Customer Reviews for

Sworn to Silence (Kate Burkholder Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 430 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Should Not Be Listed Under "Christian Fiction Amish"

Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and ...
Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and her rather vivid description of sexual scenes - do not read like any truly Christian literature I've ever read.

posted by Revpa on December 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

O

Of course harriet klausner comes along with her cliff note book report to ruin yet another book. Bn, when are you ever going put a stop to this obnoxious poster, delete her plot spoilers and ban her? She ruins every book she posts on. Please delete her posts.

posted by 8888649 on July 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    Should Not Be Listed Under "Christian Fiction Amish"

    Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

    Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and her rather vivid description of sexual scenes - do not read like any truly Christian literature I've ever read.

    44 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Serial killer in Amish Country? Interesting!

    Whew! What a storyline! Chief of Police, Katie Burkholder in Painters Mill, Amish country; who would have guessed? Sworn to Silence is chock full of chills, suspense and flawed, interesting characters! I love a strong female lead and a wonderful beginning that won't let me put the book down!! Suspense with a dash of romance...PERFECT! Compelling! Intense! Gripping page-turner! Fast-paced! Loved it!!!! I'm buying Linda Castillo's next one, for sure!!! ...

    A couple of other wonderful, thrilling books I'd like to offer readers are EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Pirrung...EXPLOSION IN PARIS ..and THE NEIGHBOR, by Lisa Gardner.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    To Be Sworn To Silence...

    When I had seen this book offered on Library Thing Early Reviewers I was very interested in the book. I didn't win the book but a fellow LTER finished with it and offered it to others. I am thrilled to have requested the book and to have had the privilege of reading Sworn To Silence.

    The main character of Sworn to Silence is Kate Burkholder who grew up Amish and decided to leave the Amish way of life. She is now the Chief of Police in Painters Mill, Ohio, her former hometown. She has a secret that makes Sworn to Silence a thriller.

    The plot of Sworn to Silence is that a serial murdered is back after sixteen years. After the first body is discovered questions arise as to, why such a long hiatus between these murders? Does Kate know who the murderer is?

    You will be trying to figure out who the murderer is and if Kate really is hiding the identity of the murderer. You are in for a jolt of surprises and mutilation in the murders. If you can handle reading about torture and sex crimes then grab yourself a copy of Sworn to Silence by Linda Castillo.

    I was utterly thrilled by this book and look forward to reading more books by Linda Castillo.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    Awesome

    Kate was Amish. She still lives in her mostly Amish community, but she is no longer a part of the religion. She is a police chief.
    A serial killer is back. Kate is holding back a secret that may blow the case open. Will she open up old wounds that could bring her family and the Amish community into a bad situation? Will she cover for them and herself and let the killing continue?
    Because of politics, she is fired. Was it just politics? Several people are hiding key facts. Kate keeps working on the case, though she is fired. This is about to get her killed.
    Who killed these girls?
    I love the Amish/Mennonite genre. I believe that Castillo has single-handedly created a new sub-genre-Amish suspense. This is brilliant. However, this is not a feel-good Amish book. There is suspense, some gore, and foul language. This is a page-turner that must be added to the top of your reading list.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sworn to Silence

    Sworn to Silence was a fun book to listen to on Audio Book. For one thing, there was no way I could skip ahead to the end to find out whodunit. The narrator did a great job of keeping with the "edge of your seat" writing. Speaking of which, Linda Castillo did a FABULOUS job.

    Sworn to Silence is a twisted story with horrific murders set in the heart of Amish country. The writing is superb. The characters are realistic and enjoyable. The story is one that will give you nightmares. Exactly what I have come to love about mystery novels. If you are a fan of Karin Slaughter, you will enjoy this book. It is not a story I would recommend to the squeamish, but if you can handle it, you will love it! I promise!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Loved it!

    Refreshing read. Kept me up late at night. Sorry it had to end. Now what am I going to read?!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Great read

    This is the first of the series about an ex-amish female chief of police in small town Ohio. The story line is well thought out and written so as to drag you in. I couldn't stop reading from page 1 to the end. I recommend this and all of this series to everyone who enjys crime and mystery with a side bar of romance. They are great reads.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great exciting story!

    What a great read! I am excited for this book to come out so I can talk about it with my friends. It is a trilling book. Also the main character has quite a past. One that some may not be familiar with. The author blends the storyline and characters so well that I found it hard to put down. Something original that I really enjoyed! Thank you and Bravo!! I hate to give too much away so I try to keep the infomation and plot very brief so too much is not given away. So if you are like me/ please stop reading. The police chief is a lady who has grown up in this small town. Her family has not been involved in her life for religious reasons. She is an excellent cop but with a few personal problems. Suddenly a murder happenens in this small docile town and then another and the past is going to haunt everyone again. Is it the same serial murderer? And why would he come back??? Hope you enjoy!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Loved it!!!

    This is the first Linda Castillo book I have read, and it will not be the last! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants a mystery with a twist.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ENJOYED!

    A good Amish mystery that turned out to be a heart-pounding suspense. ENJOYED!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    GREAT READ!!!

    I absolutely LOVED this book! It is the best book I've read in a long time. It kept me in suspence and my chest tight at times. The ending was thrilling and unexpected. I found myself trying to guess throughout the entire book of who the killer was and I was confused until the end. I definitely recommend this book as a GREAT thriller!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    GREAT BOOK!!

    This one had me reading into the wee hours ofthe morning because I couldn't put it down! Great plot, great story-line and characters you can relate to! Absolutely loved it!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    I've finally gotten around to reading the first book in the Kate

    I've finally gotten around to reading the first book in the Kate Burkholder mystery series and I was hooked after the first 20 pages. Good thing is, there are already more to read from this excellent author, Linda Casttillo.

    This thriller is uniquely placed in Ohio Amish country, where the relationship between the Amish and Englishers is a bit strained already. Kate seems to be the perfect Chief of Police for the small town of Painter's Mill because she grew up Amish but has left their community life. At fourteen, a personal tragedy sent her into the world of hard living, heavy drinking, and a 'take no prisoners' attitude' that found her recovery sending her into the police academy. Now, as Chief of Police, she understands and respects the Amish, but her life is in the English community.

    All is going well until a girl's body is found. Her brutal murder resembles that of the four victims of a serial murder from sixteen years years ago. Kate may know facts that could help the case but hurt her. More murders cause the Town Council to become political in their drive to sabotage Kate. They bring in other law enforcement officers, including a rogue officer with a tragic story of his own. Kate and John become strange allies in their determination to solve this case without loosing themselves, but the suspects cause their own difficult issues.

    The twists and turns definitely pleased this avid mystery reader! This is not another twist on the same old mystery theme. It's uniqueness and thrills won me over quickly.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Excellent read

    I read this in a weekend while neglecting things i should have been doing. Every time i put the book down, i found myself picking it up again before i knew it. I simply had to finish it before i could focus on anything else. I highly recommend. Very entertaining. One of the best books ive read in quite some time. Exciting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    To pllot spoiler hater

    You can ALWAYS identify a review posted by Harriet Klausner by her IDon the "title" line . She always wriites "harstan" on her byline beside the headline of her reviews! So .if you hate her plot spoiling so much, jusr pass by ANY review thus designated. Problem solved! Pass over any reviews written by anyone so egotistical to label their opinions by their names or any fancy by-line other than anonymous.Since I noticed this trend amonng plot-spoilers, i no longer am plagued by them!!! KD

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Specr Spectacular

    The is a very good late night series. I have loved each one of the the books. Veey strong female lead. Creative and believeable. Very hard to put down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Excellent read

    Kate Burkholder is straddling two worlds. The author's insights into her internal dilemma adds great character depth. I've enjoyed this entire series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Couldnt put it down

    Loved it thats all i will say, a must read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Great book!

    The Lifetime movie doesn't do this book justice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Thrilling!

    Sworn to Silence was a quick and fast read because I couldn't put it down! The author keeps you interested by having a few story lines going on. She does go from 1st person to 3rd person, but its not something that would irritate a reader. The whole novel was dramatic and thrilling! I loved the relationship that started to blossom between John and Kate. It was enough to please people who like intimate relationships to build in a novel, yet not take over the main story line. I also liked reading about Kate's past and how she has built a life in an Amish community when she didn't join the church at 18. I look forward to reading Pray for Silence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12