Customer Reviews for

Symptoms of Withdrawal: A Memoir of Snapshots and Redemption

Average Rating 5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2005

    HUGE fan of any book pertaining to the Kennedy's

    I could not put this book down.I read it in a day.It was a well written book about growing up with the name Kennedy following you.It was insightful look into the world of a drug addict and tragic loss.I would recommend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2006

    Free at Last

    I admire Lawford (or should I say Kennedy)humility and utter transparency in regards to the hell of addiction. I've never been addicted to any drugs, but I have known and lived with some so I understand the nature of it. Lawford's story of addiction is very real and very normal, the only circumstances that make him a rare case is that he was a Kennedy and that status required certain things. As he said about himself in the beginning, 'My awkward humanness is to free myself by finding myself.' This could be the Everyman's mantra. Chris Lawford has an incredible gift with storytelling and is a naturally talented writer. He has a unique style, as Norman Mailer observed. His engrossing read was made more engrossing by his insider accounts of such personalities as Elizabeth Taylor, Frank Sinatra, his mother and father, Hugh Hefner, and the ruthlessness of Hollywood while always living on the edge. His friendship with David Kennedy was heartbreaking and in a weird way redeeming for Lawford. Maybe, ther were after all, 'best friends to the bitter end.' He also details his womanizing, failed marriage, pulls punches at Dominic Dunne and Oliver Stone, does the twist with Marilyn Monroe and rumps with the rough and tough Kennedy boys in football. He also talks sporadically about his present woes with money, his divorce, and Hepatitis disease. He is fearless in examining himself, his family's failures, his tumultuous relationship with his father and mother, and many other stories. A beautiful effort by a writer that lives up to the Kennedy emblem of courage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2006

    If you know an addict, read this book

    This book comes straight from the heart and all the gory details are included. If you don't understand an addict, you will after you read this book. Thumbs up to Christopher Kennedy Lawford for sobering up and letting us revisit his past. It makes you want to buy copies for anyone who deals with an addict or may be one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    A Knockout

    With refreshing candor and remarkable talent, Christopher Lawford has given us a great gift. As with all the best stories since the dawn of time, we come away stronger for knowing this man¿s courage and heart. It is always our hope that the great storms in life will leave us stronger and more beautiful. This book proves it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    AWSOME

    I admire Christopher Lawford's honest portrait of growing up in America's Royal family. We can all learn something from this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    Great Book

    I could not put this book down. I admire Mr Kennedy's honesty. I love anything about the Kennedys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Lexy R, an avid reader, December 26, 2005

    Some trains leave right on time and some leave too soon. Brilliant book of where Chris got below the surface of his famous name to see who he really was and sat right there until he unraveled the mystery. While everyone else was walking around in their sleep, he was dugging down deep and had nothing to lose but his sleep. Not only did he find himself with the threads of life that were holding his life together, but the feeling in his heart that put a lump in my throat. This book will reel you in and keep you moving through the miracle of the beautiful healing a wonderful passionate person. Great piece of work. This is a great chance to find the road to heaven or stay on the road going nowhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2005

    Beautiful Book

    I loved this book. The author describes with insight, clarity, and compassion the details of his own suffering and in doing so puts to rest the tired fantasy that people of wealth, privilege, and fame suffer any less than the rest of us. He also movingly describes his remarkable and courageous progress out of despair and darkness. The reader is left with the prayer that the author will be able to maintain the delicate balance he has so hard won.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2005

    Symptoms of Withdrawal: A Memoir of Snapshots and Redemption

    Lawford's memoir is a gutsy, funny, romp in the rarefied worlds of Tinseltown and Camelot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    See Yourself In This Funhouse Mirror

    Christopher Kennedy Lawford has written an irresistible account of his own life and personal redemption. This is a book you wish would never end. And it ends with a surprise: a list of personal insights which exemplify the most precious part of recovery: clarity. 'Symptoms of Withdrawal..' will be recognized as an essential text and required reading in a small but growing body of literary works: books which speak directly to the unique havoc, wrought upon the lives of their sons, by distant and neglectful fathers everywhere. It is equally valuable for its depiction of the potential for ruin brought into the life of any son or daughter of an alcoholic parent. That would include anybody, anywhere, on the planet earth. Thank you, Mr. Lawford, for sharing the understanding and compassion which you found and extended to your own father. I could feel something of my own (very dissimilar) life in every page of your book. It will assist anybody in locating that understanding and compassion. Your book is a gift to all who have shared your experience, particularly to those who may not yet have been able to put their finger on the particular thread of pain which you have so keenly identified and written about. Your book reflects a lot of humility and a lot of grace. We owe you, big time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    Symptoms of Withdrawal: A Memoir of Snapshots and Redemption

    Symptoms of Withdrawal captured me from the first sentence. Mr. Lawford speaks to the reader as if he is sitting across from you telling his fascinating story. With candid honesty he describes his `privileged and colorful life¿ and his dive into addiction, proving this devastating disease can get its grip on anyone¿and knows no boundaries, no matter what family you are born into. I laughed in some spots yet shivered in others as he described his descent into the dark places his addiction took him. Fortunately, for all of us he came through to the other side¿ recovery. It is great news he is actively involved in bringing his message of hope and addiction awareness to the world--we need more people like him. Symptoms of Withdrawal is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    Symptoms of Withdrawal carries a great message!

    I recommend this book for parents raising a family with 'high expectations' of their children. One does not need to be a Kennedy to feel the pressure and isolation that often goes with the unspoken demand to perform. The goal is commendable, but without continuous dialogue with the adults in their lives, very difficult for a young person to obtain. No wonder kids put in this position, seeming to 'have it all', find themselves lost, lonely and confused, turn to drugs to ease the pain. My hope is to get a message out, not just all the running with the Pack and the glamour, but the story of parental responsibility for the development of their beautiful children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1