Customer Reviews for

Sworn to Silence (Kate Burkholder Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 428 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Should Not Be Listed Under "Christian Fiction Amish"

Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and ...
Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and her rather vivid description of sexual scenes - do not read like any truly Christian literature I've ever read.

posted by Revpa on December 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

O

Of course harriet klausner comes along with her cliff note book report to ruin yet another book. Bn, when are you ever going put a stop to this obnoxious poster, delete her plot spoilers and ban her? She ruins every book she posts on. Please delete her posts.

posted by 8888649 on July 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 429 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    VERY DISAPPOINTED

    This book is written in the first person. I wish the reviews would state when this is the case.. I dont enjoy books in the first person. I was very disappointed with this. I was able to make it to page 6 then had to put it down

    2 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Excellent read

    I read this in a weekend while neglecting things i should have been doing. Every time i put the book down, i found myself picking it up again before i knew it. I simply had to finish it before i could focus on anything else. I highly recommend. Very entertaining. One of the best books ive read in quite some time. Exciting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    To pllot spoiler hater

    You can ALWAYS identify a review posted by Harriet Klausner by her IDon the "title" line . She always wriites "harstan" on her byline beside the headline of her reviews! So .if you hate her plot spoiling so much, jusr pass by ANY review thus designated. Problem solved! Pass over any reviews written by anyone so egotistical to label their opinions by their names or any fancy by-line other than anonymous.Since I noticed this trend amonng plot-spoilers, i no longer am plagued by them!!! KD

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Specr Spectacular

    The is a very good late night series. I have loved each one of the the books. Veey strong female lead. Creative and believeable. Very hard to put down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Excellent read

    Kate Burkholder is straddling two worlds. The author's insights into her internal dilemma adds great character depth. I've enjoyed this entire series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Couldnt put it down

    Loved it thats all i will say, a must read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Book was interesting ...

    ... saw the tv-movie. The movie did not do justice to the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Great book!

    The Lifetime movie doesn't do this book justice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    ok

    too much violence for me.... I deleated it as soon as I was finished...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Good mystery plot

    Good read, but a bit too graphic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Depressed

    Wont down load after u buy it

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Thrilling!

    Sworn to Silence was a quick and fast read because I couldn't put it down! The author keeps you interested by having a few story lines going on. She does go from 1st person to 3rd person, but its not something that would irritate a reader. The whole novel was dramatic and thrilling! I loved the relationship that started to blossom between John and Kate. It was enough to please people who like intimate relationships to build in a novel, yet not take over the main story line. I also liked reading about Kate's past and how she has built a life in an Amish community when she didn't join the church at 18. I look forward to reading Pray for Silence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Unique Story, Good Thriller

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story and will look for more in this series. The novel was well-paced and kept your interest by having multiple story lines going on--finding out and catching the serial killer, delving into Kate's family issues, John's personal issues, etc. I also liked how the author interwove both first- and third-person narratives to tell the story. My only complaint was that I would have liked to get more into the mind of the killer. Except for the "profile" that John provided, we didn't get to learn anything about the killer's mindset and how or if his impending divorce had anything to do with his wife putting two and two together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Sworn to Silence

    As a Mom who is just starting to have time to read again, I was looking for a mystery that could really capture my attention. I unfortunately, could not get past the violent beginning and the "f" words at the beginning of the book. I tried to return it and B&N would not take it back w/o my receipt. Pretty sad since I am sure they can look it up and see that I am a good customer of theirs. I was disappointed.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    I did not read past the first 3 pages

    the words were just all dirty f___ this alot of bad words just in the first few pages .. I took the book back I am not reading anything with these trashy words . Its is not a christain book for sure .

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Looking forward to the next book!

    I've read many of Linda Castillo's books, but this one is my very favorite so far!

    In Sworn to Silence, Linda Castillo creates a strong, vivid characters within a suspenseful, heart-thumping thrill-ride of a story.

    Kate Burkholder,the lead protagonist, is refreshingly unique and possesses a depth that makes a reader want to know more about her, and why she abandoned the Amish life, yet came home to serve and protect the community she left behind. Kate's counterpart, John Tomasetti, fighting demons of his own, is more than a match for her, with an intriguing multi-layered character of his own that magnetizes our attention to the page. Each struggles to come to terms with their past, while focusing on a very real evil haunting Painters Mill.

    If those two weren't enough, Sworn to Silence boasts a community of players that add rich texture and flavor to the novel.

    I look forward to reading more about Kate and Tomasetti, and more intrigue in Painters Mill.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Thriller That Will Keep You Reading

    Just when you think you have has your fill of serial killer novels this one steps out as something different and well crafted and will catch your attention in a couple chapters
    The characters are intriguing and you will find they are as easy to read about as the thriller of a story of murders in an Amish community.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    This very well-done book will hold your interest throughout the

    This very well-done book will hold your interest throughout the story. The author has created a unique protagonist in the form of Kate Burkeholder. If you buy this book, I guarantee you will immediately buy the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Linda Castillo has such an intense writing style. After you read page one, you will have a hard time putting it down. It is like reading a John Grisham novel, if you read one, you can't wait to read the whole series. I do highly recommend the Kate Burkholder series if you like small town crime with an Amish twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Thriller

    Another Castillo Thriller. I can't seem to get enough of her books!! enjoying every one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 429 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22