Customer Reviews for

Sworn to Silence (Kate Burkholder Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 430 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Should Not Be Listed Under "Christian Fiction Amish"

Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and ...
Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and her rather vivid description of sexual scenes - do not read like any truly Christian literature I've ever read.

posted by Revpa on December 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

O

Of course harriet klausner comes along with her cliff note book report to ruin yet another book. Bn, when are you ever going put a stop to this obnoxious poster, delete her plot spoilers and ban her? She ruins every book she posts on. Please delete her posts.

posted by 8888649 on July 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Slow start, but ended well

    If you can get through the first 1/3 of the book, it finally becomes a good read. The beginning of the book gives you a lot of history of the main character, but leaves you waiting for the actual story to begin. The last 2/3's of the book draws you back into the story leaving you wanting to keep reading..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Good mystery plot

    Good read, but a bit too graphic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Good Series

    I like the way this author tells a story - reading all of the series now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    I highly recommend this series.

    I enjoyed this book tremendously and have gone on to read the next in this series featuring Kate Burkholder. I liked the Amish mix and found the author did an excellent job in adding a bit of knowledge of this group into the mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Great story!

    I am hooked on Kate Burkholder Series. Plan to read all of them.
    I highly recommend her suspenseful mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Great book until about chapter 31

    This was a really good book. One of those that is hard to put down. Chapter 31 almost 300 pages and it becomes so predictable I wanted to scream. I seriously hate to be so completely imersed in such a great read to discover I know what is going to happen. Bummer!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Excellent writing but too gory

    Love main character and story is well told but WAY too much graphic horror. Would give a 5 star except for that. No more of this author for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Meh

    You will probably either love or hate this book. If it is a sexual romp you want, you will love it. If you want a cohesive well written story. Pass this one up. One other thing, why is it that so many people are down on Harriet Klausner. Surely it isn't because she writes detailed reviews? If I see a long review, I just don't read it I certainly don't moan and groan about it. If you want domethingto get upset over. Think about how Monsanto is feeding you pesticides in your morning cereal or even worse how 2000 babies are being murdered every single day inthe US by their mothers. But for pity sake get over Harriet Klausners detailed reviews,itjust isn't that important in the scheme of things.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Great book

    I look forward to reading other books by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Interesting

    I was looking for a new author while waiting for my older authors to come out with something new when I picked this book up. It was good! I enjoy a good mystery and this was that.When you start reading, you think this will be an easy mystery to solve but then it does pick up and lead in all directions.The story is also interesting regarding the Amish view of law enforcement. I did buy the second in the series and look forward to purchasing the third.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    make sure to check this series out!

    Once I started this book, I had the urge to read it cover to cover! What drew me into this book was the Amish community involvement. It is a topic I am greatly interested in and I love how they implemented in into the story. The only reason I gave it 3 instead of 5 stars is that I felt a few things didn't match (i.e. why kate thought the slaughterhouse killer was the neighbor boy daniel when there was no proof given at the time he had committed any previous crimes, and how the first victim woke without knowing where she was, but then clearly thinks that it can't be happening to her in Painter's MIll). Also, there were quite a few editing mistakes, but it doesn't take away from the story at all, just thought I'd mention it though. Either way, I'd highly recommend, a refreshing new kind of fiction from all the fantasy stuff out now.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    nice

    nice

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good mystery

    Kate Burkholder grew up Amish. As the result of a family tragedy, she didn't join the church when she became an adult. Instead, she left town and became a cop. Now she's back as the police chief of her home town, searching for a serial killer.

    John Tomasetti was a cop who lost his family to mob violence. He went outside legal bounds and got his revenge, but he can't live with his loss. Alcoholic and drug dependent, he's still a good enough cop (just barely) that there's no way to get him off the force without facing a law suit. The Powers that Be send him to "assist" Burkholder in her search for the killer, hoping he'll screw things up enough to give them cause to fire him.

    Sworn to Silence is a good mystery. I was kept guessing until the last few chapters. Character development is good, and I really got to know Burkholder and Tomasetti. But, I don't know if I could take much more of either character. They're both just too intense. Either alone in a book would be great, but both together is almost too much. However, by the end of the book, I do find myself wondering what is going to happen to both cops.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3