Customer Reviews for

Sycamore Row

Average Rating 4
( 1320 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(751)

4 Star

(289)

3 Star

(126)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(90)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

84 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

I just finished reading Sycamore Row and could not put it down!

I just finished reading Sycamore Row and could not put it down!  Wonderfully written, you feel as though you are right there with Jake Brigance throughout the book.  It has a lot of twists and turns and tells it like it was and is in the deep South.  I can't wait until ...
I just finished reading Sycamore Row and could not put it down!  Wonderfully written, you feel as though you are right there with Jake Brigance throughout the book.  It has a lot of twists and turns and tells it like it was and is in the deep South.  I can't wait until his next book comes out! 

posted by 18124505 on October 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

Hey Anonymous, anyone who can't spell sounds shouldn't call som

Hey Anonymous, anyone who can't spell sounds shouldn't call something stupid.....

posted by badladd on October 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1320 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 66
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    I just finished reading Sycamore Row and could not put it down!

    I just finished reading Sycamore Row and could not put it down!  Wonderfully written, you feel as though you are right there with Jake Brigance throughout the book.  It has a lot of twists and turns and tells it like it was and is in the deep South.  I can't wait until his next book comes out! 

    84 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    I was taking a plane trip from San Diego airport to Seattle. Did

    I was taking a plane trip from San Diego airport to Seattle. Didn't have a book to read so purchased the first novel of John Grisham....started it as soon as we were in the air.....reached my destination and didn't want to put the book down....have been a fan of Grisham since....He is just the best. My entire family of myself,my husband and 5 children all feel the same way. Hard to put his books down.. Thank you John Grisham for all your wonderful stories.

    71 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Another hit!

    This is classic Grisham. Some of his books are a bit humorous. Some are very serious. All are great stories told by a true story-teller. This one, well, I'm not far enough into it to tell you whether it's humorous or serious but enough to say it's in his tradition of great stories!

    36 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    I have read every book Grisham has written. He is of course a ve

    I have read every book Grisham has written. He is of course a very accomplished author. This is a tremendous story, and it was very well crafted. In many ways, it might have been the very best, as it did literally bring a tear yo my eye. Read this book. 

    30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    I could not put this book down. If you enjoy a great mystery the

    I could not put this book down. If you enjoy a great mystery then this is the book for you. 

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Anonymous

    This is the formula Grisham used in his best novels. It's a page turner that grabs you on the first page and doesn't let go until the last sentence on the last page. So many twists and turns, plots and sub-plots, surprises and disappointments. I enjoyed it do much, I hated to see it end.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    C:

    Okay,I read, John Grisham's, Theodore Boone series and i loved it. So I know when I read this book I will love it too. His books just seem to captivate you from the first word. I used to never be interested in books like that, that is until I picked up a book by John Grisham. He is like the only author who seems to really understand what he is writing about. I have loved his work from the very beginning. When people tell me they have never read any of his books, I literally freak out. I am his #1 fan!

    20 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham has done it again!  I've read all of his legal thrillers

    Grisham has done it again!  I've read all of his legal thrillers, and this is one of his best. I REALLY hope they consider making this a film, too.  
    I could not read the book fast enough.  Keep them coming!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Sycamore Row

    Awesome! Another hit!

    16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    So-so

    Not his best, but a good read. Somewhat predictable and occasionally drawn out.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Mississippi

    I can already visualize this book made into a movie. The characters from "A Time To Kill" again sharing an interesting tale. My only regret is that this book was published too late to have been my companion as I sat on the beach in Destin. Good page turners seem all to rare and I've come to rely on the consistency of this author.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Stunning Page Turner

    Such great plots, twists, and turns. You had no idea which way to lean from one page to the next. So many incredible surprises that put knots in my stomach.

    Grisham is a masterful storyteller and writer.

    Hated to see the story come to an end.
    MJM

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Di

    This is awesooo

    11 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I give Sycamore Row 5 stars.

    I give Sycamore Row 5 stars.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    A little drawn out. A time to kill was much better,and more plausible. I enjoy John Grisholm books,this was a little disappointing.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    I've read all of Grisham's books. Until now, "A Time to Kil

    I've read all of Grisham's books. Until now, "A Time to Kill" was my favorite even though I haven't found one I didn't like. I just finished this book and it is his best. After reading all of them, you know there is going to be a twist at the end; but the finishing few pages of 'Sycamore Row" are without equal.
    Kudos Mr. Grisham!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This was hands-down the best book I've read in many years. Grish

    This was hands-down the best book I've read in many years. Grisham knows how to spin a yarn, but this one took the cake! From the opening pages, it captures the imagination: What was going on with Seth Hubbard? Totally dysfunctional family or just a sick, bitter old man on a mission? I could not lay this book down and was deliciously surprised at so many twists and turns. Every passage, every character reagent to the incredible outcome, so pay attention! Thought I had this one figured out, only to have Mr. Gresham throw me a delightful curve during the last few pages. I just don't think I will EVER forget this book. I loved reading about Jake and Harry Rex and how they continued on after the murder trial. I would love to read a follow up to Sycamore Row too. Maybe a book where Jake has finally "arrived" much like the career path that Grisham's life took. Good work Mr Grisham!! As always this book was quite entertaining. "Sycamore Row" brings the some of the main characters from "A Time to Kill" back to life in a story that kept me turning pages. As always with Grisham, I felt like I knew the characters personally. Here's hoping for more Jake Brigance novels and a Hollywood adaptation of "Sycamore Row".  Absolutely loved the book.    

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A fantastic book. One of Grisham's best.

    A fantastic book. One of Grisham's best.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Hey, one star anonymous reviewer, reviewing a book you haven't r

    Hey, one star anonymous reviewer, reviewing a book you haven't read makes you "sownds" stupid. 

    8 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    mc

    Very great book one of the best grishom books to me

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1320 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 66