Customer Reviews for

The Sword, the Ring and the Chalice: The Sword

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    Loved It

    This book started out slow but it picked up quick and had me hooked! I highly recommend in reading the whole trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    A reviewer

    I haven't even gotten half way through and I am already hooked.I have caught myself on more than one occassion, reading The Sword and ignoring homework. Excellent read! Great story! Great characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    Sword, the Ring and the Chalice: The Sword

    I am still reading this book, but what I have read is a incredible story. it's very chilling at the begingging. Talking of eyeballs eaten out and soultakers, I recomend this book to fans of Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    Outstanding book!

    I picked the Sword up to pass time at lunch and I couldn't put it down. It was so good, I had to get the other 2 books: The Ring and The Chalice and read both in less than 2 weeks. I can't wait to read the Queens Gambit and coming soon The King Betrayed. If you like Tolkien, you will love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Very Awesome

    I enjoyed this book so much. Chester really makes you care for the characters, especially the hero, Dain. They were believable and real, unlike many fantasies. Also she does a wonderful job of evoking setting, from the withered, terrible land of Gant, to the ruined grandeur of Nether, to... well, I won't spoil the story. :) The plotline was fresh and spirited, and I never knew what was going to come next. Try this series, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    Amazing!

    What a beautifully written book. The story is exciting and fresh. The characters are so real. I couldn't put the book down. I enjoyed every single second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    Wonderful series!

    I was so glad that book three kept up with the rest of the series!! I laughed, shouted, cheered, and fought with the characters. The ending was great. It was only by chance that I picked this series up, but I'm so glad I did. Great story, beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2001

    Five Star

    I only read the 'The Ring' and 'The Chalice'. Deborah Chester is an amazing writer and she has a way of drawing you into the story almost immediately. Both 'The Ring' and 'The Chalice' were filled with plenty of action. I stayed up all night reading the ring. I looked at the clock and it was 6:30 am. Never before has this happened. If you are a Sci-fi fan, you will DEFINATELY enjoy this mini series. GET ALL THREE, ENJOY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2001

    Simply magnificant!

    The story is so vividly written that you feel as if you are one of the characters in the book, drawn into their world, feel what they feel and see what they see. It's like being in the portal of Faldain or something (John Malcovich) In the third book where the battle against the nonkind/King Muncel begins, i felt as if i was in the battle, excited to kill the enemy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2001

    Way to go!

    Deborah Chester's first two trilogies were ok. I enjoyed reading them. The new trilogy was unbelievable. I could not put them down. I stayed up so late one night reading 'The Sword' that I only got two hours of sleep before I had to be at work. Ms. Chester did a wonderful job developing the characters and the story. A masterpiece. I hope more readers come to discover here books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    Extraodinary

    The best among the trilogy (the sword, the ring and the chalice). If you loved the first book, you definitely have to read this. Great book for all those medival fantasies fans out there. Do not miss it. Really wished that she could keep on writing, instead of ending on the third book. You'll feel as if you are sucked into the story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    Extraodinary!!

    An Associate professor at the University of Oklahoma, we had to read this book for our class. Everyone loved it. She provided some very amazing names that keeps your tongue twisted (She advice against trying), unexpected events and extraodinary plots! If you like medival mysteries/fantasies, you will love this. Once you start reading it, you just can't put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2001

    I give this two thumbs---Almost like J.R.R. Tolkein

    I have only borrowed this book, out of curiousity, and found it to be a very gripping and adventerous book. I couldn't put the book down, till the very end. I would and will recommmend that anyone who loves the Hobbit series, Belegarion and such, would also love this series as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2001

    What a great book

    I really liked this book because of the way it makes you want to keep on reading and really pulls you into it. It may seem confusing at first, but it sets up to be a great trilogy. The Sword tells about great battles, and arguements. It is exciting, and has a lot of happy moments, but also some really sad ones. I don't want to give too much away, so that's all, and it's a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2000

    Awesome

    This series is awesome, I would highly recommend it to anyone. If you like Robert Jordan or Tad Williams you will love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2000

    an average guy who just loves Fantasy

    An out standing book. Such vivid mental imagery, and and story that you will not want too put down. I am most anxiously awaiting her next book. Please hurry mrs. Chester.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2000

    The BEST Book!!!!!!!!!!!! You Must Read It!!!

    This is an AWESOME book!!! You just GOTTA read it! It's extremly good! I loved it! You have to get ALL the books though...But it's worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    A Great New Novel

    The Sword was an awesome book! It was fun and engrossing- I could hardly put it down. The characters were great, and the book had one of the most original plots I've seen in a long time. I highly reccomend this book to anyone looking for a new, exciting story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    I'M PINING FOR THE NEXT ONE!

    The best storyline I have read in a long time. I can't wait to see what's next. The characters are so real and the situations so well developed that I wish I could read faster, but at the same time, I don't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    Wonderful!

    This is the best book I have read in a long time! It quickly won its way to the top of my list with its well-developed characters, spellbinding plot and suspense that kept me glued to the page for hours! I can hardly wait for the next book in the trilogy to be published!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2