BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sworn to Silence (Kate Burkholder Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 430 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Should Not Be Listed Under "Christian Fiction Amish"

Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and ...
Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and her rather vivid description of sexual scenes - do not read like any truly Christian literature I've ever read.

posted by Revpa on December 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

O

Of course harriet klausner comes along with her cliff note book report to ruin yet another book. Bn, when are you ever going put a stop to this obnoxious poster, delete her plot spoilers and ban her? She ruins every book she posts on. Please delete her posts.

posted by 8888649 on July 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 431 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    Should Not Be Listed Under "Christian Fiction Amish"

    Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

    Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and her rather vivid description of sexual scenes - do not read like any truly Christian literature I've ever read.

    44 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    O

    Of course harriet klausner comes along with her cliff note book report to ruin yet another book. Bn, when are you ever going put a stop to this obnoxious poster, delete her plot spoilers and ban her? She ruins every book she posts on. Please delete her posts.

    40 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Serial killer in Amish Country? Interesting!

    Whew! What a storyline! Chief of Police, Katie Burkholder in Painters Mill, Amish country; who would have guessed? Sworn to Silence is chock full of chills, suspense and flawed, interesting characters! I love a strong female lead and a wonderful beginning that won't let me put the book down!! Suspense with a dash of romance...PERFECT! Compelling! Intense! Gripping page-turner! Fast-paced! Loved it!!!! I'm buying Linda Castillo's next one, for sure!!! ...

    A couple of other wonderful, thrilling books I'd like to offer readers are EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Pirrung...EXPLOSION IN PARIS ..and THE NEIGHBOR, by Lisa Gardner.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    To Be Sworn To Silence...

    When I had seen this book offered on Library Thing Early Reviewers I was very interested in the book. I didn't win the book but a fellow LTER finished with it and offered it to others. I am thrilled to have requested the book and to have had the privilege of reading Sworn To Silence.

    The main character of Sworn to Silence is Kate Burkholder who grew up Amish and decided to leave the Amish way of life. She is now the Chief of Police in Painters Mill, Ohio, her former hometown. She has a secret that makes Sworn to Silence a thriller.

    The plot of Sworn to Silence is that a serial murdered is back after sixteen years. After the first body is discovered questions arise as to, why such a long hiatus between these murders? Does Kate know who the murderer is?

    You will be trying to figure out who the murderer is and if Kate really is hiding the identity of the murderer. You are in for a jolt of surprises and mutilation in the murders. If you can handle reading about torture and sex crimes then grab yourself a copy of Sworn to Silence by Linda Castillo.

    I was utterly thrilled by this book and look forward to reading more books by Linda Castillo.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    Awesome

    Kate was Amish. She still lives in her mostly Amish community, but she is no longer a part of the religion. She is a police chief.
    A serial killer is back. Kate is holding back a secret that may blow the case open. Will she open up old wounds that could bring her family and the Amish community into a bad situation? Will she cover for them and herself and let the killing continue?
    Because of politics, she is fired. Was it just politics? Several people are hiding key facts. Kate keeps working on the case, though she is fired. This is about to get her killed.
    Who killed these girls?
    I love the Amish/Mennonite genre. I believe that Castillo has single-handedly created a new sub-genre-Amish suspense. This is brilliant. However, this is not a feel-good Amish book. There is suspense, some gore, and foul language. This is a page-turner that must be added to the top of your reading list.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!!

    This was the 2nd book I have read from Linda Castillo. I read Pray For Silence first. I thought they were both really good reads. If you like a good mystery...then this is a goodie. Warning...pretty graphic details!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sworn to Silence

    Sworn to Silence was a fun book to listen to on Audio Book. For one thing, there was no way I could skip ahead to the end to find out whodunit. The narrator did a great job of keeping with the "edge of your seat" writing. Speaking of which, Linda Castillo did a FABULOUS job.

    Sworn to Silence is a twisted story with horrific murders set in the heart of Amish country. The writing is superb. The characters are realistic and enjoyable. The story is one that will give you nightmares. Exactly what I have come to love about mystery novels. If you are a fan of Karin Slaughter, you will enjoy this book. It is not a story I would recommend to the squeamish, but if you can handle it, you will love it! I promise!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Loved it!

    Refreshing read. Kept me up late at night. Sorry it had to end. Now what am I going to read?!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great exciting story!

    What a great read! I am excited for this book to come out so I can talk about it with my friends. It is a trilling book. Also the main character has quite a past. One that some may not be familiar with. The author blends the storyline and characters so well that I found it hard to put down. Something original that I really enjoyed! Thank you and Bravo!! I hate to give too much away so I try to keep the infomation and plot very brief so too much is not given away. So if you are like me/ please stop reading. The police chief is a lady who has grown up in this small town. Her family has not been involved in her life for religious reasons. She is an excellent cop but with a few personal problems. Suddenly a murder happenens in this small docile town and then another and the past is going to haunt everyone again. Is it the same serial murderer? And why would he come back??? Hope you enjoy!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Great read

    This is the first of the series about an ex-amish female chief of police in small town Ohio. The story line is well thought out and written so as to drag you in. I couldn't stop reading from page 1 to the end. I recommend this and all of this series to everyone who enjys crime and mystery with a side bar of romance. They are great reads.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    Great murder mystery.  Not usually my thing, but the Amish angle

    Great murder mystery.  Not usually my thing, but the Amish angle sounded interesting.   I gave this five stars because as soon as I finished this one, I ordered the next one.  The books are a bit gory, but really fast moving.  The characters are great.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Loved it!!!

    This is the first Linda Castillo book I have read, and it will not be the last! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants a mystery with a twist.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ENJOYED!

    A good Amish mystery that turned out to be a heart-pounding suspense. ENJOYED!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    Stunned by the positive reviews.....

    While the mystery was unique because it was set in Amish country, the plot was so-so, the writing pedestrian...maybe she should stick with writing romance novels.

    4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Slow start, but ended well

    If you can get through the first 1/3 of the book, it finally becomes a good read. The beginning of the book gives you a lot of history of the main character, but leaves you waiting for the actual story to begin. The last 2/3's of the book draws you back into the story leaving you wanting to keep reading..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    GREAT READ!!!

    I absolutely LOVED this book! It is the best book I've read in a long time. It kept me in suspence and my chest tight at times. The ending was thrilling and unexpected. I found myself trying to guess throughout the entire book of who the killer was and I was confused until the end. I definitely recommend this book as a GREAT thriller!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    GREAT BOOK!!

    This one had me reading into the wee hours ofthe morning because I couldn't put it down! Great plot, great story-line and characters you can relate to! Absolutely loved it!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    If you like mystery, check it out.

    I'm still reading this book but it's riveting . Tortured bodies are turning up around this Amish town, some new, some not so new. But this isn't the the first time the town has experienced this. Sixteen years ago a serial killer roamed here. Then the murders stopped, no one knows why. But the Chief of police has a secret about why. She thought the killer was dead. Is this a copycat or has he returned?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    I've finally gotten around to reading the first book in the Kate

    I've finally gotten around to reading the first book in the Kate Burkholder mystery series and I was hooked after the first 20 pages. Good thing is, there are already more to read from this excellent author, Linda Casttillo.

    This thriller is uniquely placed in Ohio Amish country, where the relationship between the Amish and Englishers is a bit strained already. Kate seems to be the perfect Chief of Police for the small town of Painter's Mill because she grew up Amish but has left their community life. At fourteen, a personal tragedy sent her into the world of hard living, heavy drinking, and a 'take no prisoners' attitude' that found her recovery sending her into the police academy. Now, as Chief of Police, she understands and respects the Amish, but her life is in the English community.

    All is going well until a girl's body is found. Her brutal murder resembles that of the four victims of a serial murder from sixteen years years ago. Kate may know facts that could help the case but hurt her. More murders cause the Town Council to become political in their drive to sabotage Kate. They bring in other law enforcement officers, including a rogue officer with a tragic story of his own. Kate and John become strange allies in their determination to solve this case without loosing themselves, but the suspects cause their own difficult issues.

    The twists and turns definitely pleased this avid mystery reader! This is not another twist on the same old mystery theme. It's uniqueness and thrills won me over quickly.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    Wish I could return this for a refund

    Read the first page and decided not to read it. Too violent. There's enough violence in the world, I don't need to read it in a novel. Lesson learned: always download a sample first!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 431 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22