Customer Reviews for

Sworn to Silence (Kate Burkholder Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 428 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Should Not Be Listed Under "Christian Fiction Amish"

Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and ...
Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and her rather vivid description of sexual scenes - do not read like any truly Christian literature I've ever read.

posted by Revpa on December 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

O

Of course harriet klausner comes along with her cliff note book report to ruin yet another book. Bn, when are you ever going put a stop to this obnoxious poster, delete her plot spoilers and ban her? She ruins every book she posts on. Please delete her posts.

posted by 8888649 on July 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!!

    This was the 2nd book I have read from Linda Castillo. I read Pray For Silence first. I thought they were both really good reads. If you like a good mystery...then this is a goodie. Warning...pretty graphic details!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    Great murder mystery.  Not usually my thing, but the Amish angle

    Great murder mystery.  Not usually my thing, but the Amish angle sounded interesting.   I gave this five stars because as soon as I finished this one, I ordered the next one.  The books are a bit gory, but really fast moving.  The characters are great.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    If you like mystery, check it out.

    I'm still reading this book but it's riveting . Tortured bodies are turning up around this Amish town, some new, some not so new. But this isn't the the first time the town has experienced this. Sixteen years ago a serial killer roamed here. Then the murders stopped, no one knows why. But the Chief of police has a secret about why. She thought the killer was dead. Is this a copycat or has he returned?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Book was interesting ...

    ... saw the tv-movie. The movie did not do justice to the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Unique Story, Good Thriller

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story and will look for more in this series. The novel was well-paced and kept your interest by having multiple story lines going on--finding out and catching the serial killer, delving into Kate's family issues, John's personal issues, etc. I also liked how the author interwove both first- and third-person narratives to tell the story. My only complaint was that I would have liked to get more into the mind of the killer. Except for the "profile" that John provided, we didn't get to learn anything about the killer's mindset and how or if his impending divorce had anything to do with his wife putting two and two together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    New author for me

    This was a really good read. Couldn't put it down. I want to finish the series and see what else happens.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Interesting characters

    Quick and enjoyable read. The characters were interesting and Kate very likeable. Amish cuture added fascinating twists to the Police Chief of a small town story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Good mystery

    Good mystery, ending a little predictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Very much recommend

    Excellent!! I read in one day could not put down . Very suspenseful and would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    This was a very well written book. I love books that keep me guessing and this was definitely one of them! I recommend it to everyone who likes a well-written book with a little bit of everything in it. I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Enjoyed this series

    I typically don't read murder mysteries but I enojoyed this series. Clean read and has a nice flow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Worth reading

    This book was pretty good. I would recommend it to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    CAN'T WAIT TO READ THE NEXT BOOK IN THIS SERIES. ONCE I STARTED,
    DIDN'T WANT TO STOP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Excellent book

    Suspense, action! Well written. Couldn't put it down. I will definitely read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    A good read

    A good read, a bit on the gory side though... I'll read another in this series though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    highly recommended

    It;s a very good book, you will want to read the next one for the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Very good novel, but the editing in the last couple of chapters were full of errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Just discovered this series by Linda Castillo and am on number t

    Just discovered this series by Linda Castillo and am on number three, Breaking Silence now. I love the characters in these books because they are not perfect, the murders are messy and not easily solved, therefore making them very interesting and very hard to put down. I love mysteries all types, this series contains interesting information regarding Amish live without making judgment's. Kate Burkholder is a complex and flawed character, but at the same time you find yourself liking her. Would definitely recommend this first book and the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Cgidh

    Greed

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6