Customer Reviews for

Sybil

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well Written and Astounding

Although there is a lot of controversy behind the Sybil story regarding whether Sybil was exploited for Dr. Wilbur's personal gain I have to say I can not see how this is possible. From the time of therapy to the time of book release was 19 years not a grand master plan...
Although there is a lot of controversy behind the Sybil story regarding whether Sybil was exploited for Dr. Wilbur's personal gain I have to say I can not see how this is possible. From the time of therapy to the time of book release was 19 years not a grand master plan if you're trying to exploit someone. No I believe Sybil's story was real and that she was a truly remarkable and unique individual. The writing style of the author captured me instantly there wasn't too much of anything whether it is personal or textbook psychiatric information. It had the write balance and kept me intrigued from beginning to end. It also posed a lot of questions which I am sure have been asked in the past what causes people with two similar backgrounds to mentally handle things completely different why do some disassociate and others not. I can tell you this I had been waiting a very long time to read this book and I was not disappointed in fact it made me intensely aware that this disease can be so extreme. I can't imagine what this woman went through as the one woman who is supposed to love you unconditionally destroys your whole being. Great book excellently written I would definitely recommend.

posted by snowbird922 on December 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Review

Sybil is both interesting in subject matter and characterizations. The reader follows Sybil throughout her childhood and becomes witness to many of her abuses. The book puts vivid imagery into the readers heads of a horrible mother torturing her only daughter. The re...
Sybil is both interesting in subject matter and characterizations. The reader follows Sybil throughout her childhood and becomes witness to many of her abuses. The book puts vivid imagery into the readers heads of a horrible mother torturing her only daughter. The reader goes through feelings of anger and disgust towards the mother. Then switches to anger and disgust at the ignorance of her father. How could her parents treat their child like that? The book also aids the reader in understanding how Sybil broke into so many identities and how these separate identities had their own specific roles in her survival. Examples are like Peggy whom took over if Sybil became angry or frustrated. Or if Sid and Mike would appear to fix things. The reader can appreciate the long road that she had to go through to piece herself back together. How she could go from dropping out of school or not holding a job to being whole again.

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Sybil

    I first studied Sybil in my high school psychology class. We watched the movie and talked about her. It interested me so much that I thought I would read the book. I thought the book was great, and that it was better than the movie. All of you who are interested in the mind should read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Recommended

    This book was in the exact condition that the dealler would said it would be. Will order from them..Great job

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Read but Somewhat Confusing

    Sybil, by Flora Rita Schreiber, is an enthralling story about a young woman, Sybil, who has multiple personality disorder. This book takes the reader through the discovery of Sybil's sixteen personalities, and the psychiatrist who discovered them. Before I read this book, I had many questions as to who Sybil was and why she was such a famous case of this disorder. This book definitely explained it! She was the first woman with more than two personalities and the unbelievable part was that Sybil herself was not aware of any of them, but each personality knew of her and the others that occupied the body. They would all take over the body when they had something that they wanted to do. The way the author wrote about Sybil's story was very unique; she made sure she included all important facts and the little details of each personality, which became tedious at times. She included what the psychiatrist, Dr. Wilbur, was experiencing, which added to the overall depth of the book. This book was very interesting and I enjoyed learning the story of Sybil and her fifteen personalities. However, I have to say that I did not enjoy that the story took so long to develop. The first of new personalities was not even mentioned until a quarter of the way through the book, and the ones introduced after that took less time to be introduced than the first. I also felt that the book was hard to follow at points and that made me not want to continue reading. Overall, I feel that this book was a great read with an interesting story line and great plot, but can get quite confusing at many points. I would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys psychology!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    Great book for psychology lovers!

    Sybil is a book about a young woman with sixteen completely different personalities. Fifteen of these know about each other and know about the one true personality that is Sybil; but Sybil, herself, does not know that they even exist. They all have different names and are in denial to the fact that they are actually in the same body, they rather just think they live side by side with Sybil and each other. This book was very well written in a way that takes a somewhat confusing and hard to follow storyline and makes it very interesting and easy to understand. The style of this book is that with every chapter you get another piece to Sybil's puzzle by meeting another of her personalities; this starts to paint the puzzle of her past and helps you to understand her story. While wanting to stay plugged into the story, I couldn't put this book down. I really enjoyed reading it because I got to see into the life of not only a woman with multiple personalities but also the therapist trying to figure her out and treat her. This dynamic makes it really interesting. It reminds me of the book Girl, Interrupted, which is a modern day Sybil with a teenage protagonist. The one thing I didn't love about Sybil was how long it took for the story to get going and for the reader to start meeting the personalities, but with such a twisted life it takes some time to introduce this character and bring the reader to an understanding of where she's coming from. I would definitely recommend this book for anyone who enjoys psychology, and likes to try to understand life through other people's eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An all-time favorite for me...

    I know that this book has received A LOT of criticism over the years & I can definitely understand some of the arguments behind it. For me, the easiest was to look at this book objectively was to view as a work of pure fiction. I have read this book now several times throughout my life; the first time being at a younger age than I probably should have been. This book has made me re-think the way that I look at physical and mental trauma, as well as mental illnesses. I get something different out of this book every time I read it, and I just really feel like this is one of those books that every should have to read at least once in their lifetime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    sybil

    Sybil is a interesting book that leaves the readers wondering what is going to happen next to poor Sybil. It tells of the long and tedious process of pschyoanalysis and the trauma that people with MPD go through. It is a chance to almost be in the shoes of someone with MPD and be grateful that they are not infected. This book should be recommended to everyone who is mature enough to comprehend the magnitude of the disorder and be thankful they are mentally sound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    TH.

    Schreiber presents the book to the reader as a story and makes it very readable. She does not use many medical terms that confuse the reader. She introduces the reader to Sybil when Sybil is seeking help from Dr. Wilbur. Then she takes the reader back in time to Sybil¿s younger years when the multiple personalities began. Schreiber holds the reader¿s attention because she creates an interest in what is going to happen next. Even when things are so horrible that the reader thinks the book must be put down curiosity as to what will happen next prevents the reader from putting the book down. The strengths of this book are that it is well written and easy to understand. It is apparent that the author genuinely cares about Sybil and her well-being and never blames her for the abuse that she endured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    Sybil by Flora Rheta Schreiber

    The outstanding journal of Sybil, who has multiple personalities, to become a whole person. After years of trauma Sybil finally decides it is time that she find herself. The journey to become one Sybil is full of loneliness and despair. Her past holding so many traumas that the journey is ruff. When she finally becomes one she has a since of completion she'd been longing for her whole life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Sybil Book Review

    The book Sybil is highly recommendable. It is a very fascinating and interesting book. The book will keep the reader wanting more and more. The book is recommendable for high school reading level and no lower. The style of writing, for the most part is understandable. Although, there can be come confusion with all the psychological terms which can be hard for the reader to understand or comprehend. It does take time and focus to read but it is well worth it. Sybil is defiantly recommended as a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    The organization of this book was at first, very scattered. Unable to understand what was written was possibly the author¿s goal. She (Flora Schreiber) wanted to confuse the reader, like Sybil always was, which ultimately created a connection between them and an event that later surfaced. As the story develops, the reader has a better understanding and knowledge of what¿s happening. This is a result of the author¿s new organization. Although the dialog of this book wasn¿t entirely comprehendible, it was still understandable as a whole. The terminology used could be compared to a medical journal, and would turn out slightly similar. The writing style of this book, however, would much rather appeal to today¿s pop-culture than to any medical field. One key part of good organization would be how, and how well, all the characters are introduced. Character development in vital for the reader so that he or she, possibly know or can guess how the character may feel about a certain situation. All of the characters in the book of ¿Sybil¿ were developed quite well. Actions and decisions of some may not be understood or even logical, but the character could be suffering from an illness, like Sybil was. It¿s understandable why Sybil developed multiple personalities (16, including Sybil herself). She had to find an escape from all of her anger, stress, mistreatment, and abuse she received. One way of looking at her disorder would be to compare her (Sybil) to a 16 piece jig-saw puzzle. Each piece represented something different, but are all vitally important to the finished product. By putting that puzzle together, piece by piece, Dr. Wilbur was able to put Sybil¿s life back together, which she, slowly but surely, did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    Wow

    I think that a lot of people need to step back and realize the psychological significance of Sybils case. However you also need to keep in mind the other theories about her condition. Does multiple personality disorder really exist or is it all a game of role playing? there have been many different reports that what Sybil said is false in some ways. No one really knows, but this was a really entertaining book. There is no proof though. If this is a biography of Sybil Dorsett, then I want proof because obviously if it happened there wouldnt be any speculation about the authenticity of the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2001

    Sybilized

    It's totally amazing how the mind works overtime when you have certain issues you can't get out of.Sybil is an amazing read, whether you're in PSYCHOLOGY or just about anyone.It delves deep through the way Sybil's mum abused her all throughout.It definitely changed the way i look at people now.I can see that we need not pity them but, be with their phases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2001

    Fiction?

    Sybil paved the hideuos way to a sterotype for people living with DID/MPD. The book is well written, however I was displeased when I found out Sybil was miss-diagnosed. When i found that out it took the flair of knowledge that could have been used in daily life and squashed it. It is unfortuante some people like to be famous for lies instead of truth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1