Customer Reviews for

The Sword of Shannara Trilogy

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    3 of THE Best Fantasy novels EVER written...

    I've been a fan of Terry Brooks and his fabulous Shannara series since a friend of mine introduced me to 'The Sword of Shannara' shortly after it was published back in 1977...I nearly fainted when I first saw 'the Elfstones' on the bookshelf in 1982 and unlucky me, I had NO money at the time and had to wait an excruciatingly long 3 days to earn enough money from my parents to pick up a copy (still my favorite of the Shannara series, too) and 'the Wishsong' wrapped up the first 3 books with an incredibly fresh new look at using magic in a fantasy setting. Terry has gone on to other great heights by branching away from Shannara with his Magic Kingdom of Landover novels (which I never really got into myself) and the wonderfully different but exciting 'Word & Void' series most recently. But all in all, it is VERY tough to beat his original novels. After recently re-reading the Lord of the Rings, I noted some serious similarities between the original 'Sword' and Tolkiens classics, but all that aside, I STILL consider it an incredibly entertaining piece of imaginative fiction. The overall change of writing style between 'Sword' and 'the Elfstones' is quite apparent, but its a change for the better. The story of Wil and his exploits into the Westland with Amberle to save the ancient Ellcry's was written to perfection. I still believe that ALL of his books since have fallen slightly short of this amazing tale. In 'Wishsong' Terry expanded yet again creating a fantastic heroine in the lead with Brin. Her younger brother Jair, also born with the gift of the Wishsong both embark (separately) upon an incredible journey of adventure and danger. I would have to say of all of Terry's wonderful novels, 'Wishsong' comes the closest to being the equal of 'Elfstones' (in MY opinion anyway). I can hardly believe it's been 25 YEARS since the release of 'The Sword of Shannara'! I can honestly say that Terry Brooks is one of the most influential authors in getting me interested in reading. I was quite fortunate that I was introduced to the world of fantasy at a time when I was looking for something, anything that would capture my interest, and boy did it! If you are a fan of Shannara, and I do mean TRUE FAN, than pick up this beautiful novel (it's BIG, too) and treasure it for the tremendous amount of fun it contains. I can't wait to get mine autographed on Terry's upcoming tour to promote 'Morgawr'. Terry, you really ARE in inspiration to those of us who literally treasure the time we get to spend inside of your imaginative creation. THANK YOU.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The quintessential read after the Lord of the Rings!

    A must read series for younger readers. If you have read and enjoyed the Hobit and the Lord of the Rings, then this is the next great story for you. Terry Brooks is one of the legends of Fantasy, and the Sword of Shannara is the beginning into this great new world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    You atleast have to try it!

    I read most of these books as a child and they never get old! Terry brooks does an amazing job of captivating the imagination. If you enjoy fantasy books at all you will love all of the Shannara series'. This is a must buy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great trip to a whole new world.

    This book series was a great trip into a world full of adventure. The parallel to the Lord of the Rings in the first book gives readers an insight to a world that is doomed if not for the courage of one small individual who will have to rise up and save mankind. The following stories of the family and their use of the magic that was passed down the generations will give readers new adventures to follow across an ever-changing land. This is a must read for all who truly enjoy epic fantasy. The series continues and once you start you will want to continue the stories of this incredible family with the entire Shannara series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely the Best

    I fell in love with the first three stories of Shannara, presented here in the Sword of Shannara Trilogy. Terry Brooks really takes you in the world of epic fantasy. The plot were amazing and the characters unforgettable. I have recommended this to everyone I know. A great read. It is filled with surprises and will keep you wanting more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but sometimes too much like LOTR

    I enjoyed the stories a lot, but sometimes I felt bogged down by too much information and sometimes it felt like I was not reading Terry Brooks but J.R.R. Tolkien. If you can forget about that there are complex believable characters and the plots can be exciting with spots that make you keep reading. Overall not my favorite book, but still a good read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    World of Shannara is a World of Its Own

    Hardcore Lord of the Ring snobs always depict Brooks' work as a 'rip off' of the Lord of the Rings -- I can never understand this, as after the first novel, the similarities are far and few. It's also amusing that few seem to realize that Tolkien's work is as original as those they call unoriginal -- they're a re-telling of ancient tales and histories with their own twists. There are only so many different tales with so many different variations in modern literature. Within these boundaries, Brooks creates the world of Shannara not only through this trilogy, but through the Word/Void Trilogy, the Heritage of Shannara series, the Jerle Shannara Trilogy, the High Druid Trilogy, and the brand new Genesis of Shannara series. He's created a world of his own, and if there were any similarities between his work and the work of Tolkien, they parted ways a long time ago. This series is worth reading because of the door it opens into the world of Shannara, one of the most comprehensive worlds since Tolkien's Middle Earth, and certainly easier and more fun to access.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Love it

    One of my favorite fantasy book series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Don't miss this Terry Brooks adventure!

    Terry Brooks never disappoints - I'm so glad he was able to forego his lawyer days to write full time! I read this series many years ago & it has lost none of the excitement this second time around. I'm thrilled to be following the Ohmsford family (the bearers of Elven magic) & the Druid Allanon in the 2nd trilogy' The Heritage of Shanara. Masterfully written you are a willing captive as "real" life fades and the adventure sweeps you away once again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Read the original printings when published

    When these were published, all three were in the large paperback form. I have sense read everything Terry has written over the next thirty five years in hardback copy. This purchase was to complete my collection in hardback. If you have not read these works, you are missing out on one of the finest authors of our time. Pick these up, and it's nice that all three are together, and you won't stop reading everything else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Long book but still great read

    If your going to get in to it you have to have a lot of free time and it is one book that is a most read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Doesnt open

    The book will not load on my google nexus. Would use my nook but it broke.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    .iuimkki..kjiimikkj.j.ikmkmji.j j.mj.

    Ii.iik.ii mn..k.. nkkj..iy. i ijni.iiik.ui..nmkkimo m.u.mjiiimi.m
    ui

    i
    uim..kiiimk.mikj..ks, jmk khh
    kim.ij...iimm..IKimm
    Ikm
    KkKk.k
    .mibmujkiuuiimiiu.m.Iikk.mmm.kiiiy.i.i i.mi. kiijny.mik.mimnijkI.jm.i
    m

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    ??? Have not read

    I have not read this books but read and watch legend of the seeker!+

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    This book sucks

    Look this book has zero action and description of anyhind. The plot is preidectable and thee characters suck. Look allonan was retarded and most of the book was talking abou the history of the land and not going along with any thing DONT BUY THEIS RIPP OFF

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Smells like dog buns

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    General opinion

    I do not think that these books are ripped of from lord of the rings, plot, characters et cetera are different though both authers writing styles are similar. If you like the style of lord of the rings you should givr this a try, i liked it and i am domewhat critical of books. This was a good read and it will keep you occupied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Good read

    I liked it alot very good charitors

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    TERRY BROOKS IS BEAST

    No author is as good as Terry Brooks. These books are amazing and you're INSANE if you say otherwise. My dad bought me the three books about two years ago. I haven't finished it all yet but I know the books are some of the best.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Loved it!

    Read series when they were first released. Loved it then, love it now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8