Customer Reviews for

Sylvester, or The Wicked Uncle

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2000

    One of Georgette's Best - and that is saying a lot!

    To call Heyer's work a 'Romance' is misleading - it fails to convey the period accuracy: language, dress and custom found in her work. Even more it misses the wit, humor and intelligence. Sylvester is an arrogant man; Phoebe a mousy 'nothing' disliked by her stepmother. But Phoebe has a secret, one which at first thrills her, and then when she begins to find herself less than indifferent to Sylvester, her secret becomes more appalling. Every word of the book is amusing, every character beautifully drawn - even servants and acquaintances are memorably drawn in their briefest appearance. It may sound stuffy; it is not. Like all of Heyer's Regency novels, I have read this one a dozen times and will do so a dozen more.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    My favorite Georgette Heyer!

    Well-developed characters, who undergo transformations that remind the reader of characters in an Austin novel, get involved in several mad-cap adventures. Heyer's masterful use of historical details helps to take the reader back in time. A delightful, fun-filled escape!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you love Jane Austen, you'll like Georgette Heyer

    I recently reread most of Georgette Heyer's Regency romances. I enjoyed them as a teenager in the '70's, but like them even more now. " Sylvester" is one of my favorites. The relationship between Phoebe and Sylvester begins with his indifference and her dislike of his perceived arrogance. She pens a novel satirizing London society,in which the villain, Count Ugolino, bears an unmistakable resemblance to Sylvester. To her amazement, her novel is published (anonymously) and becomes wildly popular, as society guesses the true identities of the novel's characters and especially the identity its author. Unforturnately, Phoebe's book, "The Lost Heir", not only describes Sylvester's unmistakable eyebrows, but it also portrays Ugolino's cruelty to his fatherless nephew. Unbeknownst to Phoebe, Sylvester actually is the guardian of a nephew. When Phoebe and Sylvester meet again, snowbound in a country inn, they see each other's flaws clearly, yet they are drawn to each other. Phoebe begins to regret using his features as the model for her villain, and tries to hide her identity as the author. Their mutual attraction grows until Phoebe is unmasked as the author of "The Lost Heir". Sylvester is humiliated, Phoebe suffers his public rejection, as well as subsequent social disgrace. On her way to France to escape the scandal, she happens upon the abduction of Sylvester's nephew and tries to rescue him. When Sylvester and Phoebe reunite, each must relinquish pride and accept the other, flaws and all.
    Phoebe's stepmother, the innkeeper's daughter Alice, Sylvester's nephew, Edmund, Edmund's mother and her new fiance are all hilarious minor characters whose comic subplots are equally as engaging as the love story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    Nice New Edition

    Harlequin has re-released one of my all-time favorite Georgette Heyer novels -- Sylvester, or The Wicked Uncle. This is a wonderful book, totally deserving of a much classier cover than Harlequin has previously provided. The new cover is period-appropriate and even attempts to capture some of the flavor of the characters in the book. The edition is somewhat marred by the introduction by Joan Wolf (after reading her pointless, wandering discussion of Sylvester, one wonders how Wolf has ever managed to write anything publishable. I've read 8th grade book reports that were more insightful). It's too bad about the intro -- if Harlequin would quit trying to plump their mostly mediocre authors, this edition would be nearly perfect.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    life imitates art, or the other way around?

    Heroine writes book with the hero as the monstrous evil villain, and then discovers that her book actually mirrors his situation! A tribute to the Gothic novel fad of the Regency period, but lots of humor and a good pace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My very favorite Georgette Heyer!

    I love this book; it's my absolute favorite of the Georgette Heyer romances. It's a a wonderful reworking of "Pride & Prejudice". Both main characters leap off the page as they clash and spar, and eventually realize they're in love. Little Edmund and Phoebe's friend Tom add humor and warmth to the story, and who could forget Sir Nugent Fotherby? He's in the same class with Elizabeth Bennet's mother. A story I have read again and again and again. It never grows old.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Unbeatable Georgette Heyer

    Without a doubt, my favorite writer. I never liked romances before I read Georgette Heyer. Now it seems I cannot live without them. The more stressed I get, the more I escape with Heyer to a different time with plenty of wit, humor, and insight into human nature. It is a joy to read her works and my only sadness is that there are not more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fine Comedy of Errors

    Sylvester, the Duke of Salford, is accustomed to being treated with deference but receives none from the dowdy Miss Marlow. And Miss Marlow has a secret she wants to keep from Society in general and the Duke in particular thus begins a series of misadventures for this mismatched pair. The supporting cast of characters add to the fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    LOVE!

    In regard to regency romances, this one is my favorite ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    If you like Regency Romances, check this out....

    I like all of Georgette Heyers Regency romances. They are light and funny. I enjoy seeing how the people of that period lived and i think the cant speech is well done.. She paints quite a picture of that period with all her Regency books...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    A satisfying romp through Regency England a la Heyer

    If you like Georgette Heyer's take on Regency England and enjoy a smile over a bit of romance etc., then read this book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Loved it!

    Possibly my favorite Georgette Heyer book yet! I really love her writing. Being a Jane Austen fan I was so excited to find this treasure trove of great reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Recommend to all who like lite Regency tales of morals and manners.

    Georgette Heyer is the best writer of Regency Romances. Much fun, great characters, varied plots. Delightful - read them all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Is this for cildren.

    I just want to know if this is for children.. The rating for the stars are if i am not sure if i would like it or not.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2