BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Syndrome

Average Rating 3.5
( 1415 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(292)

4 Star

(399)

3 Star

(378)

2 Star

(185)

1 Star

(161)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Fantatstic medical Thriller

This is a great medical thriller along with a love story in the making. I love the plot and how genetics could possibly happen some day and it could also be manipulated for evil as well. This may be why the Government needs to be involved at some level. Great book, love...
This is a great medical thriller along with a love story in the making. I love the plot and how genetics could possibly happen some day and it could also be manipulated for evil as well. This may be why the Government needs to be involved at some level. Great book, love this kind of story.

posted by seniorchief on October 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Oh well, it was free.

This is the second free Hoover book I made the mistake of reading. Other reviews have pointed out several of my own dislikes: font changes, typos, spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors, product placement. But the thing that really bothered me in both books (didn't...
This is the second free Hoover book I made the mistake of reading. Other reviews have pointed out several of my own dislikes: font changes, typos, spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors, product placement. But the thing that really bothered me in both books (didn't remember the other one's title, not worth it) was how the characters would forget a crucial plot point so easily, and do really stupid things that anyone with half a brain would be able to avoid.

posted by readalotLG on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 378 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Story

    This is a good story. I am a sucker for Medical Mysteries, however, this one tries the patience, because of spelling errors, and duplicating words in a sentence. Was going to quit a few times,but story and characters kept me going. And of course the book was free.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Thought provoking with typos.

    Interesting premise, probably something we will have to actually deal with some time in the future. Very poor editing and execution. The arbitrary font changes, bad line and page breaks and typos were very distracting.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Halfway throgh

    So far I have been interested in the story but... the gramar is terrible and the changing font size IS anoying. I guess you get what you pay for.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Interesting read

    I enjoyed this medical mystery story. Theories in the story are relatively realistic in this day and age of science. References to concerns we all have or will encounter in our lives such as aging parents and dementia have you thinking. A page turner.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    okay

    Not as interesting as I thought it would be. Some descriptions were long and tedious. An okay read, but wouldn't mind had I missed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Very Easy Read

    I was surprised it was this good, being a free book. Problems with the font changing, wrong spelling and punctuation, but I overlooked it because I enjoyed it so much. Am now on to his next book. Interesting plot line.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    it was OK

    The plot was very interesting, but I found myself skipping through pages as I progressed in the book. Too much detail, and took a long time to get to the point. I would still recommend this book because it's free, but it might not hold your attention for long.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Ok

    Very slow start....the first few hundred pages i almost gave up. Glad i did not because it turned out to be a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    A decent read

    Kind of slow to start, but by the end I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Syndrome

    Good read. Would make a great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    About what I Thought

    Read the medical thrillers by Cook and this is right along those lines...this author got tired of the story and ended it...but a good free read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    good story

    interesting novel about man's quest for eternal youth. someday it might happen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Pretty good

    Overall this book was pretty good, a little confusing at first but made more sense as the book went along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Eh

    This book uses the word "sexy" too much in da beginning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Good Thriller

    Well written, great concept, worth your time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Nice Read

    This was a good read. A bit predictable with the plot. Enjoyed the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Decent read

    Pretty good, but a tad slow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Good, but not Great

    I like Thomas Hoover's style. He puts some reesearch in his writing that makes it ineteresting, and this book actually has an interesting story line. The problem with this particular book is that the story line took too long to develop in my opinion, which made parts of the book a bit dry. There are also a ton ot typos, which isn't a big deal, but it annoys me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Medical Mayhem!!!

    A decent tale of horrific medical experimentation, with an interesting focus. The heroine moves back and forth from home to the bad dude's clinic too much, so much traveling is exhausting. Find a smoother way to effect transit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Different.

    This book is very boring in the begining but as you get more into it- its reallyhard to put down. Then it gets boring againm but its free so I suggest you give it a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 378 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19