Customer Reviews for

Sword in the Storm (Rigante Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sword in the Storm is a great read. Written in a style that hook

    Sword in the Storm is a great read. Written in a style that hooks you and keeps you wanting more- page after page. This is my first Gemmel book and I am impressed. This one in particular touches on the adventures of a young boy, his desire to overcome his fathers' tainted reputation; it is about honor, misunderstanding and retribution. But most of all, Sword in the Storm is a book about consequences. At every turn of a page, a new character is introduced, and each is unique, complex and enthralling. I highly recommend this first book of the Rigante Series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Finally!

    This is one of my favorite fantasy series! Amazing character development. Gemmell creates such an amazing world. So glad its finally on the nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    Prologue Ruined It For Me

    I read the prologue and had a huge let down. I forced myself to finish it thinking that the book would become better since I accidentally purchased the fourth in the series. It lacked real substance, reminded me of other books read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2004

    BEST BOOK I EVER READ ( and i read alot of books!)

    I acculy got grounded by my parents because i was reading to much for them to handle, they said i was spending to much time reading and not spending enough faimly time. I absolutly could not put this book down ,it even went to school with me i just couldent drop it its that good! And im dislexic ,I can hardly read but I love doing it if it mean getting to read a spectaculer book like this.( i used a big word hehe)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    THIS IS THE BEST FANTASY BOOK I HAVE EVER READ

    This book is interesting the whole way threw.It was the first great fantasy book i had ever read and still is. Connavar is almost the perfect figure. It keeps you up all night long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    Legend, fantasy and power

    Characters well developed and are brought to life through experiences and emotions. Battle sequences and warfare are very vivid and realistic. Use of possible historical and geographic context makes the story line grounded in a believable human past and settings. Easy to become immersed in story and characters. The mystical aspects are not outlandish or overwhelming thus the story maintains a human feel though several characters do seem larger then life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    WOW! I can't believe it's not human!

    Wow! I thought this book was great...for the first ten pages. Then, BAM! the dialogue pops in to existance. And I'm not saying that the dialogue was terrible, but I think George Lucas did a better job in Episode 1 +2. For those of you who really could care less about dialogue quality, go ahead and read it, it is a fairly interesting story. Maybe I'm just overly critical, since the other 4 reader reviews have been 5 stars....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    Sword in the Storm is a great read

    This book is a must-read for those who love a well-written and thought out book with action and adventure cleverly intertwined into an easily read format. I cannot wait for the next book in the series. This is a surprisingly fast and easy read -- you will not be able to put it down. Gemmell succeeds brilliantly with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2001

    Worth waiting for the next in the series

    Be careful, this one will draw you fully into the story. In my 30+ years of reading Science Fiction/Adult Fantasy, rarely have I read a story that not only is action packed but makes the characters real and life like. I had to finish this one in one setting. It is hard to find a place to stop and put the book down even for a short time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2001

    GEMMELL IS AN ARTIST

    I enjoyed this novel greatly gemmell is a skilled storyteller who deserves much respect I have read all his books as should you. Highly Recomended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2001

    One of my favorites

    Amazing story teller. Wow! Since I am a slow reader, I lost a few nights sleep to read it. The darn book was just too exciting, fun and inspiring to walk away from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2