Customer Reviews for

Syndrome

Average Rating 3.5
( 1411 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(292)

4 Star

(397)

3 Star

(376)

2 Star

(185)

1 Star

(161)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Fantatstic medical Thriller

This is a great medical thriller along with a love story in the making. I love the plot and how genetics could possibly happen some day and it could also be manipulated for evil as well. This may be why the Government needs to be involved at some level. Great book, love...
This is a great medical thriller along with a love story in the making. I love the plot and how genetics could possibly happen some day and it could also be manipulated for evil as well. This may be why the Government needs to be involved at some level. Great book, love this kind of story.

posted by seniorchief on October 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Oh well, it was free.

This is the second free Hoover book I made the mistake of reading. Other reviews have pointed out several of my own dislikes: font changes, typos, spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors, product placement. But the thing that really bothered me in both books (didn't...
This is the second free Hoover book I made the mistake of reading. Other reviews have pointed out several of my own dislikes: font changes, typos, spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors, product placement. But the thing that really bothered me in both books (didn't remember the other one's title, not worth it) was how the characters would forget a crucial plot point so easily, and do really stupid things that anyone with half a brain would be able to avoid.

posted by readalotLG on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 185 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Oh well, it was free.

    This is the second free Hoover book I made the mistake of reading. Other reviews have pointed out several of my own dislikes: font changes, typos, spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors, product placement. But the thing that really bothered me in both books (didn't remember the other one's title, not worth it) was how the characters would forget a crucial plot point so easily, and do really stupid things that anyone with half a brain would be able to avoid.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    Plodding at Times

    Like others, I found the font changes and punctuation errors mildly annoying, but what bothered me the most was the writing style. For 10 or 20 pages, alot seemed to be happening, but that was always followed up by another 10 or 20 pages of boredom. The central characters go from very clever to brain-dead in their actions as they get to the bottom of the mystery.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Annoying

    The story is ok, but the publishing is really low-quality. There are many typos and spacing errors. The font switches back and forth between two very different styles on the same page, and the chapter headings are at the bottom of the previous page. Perhaps I shouldn't complain about a free read, but the poor quality of the publishing is very distracting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Rough exposition

    I had a hard time enjoying the heavy-handed dialogue that the author used to explain the central narrative. Admittedly, regenerative medicine is a tough topic unfamiliar to most readers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Interesting story, but...

    Good story, interesting plot, likeable characters, but very poorly edited. Sometimes it would switch fonts in the middle of a page. It could have been a great book with a little more work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    long and drawn out

    This book often seemed to be a volume where the author was using high level vocabulary just to show he could. It was a long read that has an expected ending

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Fell asleep in the second chapter

    Too convoluted...the plot needs to be revealed sooner. Slow and boring start.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Anonymous

    The premise of this book really hooked me, despite the mixed reviews. However, I was disappointed. I love medical thrillers so I was really trying to like this, but I have to echo other reviewers who stated how the characters made some strange choices. I know it's fiction, but soooo unbelieveable makes you not care what happens to the character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent concept for a book but poorly written

    Hoover had a great concept for this novel when he wrote Syndrome, dealing with stem cell technology and its upsides and downsides. However, I found the e-book poorly written and poorly edited. The characters were not well developed and their actions, given their circumstances, implausible. The concept was good enough, however, to keep me reading to the end to learn the fate of the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    Slow read

    This is one of those books that started out slow and never really got going. It had enough to keep me hanging on but just barley. I was waiting for the pace to pick up but it never did. I'm not sorry I read this one but I wouldn't recommend it to a friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    Poorly written

    I read a lot and have a tendancy to notice inconsistancies. This book had so many it was irritating. One minute the main character makes a statement and the next asks a question about what she just said! There a lot of contradictary statements made. The story was good until the end when it turned from a medical thriller to sci-fi. I usually go on to read other books by an author. But I'm not at all interested in reading more by Mr. Hoover. I only finished reading this because it was free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Poorly Written

    Good thing I didn't pay for it. Wordy. Information that isn't relative to the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Too wordy

    Pretty good but too long and in depth. Story interesting but author likes big words and their use was not always correct. Written like one hand on the thesaurus. I skimmed alot to try to stay interested. But like others said it was free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Not impressed

    Not impressed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    decent story but...

    Too lengthy. Too much description. Could have told the whole story in 300 pages. I passed by most of it to get to the dialogue. Granted some background was necessary but all in all. I prefer less description of unnecessary buildings etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Emmm

    It was kinda looooooooong

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Too long

    I wasn't even sure of the book when I purchased it, but because it was free I decided to go for it. Bad decision. I'm in almost 300 pages and nothing has happened. So far it's all been background knowledge, and very boring background at that. This is not action packed and moves slowly. Unless you're into medical mysteries and slower reads I don't suggest this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Excellent book

    Couldn't put it down...I took my Nook with me everywhere...to the gym, in the house (when I had a little extra time) and also my 'bedtime read'...an interesting medical thriller...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    ok

    It is highly far fetched, but somwhat entertaining and free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Ok for a rainy day

    Slow moving doesnt have the suspense of a robin cook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 185 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10