Customer Reviews for

Sworn to Silence (Kate Burkholder Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 428 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Should Not Be Listed Under "Christian Fiction Amish"

Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and ...
Linda Castillo is an excellent writer - her plot and characters are excellent. This book should not be listed un "Christian Fiction Amish"

Having an Amish theme does not make the book Christian. Ms Castillo's used of curse and swear words through out the book, and her rather vivid description of sexual scenes - do not read like any truly Christian literature I've ever read.

posted by Revpa on December 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

O

Of course harriet klausner comes along with her cliff note book report to ruin yet another book. Bn, when are you ever going put a stop to this obnoxious poster, delete her plot spoilers and ban her? She ruins every book she posts on. Please delete her posts.

posted by 8888649 on July 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 225 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Looking forward to the next book!

    I've read many of Linda Castillo's books, but this one is my very favorite so far!

    In Sworn to Silence, Linda Castillo creates a strong, vivid characters within a suspenseful, heart-thumping thrill-ride of a story.

    Kate Burkholder,the lead protagonist, is refreshingly unique and possesses a depth that makes a reader want to know more about her, and why she abandoned the Amish life, yet came home to serve and protect the community she left behind. Kate's counterpart, John Tomasetti, fighting demons of his own, is more than a match for her, with an intriguing multi-layered character of his own that magnetizes our attention to the page. Each struggles to come to terms with their past, while focusing on a very real evil haunting Painters Mill.

    If those two weren't enough, Sworn to Silence boasts a community of players that add rich texture and flavor to the novel.

    I look forward to reading more about Kate and Tomasetti, and more intrigue in Painters Mill.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Thriller That Will Keep You Reading

    Just when you think you have has your fill of serial killer novels this one steps out as something different and well crafted and will catch your attention in a couple chapters
    The characters are intriguing and you will find they are as easy to read about as the thriller of a story of murders in an Amish community.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    This very well-done book will hold your interest throughout the

    This very well-done book will hold your interest throughout the story. The author has created a unique protagonist in the form of Kate Burkeholder. If you buy this book, I guarantee you will immediately buy the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Linda Castillo has such an intense writing style. After you read page one, you will have a hard time putting it down. It is like reading a John Grisham novel, if you read one, you can't wait to read the whole series. I do highly recommend the Kate Burkholder series if you like small town crime with an Amish twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Thriller

    Another Castillo Thriller. I can't seem to get enough of her books!! enjoying every one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Great read but Not your usual amish mystery

    Although set in amish country and has some amish, it also has graphic details, sexual scenes and cussing. That being said it was a great book that was intense! Great mystery with lots of details but you never see the end coming. Can't wait to read the rest of the series. Not for the weak hearted :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Mystery lovers take note!

    Can hardly wait for the May release of this author's latest book! Now among my favourite authors. I have purchased this book and several others in this series for gifts and gotten several friends hooked on this author aw well. Captivating mystery series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Great Mystery

    Loved this book. At first I thought, I don't know if I'll enjoy this book, but after the first chapter I was hooked and had a hard time putting it down. The way Linda Castillo describes scenes is unbelievable. Just purchased "Pray for Silence".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Yes

    A great read. Fast paced, exciting. A little on the gory side with details i dont want to hear, but a fantastic read none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Great, great read. Very exciting.

    Great, great read. Very exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Great book! The bad/low ratings on here are pretty confusing to

    Great book! The bad/low ratings on here are pretty confusing to me. Not continuing because its violent or not a christian based book? It's a serial killer / murder mystery book. What else would you expect? lol Anyway, I thought it was well written with a great plot, great characters, the writer seemed informed on the subjects in the book & it kept me interested & wanting more. I am about to buy the next in the series:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Incredible read!

    This was a great read from beginning to end! Ihighly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Gripping

    Originally I wasn't expecting anything more than a mediocre read however I was so wrong! This novel kept me interested beyond the end! I'm definitely purchasing the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Suspenseful; likeable protagonist; holds your interest

    I had not read any of this author's books before; enjoyed this one thoroughly. The characters are all well developed, the story is very suspenseful, my attention was held throughout. Can't wait to check out some of her other titles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Interesting reading

    Looking forward to reading the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Very well written novel. Keeps you on your toes the entire time.

    Would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Great book

    I codn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    I couldnt put the book down

    Awesome book...read for yourself, I won't spoil it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Great read!

    Wish I found Linda Castillo sooner! Loved this book and just bought the 2nd in the series. I am a huge fan of Lisa Gardner and now I have another favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    I just discovered Linda Castillo's Kate Burkholder series, and p

    I just discovered Linda Castillo's Kate Burkholder series, and plan to read every one. Sworn to Silence was a gripping story, reminiscent of the way James Patterson USED TO write. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 225 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12