Customer Reviews for

The Swords of Night and Day (Drenai Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Like a movie

    i was captured by this book at the start. Skillgannon is the coolest fictional character ever and i was drawn to this book non stop. When i wasnt reading it, i wanted to read it and when i did read it i didnt want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    amazing i must say

    hey ok this book is amazing that is all i have to say started with waylander and moved to this book and wow this one is just spectacular i well say that Gemmell is one of the best writters ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    very interesting!

    I picked this up on a sunday night around 7 and proceded in finishing the book my 6 in the morning on monday!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    WOW!

    I picked this one up randomly off the shelf at B&N. I am completely addicted to Gemmel now!!! I want more about Skilgannon!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    AN Outstanding Acoplishment for Fantasy fans that can hook Scifi Fans

    A marvelouse indulgment into the world of Gemmel again. Filled with a huge cast of likable charactors, and always and filling your mind with wonderfully detailed words. Gemmel has out done himself again with this title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    fine epic sword and sorcery

    A thousand years ago, Skilgannon heroically died in battle. Over time the legend of the hero grew to monumental proportions. Now Drenai is under threat of annihilation with no champion arising to stop the dark sorceress Eternal or her Joinings of man and beast into one. Desperate for a defender, none have any hope except Landis Kan, who has some doubts but wonders if he can fulfill the ancient prophecy that stated Skilgannon would return when his people were on the brink of disaster. Landis believes he has found Skilgannon¿s resting place. He experiments on another set of bones bringing back a churlish individual who Kan writes off as a loser. He next performs the ritual on the remains of Skilgannon, but instead of a Herculean warrior, the reincarnation seems much less than the legend and even Kan questions whether this youngster could save the realm. Skilgannon realizes that not him, but the other experiment is the only chance for the realm to find victory<P> This Drenai epic sword and sorcery saga can stand alone as a delightful fantasy that points out what time does to heroes (similar to much of the George Washington legendary feats came out in a book in 1817 or about that stuck for decades as truth). The story line is fast-paced and loaded with action yet characters like Kan and Skilgannon come across as genuine. Though trying to make this book fit into the full saga will need an access database, fans of the series and newcomers will enjoy this fabulous fantasy.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2