend

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Tatum

    It is a good book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    TAP THIS

    stop talking ahout how much yoyr daughter or son or anyhdy has liked the book if they like t le tem post it jeez

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Outstanding! (By Matthew)

    I first wanted to read these books in the fifth grade. My parents wouldnt get it though because it was a set of three books, and if I didnt like it, they wouldve wasted 20 bucks. Now, in 7th grade, I got a chance to read these books, and lemme tell you, best book ever. The intensity of this race and the suspense keeps your body attached to the book. I loved the twinge of romance in this book, not going too far like twilight, but it gives this bool that little spark. I am working my way through the series and am on the sixth book. Anyone who likes mystery, you cant count on the fact that you will like these, these books are a one of a kind series. Outstanding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Book title and author: The 39 Clues: The Sword Thief Title of review: Amazing book Number of stars : 4 of 5 The Sword Thief is one of the best books of the 39 clues series. It is written by Peter Lerangis, who is one of my many favorite authors. It begins In an airport in Venice Where there are arguing over what is in eachothers carry on. There are many main parts, including one where are visiting a library in Venice, when all of sudden, the librarian starts yelling at them, accusing them of a crime. Then, the cops arrive, but they escape before they arrive. You rarely see the Kabra name, but you get to meet several people. They find a lot of people that later become their allies, and they run into a lot of money. The plot is they are trying to escape their apartment without bieng arrested or kidnapped. There are many characters in the book, but the main ones are Dan and Amy Cahill. Amy is the youngest of the two, and also the smartest. The theme is current day Venice. The style is modern day European. The setting is also current day Venice. In conclusion, I really enjoyed this book, and I am going to continue reading the series. i would recommend this book, especially if you are in your teens. This book is an amazing book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Middle School Student Perspective

    A Book Review of 39 Clues: Sword Thief
    by Jerome, Grade 7, Yangon International school
    Imagine being a part of the most powerful family full of unreliable relatives and famous
    inventors. Two options exist: take one-million dollars and live normally or participate in a clue
    hunt to discover the secret of the Cahill power and become the most powerful person in the
    world. Amy and Dan have chosen to participate in a serious quest to discover the secrets of the
    Cahill power. On this risky trip, will they survive? Discover the answer in the Sword Thief, by
    Peter Larangis, an author of book three and seven in the 39 Clues series.
    The secrets of the Cahill family are hidden around the world. The only way to reveal the
    secret is to discover the 39 clues. Having found clues one and two in earlier books, finding the
    third clue depends on their unreliable uncle and their enemy cousins. To obtain clues, the three
    characters have to travel to Korea and Japan. In Japan, Amy, Dan, and their uncle Alistair are
    chased by the Yakuza to the train track. Suddenly they hear a honk from seven feet behind. What
    has happen to them? Are they dead or alive? Similar events highlight their adventures as they
    interact with their enemies who want to prevent the discovery of the Cahill secret.
    The book Sword Thief by Peter Larangis grabs a reader's attention. As the story unfolds, small
    clues are discovered in an effort to uncover the main clue. Larangis has done a great job building
    the conflict between the characters and their relatives. The characters' meet face to face in
    dangerous events which make the reader excited as the story flows to the climax. The climax is
    the part where the reader is fully grabbed by the story. Also, the author's use of dangerous events
    holds reader's attention. Though some of the events are unbelievable, the action keeps one on the
    edge of his/her seat effectively builds the suspense one expects in an adventure story.
    Any teenager who loves mysteries and clue hunts will enjoy The Sword Thief because there
    are mysterious clues which keep the reader wondering what happens. Many of small clues will
    eventually add up to 39 clues. On a scale of one (low) to five (high), I give this book a five
    because this is one of the most entertaining books I have ever read. The book interests me so
    much that I couldn't stop reading this book since I hold it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Cghghijgre

    It was a great book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12