Customer Reviews for

The Sword of Truth Boxed Set III (Books 7-9): The Pillars of Creation/Naked Empire/Chainfire

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The best series I've read in this Genre

Loved the story and characters so much that when I finished the last book of the series I wanted to go back to the first book and start all over again. The charactors are like old friends. You really don't want to put the book down. The story and charactors grab you and...
Loved the story and characters so much that when I finished the last book of the series I wanted to go back to the first book and start all over again. The charactors are like old friends. You really don't want to put the book down. The story and charactors grab you and keep you entertained.

posted by TDKITT on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Terry Where Are You?

Terry started out so strong we couldn't wait for his books to come out. Now that we've gotten into the last trilogy of books, we can't wait for them to be over. His paragraphs are made up of lists of redundancy and he will talk a subject so repetitively you want to shoo...
Terry started out so strong we couldn't wait for his books to come out. Now that we've gotten into the last trilogy of books, we can't wait for them to be over. His paragraphs are made up of lists of redundancy and he will talk a subject so repetitively you want to shoot your foot just so you have a reason to drop the book. Please finish up your contract so we don't have to suffer further to continue being a fan.

posted by xMissMelaniex on March 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    The best series I've read in this Genre

    Loved the story and characters so much that when I finished the last book of the series I wanted to go back to the first book and start all over again. The charactors are like old friends. You really don't want to put the book down. The story and charactors grab you and keep you entertained.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Terry Goodkind's Inspiring Series Continues to Thrill

    Do not be intimidated by the length of these novels; Goodkind fills each page with action, adventure, and excitement. This installment of the series is truly captivating and and excellent follow-up to one of the greatest books I've ever read, "Faith of the Fallen." Goodkind has a way with showing his characters struggle through the darkest hours of their lives, only to triumph at the end. Even though some of the content can be very depressing, the fact that these characters overcome all and rise up to live life for themselves is a very inspiring message for readers to take away. In a world where we see very little good happening, it is nice to be escape into the lives of the characters Richard and Kahlan, who risk everything to better the world. Their story is touching and hopeful, making this series one of the best I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Terry Where Are You?

    Terry started out so strong we couldn't wait for his books to come out. Now that we've gotten into the last trilogy of books, we can't wait for them to be over. His paragraphs are made up of lists of redundancy and he will talk a subject so repetitively you want to shoot your foot just so you have a reason to drop the book. Please finish up your contract so we don't have to suffer further to continue being a fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    not the best

    they were good books but i say that the first 6 were extrememly better. the problenm was terry intorduced a lot of new characters that was hard for me to comprehend. all in all i thought they were okay.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Great Set!

    My husband & son really liked this whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you've read the others then make sure to get these too!

    After reading the first book I was hooked in this series and bought all the other ones to complete it. I'm so happy I did! This series has been the best I've read in so long and I love when books have more than two or three in a series to keep the stories and characters you love going. Some content is a bit graphic and yes, at times depressing, but that's how real life is too and Goodkind does a great job bringing the world of Richard and his epic love, Kahlan to life. Pillars of Creation is more about Richard's half-sister Jennsen but it was still a good read with some interesting info to the world they all live in and how everything is connected. Don't stop at book 6, keep going! It's worth the time if you loved the others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Love It

    Loved reading these books. It takes you and makes you feel what Richard and Kahlan feeling. I really enjoyed Chainfire. Everyone forgets Kahlan and Richard struggles to find his true love. Wonderful series of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    One of the Best Fantasy Epics of all Time !!

    The characters truly are well defined.The plot is gripping and keeps you wanting more. I cant wait to finish reading this series !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of The Sword of Truth / Set III

    Bought these as a gift for my son, age 27. He has read the previous books, 1 thru 6. He says he really enjoys this serious, as it carries as an on going story and is written very well. It is valour, glory, love and the times of knight hood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    all

    these were the best books i have every read. I mean i am 15 but this is the only series that i could stay with and read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    Impotent

    The first war wizard in 3000 years is impotent. It's very annoying how the author recaps events that has happened in previous books. Very unlikely that readers who read the latter books havent read the previous series. Unlike Wheel of Time where Robert Jordan makes the series into one seamless story Terry G. has a lot to learn from the real masters of epic fantasy writing. And goodness, what's up with the long winded speeches? Terry G. seems to know only one plot on each of these books and it involves richard or khalan as captives and the story revolves around it. What a bore.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Very Good

    Pretty similar to the preceding six books, but with a bigger than average character count. I enjoyed these books pretty thoroughly and I recommend these books to you. Read them.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4