Customer Reviews for

The Sword of the Lady (Emberverse Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fans will enjoy this excellent epic that will stun the reader with the direction S.M. Stirling spins

    Rudi Mackenzie continues his dangerous trek across what was once the United States in his quest to learn more about the Change that crippled the superpower turning the world into literally a darker neo Dark Ages in which electricity ceased. His goal is to go the source in Nantucket. Along the way, he has made friends, several of whom are traveling with him, and many enemies.

    He attains his destination only to find a stranger world that makes what he seen before seem normal. Nantucket Island is totally woodland with no more than two hundred confused people who insist they come from other eras, but somehow were transported to the center of the Change. Nothing makes sense to the wary and weary Rudi as Nantucket offers no answers that he can fathom. However, there is one house made of stone still standing. Still searching for clues to what caused the Change over two decades ago; Rudi enters and immediately is drawn to a sword that he picks up as if the weapon was calling him. What he thought he knew will be sliced and diced forever.

    The third Change post apocalyptic thriller (see SUNRISE LANDS and THE SCOURGE OF GOD) continues Rudi and company's trek across the battered dying land trying to come back to life two plus decades later. The troupe has reached their destination, but Nantucket is nothing like what they or the audience expected when they set out; for that matter the trip across the country was also filled with inexplicable unexpected happenings as the gods intruded along the way. Although it is imperative to have recently at least read THE SCOURGE OF GOD, fans will enjoy this excellent epic that will stun the reader with the direction S.M. Stirling spins as Rudi has come a long way to grab the sword and apparently has a long way still to go.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    To avoid further confusion

    I saw that "The High King of Montival" will be released in September and was looking at the BN website for other information about Stirling's work.
    Quite a few of the reviews I read on this book expressed confusion concerning the ending. You guys have got to read the "Island in the Sea of Time" series. It concerns the other side of the Change, people on and around Nantucket when the event happened. The ending in "The Sword of the Lady" includes characters from those books. This series and all his works are highly recommended. I have never been disappointed by any of S.M. Stirling's stories.
    LC 8/13/10

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    Another in the series that has left me hanging for the next one.

    I really don't like to read series that go on forever. 3-4 is my limit. I have found with this series I can't get enough. Mr Stirling has done a great job of creating a world coping with a complete reversal back to the 1600's. Rudy is stepping into a real of unknown (at least until #7) adventures and demands. The band of heroes described in Sword of the Lady makes you want to build your own skills and get ready for your adventures in this life. Anyway, if you are into this series already you will want to keep an eye out for the next in the series. Best of reading to you and enjoy the world of books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best One of this Series to Date.

    The Sword of the Lady was the best book written in this series since the original Dies The Fire! Excellent characterizations, great action, romance and thrilling plot. Can't wait for the next one!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Good way to continue the series

    I really enjoyed this book! I usually read romance so this was a leap for me. My friend gave me Dies The Fire and I was caught. Can't wait for the next one to come out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    And the saga continues

    This book wasn't a good as the last previous ones in the series. I'm still mystified by the ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Stirling does it again!

    Some writers seems to lose touch after writing several books in a series but S M Stirling writes with a polished style that keeps all members of this household from doing work and chores when each new volume shows up. Despite a somewhat complicate set of plots within (and without) plots, the details are never confusing or distracting.
    We start right out where the last book ends and jump right into more adventure, meeting new characters, losing a few characters and learning about previously unknown areas of civilization - and a few with no civilization.
    This book ends with a mind bending (but only for those who've read the "Nantucket" series) finish that is obviously not finished. Now we have to wait for months to see what Rudy does to save the civilized continent and hope to see the demise of the C.U.T..
    Once you pick this up, you simply cannot put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Book Six in the Best Series Ever

    This great book in the Emberverse Series continues to merge this alternate world with that of Stirling's "Nantucket Series." These characters are amazing. This sort of post-America story is not entirely original, but it's never been done better. I hope this series continues for many more volumes.

    Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel, "To Be Chosen"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NEXT TO THE BEST

    I continue to be hooked on this series. Stirling has masterfully been able to progress this series while eliminating primary characters like Mike Havel of the Bearkillers and Norman Arminger of the Portland Protective Association, aging other characters like Juniper Mackenzie and the twins Ritva and Mary Havel, and move the focus of his character development. This book not only concentrates on Rudi Mackenzie and Mathilda Arminger but also more fully develops the other characters of the quest team: Ingolf Vogeler, Edain, Count Odard, Father Ignatius, Fred Thurston and Virginia Kane.
    This is the best book of the series since "Dies the Fire". Rudi and his team are on a quest to obtain the mysterious Sword of the Lady reminiscent of a Holy Grail quest. We are introduced to a variety of new settings and cultures as they trek across the country to include the socially inept dictatorial Provisional Republic of Iowa, the fierce but child like Southsiders, the frontier society of the Free Republic of Richland, and the Norse society of Norheim. The relentless pursuit of the quest team by the evil Church Universal and Triumphant and its malevolent High Seekers ensures drama and frequent swashbuckling battle scenes. The final chapters where Stirling seems to be trying to define creation, truth and wisdom through Rudi's vision of three old crones and Juniper Mackensie's vision in a spiral cone of power made me a bit uneasy. I hope this series isn't marred as I thought Philip Jose Farmer's Riverworld series was by an ending that comes across as a cheap gimmick.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5