Customer Reviews for

Sword of Truth Boxed Set I: (Books 1-3) Wizard's First Rule/Blood of the Fold/Stone of Tears

Average Rating 4.5
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fan worthy

I have read a great deal of books. By a great variety of authors. Every author has their own unique style of writing that may or may not appeal to certain groups of people. Terry Goodkind has made a profound impression on me. His use of detail makes it seem as though yo...
I have read a great deal of books. By a great variety of authors. Every author has their own unique style of writing that may or may not appeal to certain groups of people. Terry Goodkind has made a profound impression on me. His use of detail makes it seem as though you were looking at the scene before your very eyes instead of through his words. Goodkind also has a unique way of making his heroes inexcapably human, like they really were and not simply fictitious beings made for our own enjoyment. They have faults, they make mistakes. This has got to be one of the best series I've read by one of the best authors I've encountered.

posted by Heteru on August 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Author is great, Book is great....reader is not.

A good audiobook requires two things: good material (Terry Goodkind writes an awesome book) and a good reader.

Book 1...couldn't stay away...had to have it playing in the car, in the shower, when I made it in from work. The reader did the material justice.

Book 2...
A good audiobook requires two things: good material (Terry Goodkind writes an awesome book) and a good reader.

Book 1...couldn't stay away...had to have it playing in the car, in the shower, when I made it in from work. The reader did the material justice.

Book 2...don't waste your money. The guy sounds like someone trying to sound like a robot reading a book. Like the guy you'd hire to talk at you about not leaving your bags unattended in the airport. I listen to a lot of audiobooks...even the mediocre readers, you can get into them after accustoming yourself to their cadence. Book 2, however, is read by Jim Bond, and Jim Bond is a terrible reader. His voice is nice, sure, but his ability to perform the book just isn't there. It has me thinking I should avoid Book 3, on audio, if he's the reader...he's just that bad. Unless, perhaps, they let him read the role of a robot in a cartoon...he shouldn't read aloud for money.

posted by whitepawn on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great series

    I first started reading these novels after seeing the first season of Legend of the Seeker. I loved the show, so I wanted to see where the idea came from. Turns out, The Sword of Truth series is totally different that the TV medium. Now, I still am a diehard fan of the show, but I have come to grow and love this book series as well. I view them as two entirely separate entities, due to the creative differences. I found Wizard's First Rule to be an excellent and thrilling read, but I was less impressed with books 2 and 3, due to the depressing nature. Goodkind has a way with his plots, where he makes his characters suffer endlessly until the last 100 pages or so, then everything is wrapped up nicely. Which is comforting for a reader to know because some of the content is so dark that you need to know that the character's will make it through.

    The rest of the series is far more enjoyable than these first three. Book 6, Faith of the Fallen, is one of my favorite books of all time. Stick with this series! You won't regret it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Like the series, but T.G. is a sick sick man LOL

    I decided to read the series because I've come to love the television series based on the books, Legend of the Seeker. I think the plot drags in places, but maybe it was because I was excited for the action to begin. However, a thought kept occuring to me as I read the books - that Terry Goodkind must be a sick, sick man. Whenever an author creates a new world, nothing exists in it until he thinks of it, and he thought up some terrible things! Had the television show stayed true to the book, it couldn't be aired even on Showtime! That being said, I still liked the books. I must be a little sick too ;)

    I would also like to rate the publisher as well. The quality of the paperback printing is substandard in my opinion. The page margins change in places, the printed letters are smudged in places, the paper quality is poor, and I even found a typo. I've never before looked at a book and thought how cheeply it was put together. Shame on Tor-forge.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    OMG Love!

    I've been looking to dig my eyes into these books for so long, and I am ever so glad that I did. I was not disappointed. These books are captivating and keep me on the edge of my seat. I highly recommend them to anyone who wants to see a badass heroine, an amazing man coming into his own, and the various lessons they learn and teach along the way :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    Have only finished the first book

    To me this ranks just below The Lord of the Rings (which I believe is the best nonfiction book every written, as well as other Tolkien books.)I am a slower reader so was surprised at how fast I read this book, finding any odd moment I could to at least read another page or two. The only flaw I see, and this might be explained in later books, is he took the charater Kahlan who supposedly traveled all over, has this great power, is force to be alone, can command kings and queens and makes her into a wimp who seems to cry all the time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    You will loose sleep reading these books. Very gripping.

    I love the characters who are very realistic. Not some out of reach haughty ones in some books. A good balance of seriousness and humors. And the plots are very riveting. I have lost countless hours of sleep over these books never read books as fast as I had, but I enjoyed every minute of it. However, I wished Mr. Goodkind had let Richard receive more education on his gift so that he can more fully use them. Rather than being a gunho guy trusting his instincts and luck all the time. To make the plot more interesting and more real, Richard should actually shoulder some responsibilities as being the Master of D'Hara -- learn how to rule with wits not just muscles. This is not to say that Richard has no brain. Quite the contrary though. But being a ruler, administration is a part of the job, besides thawing schemes by the villains. I pity Khalan's and Richard's fates for always being sucked into Armageddon situation one after another. Without having a chance to savor each other's company for long. There are a lot of twists to the story but at the end, the good side always prevail. Mr. Goodkind needs to somehow change that a little. It becomes boring book after book with the same ending -- good always win. But over all, I really enjoyed the whole series. Can't put them down. I have recommend it to many friends. Now it's going to be aired on TV in the Fall of '08. Can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    Love the Sword of Truth - the first three of four anyways...

    I believe that I was 11 yrs old when I first started reading fantasy. Being new to the genre, I simply picked up the first book that I thought had and interesting title and a cool cover. I read Stone of Tears and then Blood of the Fold and it was several months before I read Wizards First Rule. Though I do not quite like the way the series has turned out, the first three will always hold a special place in my heart. Richard Rahl and Kahlan Amnell are strong characters with a moral sense of what is right and wrong, and it is they - I believe -that have made the early part of this series so... interesting and lovable to Terry Goodkind's fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Good Read

    Liked the story. It's definitely a page turner. Wouldn't read it again though. Reviews little bit exagerated on this book. Could be one of my favorites, I only read the first book so far. Can't really say it's the best fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    Compelling

    Well, In general it's a good series, I read a lot of fantasy and SF books, and those are special books that can be read over and over, I read the whole series from the Wizard's first rule to souls of the fire, but I didn't like that the author keeps reminding us again and again of a lot of incidents that happened in the previous books, sometimes I feel to feel the space and make the book, well, just have more pages.. besides that, I think she's great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2