Customer Reviews for

Sword of Darkness

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The writing is lovely and whimsical. The plot is distinctive and

The writing is lovely and whimsical. The plot is distinctive and interesting. The biggest problem is the characters. I think that the heroine was too good and too bland. The hero didn’t develop enough to change sides from evil to good. The secondary characters were flat...
The writing is lovely and whimsical. The plot is distinctive and interesting. The biggest problem is the characters. I think that the heroine was too good and too bland. The hero didn’t develop enough to change sides from evil to good. The secondary characters were flat, too. I did find the switching of speech patterns from modern day slang to medieval speech distracting. I understand the point with the time travel, but it interrupted the dialogue flow. Ok, ok, I did really like the reference to Comic Con. Camelot has fallen. Arthur isn’t king. Evil has won and ruled for three hundred years. Now, there’s a potential game changer. A peasant woman is foretold to be the future mother of a powerful penmerlin. Whichever side holds the future penmerlin, wins all the power. The winner has the power over Camelot, Avalon, and the mortal world, past and present. The problem is that the evil king of Camelot has possession of the peasant woman. The king, who only wants to kill, isn’t so willing to kill this woman. I enjoyed this book. It's a twist on Arthur, Camelot and the Knights of the Round Table. The idea behind this is creative and most enjoyable. Seren is lever headed likable. I liked Kerrigan too, I think he grew the most out of the couple. Seren and Kerrigan have a true connection and it comes across to the reader wonderfully. The pace is fast and kept my attention. The plot is complex and interesting. I look forward to the next in the series. I highly recommend anything from Kinely MacGregor (Sherrilyn Kenyon).   

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on September 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Early work, Needs Work

I'm sorry; this one just didn't do it for me. I'm a fan of Arthurian legend, but this one just felt a little contrived. I absolutely hated that they'd almost all traveled to the future, and thus felt comfortable with 21st century colloquialisms. I couldn't get my hea...
I'm sorry; this one just didn't do it for me. I'm a fan of Arthurian legend, but this one just felt a little contrived. I absolutely hated that they'd almost all traveled to the future, and thus felt comfortable with 21st century colloquialisms. I couldn't get my head around Merlin being a group of people instead of just one person.

What kept me reading was the main character, Kerrigan. So often the bad guy goes all good, I liked that this one ended a little differently. If you're going to read it, I don't want to ruin the ending, but I don't think I'm going to bother with the next one. There's just better stuff out there.

posted by Xedra77 on April 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The writing is lovely and whimsical. The plot is distinctive and

    The writing is lovely and whimsical. The plot is distinctive and interesting. The biggest problem is the characters. I think that the heroine was too good and too bland. The hero didn’t develop enough to change sides from evil to good. The secondary characters were flat, too. I did find the switching of speech patterns from modern day slang to medieval speech distracting. I understand the point with the time travel, but it interrupted the dialogue flow. Ok, ok, I did really like the reference to Comic Con. Camelot has fallen. Arthur isn’t king. Evil has won and ruled for three hundred years. Now, there’s a potential game changer. A peasant woman is foretold to be the future mother of a powerful penmerlin. Whichever side holds the future penmerlin, wins all the power. The winner has the power over Camelot, Avalon, and the mortal world, past and present. The problem is that the evil king of Camelot has possession of the peasant woman. The king, who only wants to kill, isn’t so willing to kill this woman. I enjoyed this book. It's a twist on Arthur, Camelot and the Knights of the Round Table. The idea behind this is creative and most enjoyable. Seren is lever headed likable. I liked Kerrigan too, I think he grew the most out of the couple. Seren and Kerrigan have a true connection and it comes across to the reader wonderfully. The pace is fast and kept my attention. The plot is complex and interesting. I look forward to the next in the series. I highly recommend anything from Kinely MacGregor (Sherrilyn Kenyon).   

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific romantic fantasy

    King Arthur is dead and Morgen has placed amoral Kerrigan of the darkest shadows on the throne of Camelot Kerrigan, more demon than human, a soulless one that the Knights of the Round Table fear. The only hope for the future resides in a peasant Seren, but Morgen recognizes she, if allowed to grow, will be the next Merlin and a threat to her rule.----- Kerrigan captures the innocent Seren, who knows what she faces and boldly challenges her jailer even as she concludes that she must use her female charms to seduce Kerrigan in order to escape because wizardry will prove futile. Shockingly her courage and spirit reaches perhaps the last human cell inside Kerrigan¿s heart and to both their amazement the pure Seren and the evil Kerrigan fall in love, a feeling forbidden by Morgen.----- Camelot fans will want to read this terrific romantic fantasy, the Lords of Avalon¿s tale. The exhilarating story line contains a dark ¿villain¿ who has to choose between the redemption of love and the power of evil both very enticing. As always Kinley MacGregor insures the unbelievable seems plausible while also employing humor to enhance an overall dark plot. Fans of the series will appreciate the ¿cat and mouse¿ lead couple as love is the last enchantment either expected between them.----- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    *****

    Wether she writes as Kinley MacGregor or Sherilyn Kenyon - her novels are riviting, sexual and out of this world!
    She is a must to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I am a huge fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon and was very excited when I found this book. As I expected it did not disappoint. From page one you are drawn in and I had to finish the book in one sitting. You fall in love with the characters, both their faults and strengths, and cheer them on for the entire story. I was also impressed with her twist on an Arthurian tale. I'm hoping that this will turn out to be another new series with many more books to follow. I can't wait to go out to get the next one to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An unexpected Gem

    I did not think I was going to like this book but picked it up since I have read and liked everything Kinley Macgregor/Sherrilyn Kenyon writes and needed something new to read. Have to say that I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed this book a great deal. The world inside this book is captivating and so different from what I have read before. The characters are interesting and have a way of wrapping you up in there struggles and rooting for them to overcome them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Kinley MacGregor books are ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!!!!

    I didn't think I was going to like this book, because I am not an avid fan of books about Camelot and King Arthur. However, this book completely bowled me over. I love the way Kinley MacGregor took the characters and made them her own. By adding twists and imagination to create a world so fabulous. I have read almost all her books and am waiting with anticipation for her to write another one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    Great Book

    This book had me interested in reading from the moment I turned the first page. I read it in two days straight and loved the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Early work, Needs Work

    I'm sorry; this one just didn't do it for me. I'm a fan of Arthurian legend, but this one just felt a little contrived. I absolutely hated that they'd almost all traveled to the future, and thus felt comfortable with 21st century colloquialisms. I couldn't get my head around Merlin being a group of people instead of just one person.

    What kept me reading was the main character, Kerrigan. So often the bad guy goes all good, I liked that this one ended a little differently. If you're going to read it, I don't want to ruin the ending, but I don't think I'm going to bother with the next one. There's just better stuff out there.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    Different and enjoyable

    I really enjoyed the book & read it very quickly. I'm a big fan of the Dark Hunter series (written under Sherrilyn Kenyon), but this one was different & I thought, quite good. Actually, it contained a very dark, but very deep & likeable hero that you sympathized with - much like the DH books (at least they used to be that way - her last 2 weren't that good). The two main characters are likeable & the chemistry between them is good, altho I think she could have made it sizzle a bit more. Give it a try - I think you'll enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    This is a PAGE TURNER!

    I haven't read too much of Gregor's historical romance novels or her novels written as Sherrilyn Kennon but I decided to give this a try and it was excellent. I read it in one sitting and am eagerly waiting the next one. The hero is appealing not only because he's super hot but because he's a tortured soul. This one is for readers who love a rogue with a good heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    Can't Wait for the Next One!!!

    Superb reading! I love the books that when you pick them up you just can't put htem down. MacGragor (Kenyon) delivers fantastic adveture. I can't wait for the next Lords of Avalon book in this series. Twist and turns, amazing suspense, great story line to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Wow.

    This book was wonderful. I've been looking for another fantasy series, and this one is perfect. I couldn't put it down once I started. I seriously can't wait until the second one comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    great new series

    Kinley MacGregor and Sherrilyn Kenyon are 2 names that I know I can depend on for a good read. Starting a new series can be a problem because loyal fans expect a certain type of story. I was a bit hesitant to read this but thoroughly enjoyed it. This series is a wonderful blend of the author's historical and urban fantasy series. It can stand on its own. It is always nice to see the start of a new series and just proves the depth of the author's talent that she has books in 3 different worlds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2006

    Another Excellent Book from Kenyon/MacGregor

    I highly recommend this book. It was excellent! If this is your first time reading Kinley Macgregor, you should also read her Sherrilyn Kenyon Darkhunter series. All of her books are Excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    you just cant go wrong

    kinley mcgrgor does it again. this book captures you from page one and you just cant put it down. the characters were well written and you come to love them all. if your looking for a great read look no further this one is it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    absolutely outstanding

    I hesitated to buy this book. Usually fantasy isn't something I care for but I do love Kinley MacGregor's books so I decided to give it a try. It was great!! I loved the characters. I cannot wait for the next Lords of Avalon. Although I'm still waiting for Lachlan's and Kieran's stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    Couldn't put it down!!!

    I saw this book at the store and thought that I would give it a try. I couldn't put it down! The characters were wonderful! I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    AWESOME!!

    This was one of the best books!! I could not put it down. I am anxiously waiting for the next of the series! For anyone who has not read it...please do! You cannot go wrong with MacGregor!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Gargamel

    Heavy Lobster originates from the early kirby game "Meta Knight's Revenge". He's an excellent choice. It's just that...well he's a superdeadly robot mech.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Kirby and the Dark Phoenix: to Gargamel and Dynablade

    Ohhhh, ok, yeah, that was a typo at chapter. Nvm the message at chp. 4. I didn't read closely enough. DERP! To Dynablade, problem is, this book is more connected to the games. Idk 'bout Heavy Lobster, but it sounded like a boss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5