Customer Reviews for

Syren (Septimus Heap Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(282)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This series is Awesome

If your thinking about buying this trust me, its worth every penny! Its a great childrens book series that captivates all readers. It has much humor,thrills, and all that good stuff all books should have. Its a book for 9-16 year olds. I have read all four books at...
If your thinking about buying this trust me, its worth every penny! Its a great childrens book series that captivates all readers. It has much humor,thrills, and all that good stuff all books should have. Its a book for 9-16 year olds. I have read all four books at least 3 times or more and i am much looking forward to the 5th book!

posted by Gringe on June 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Syren, not up to standard

While I recognize that the Septemus Heap series is not a ground-breaking series or anything, Syren was even less compelling than its predecessors. This was essentially a self-contained, mild-mannered mini-adventure within the series. Same characters, but no seemingly co...
While I recognize that the Septemus Heap series is not a ground-breaking series or anything, Syren was even less compelling than its predecessors. This was essentially a self-contained, mild-mannered mini-adventure within the series. Same characters, but no seemingly compelling reason for its existance to further the larger plot (in fact, that is one of my complaints about the series, the apparent plot line of Tertius Fume trying to take over is not very well drawn out, and now that Simon is "good," is there no one really root against and Septimus is not a very compelling hero). In short, the story was bland.

posted by 1055682 on January 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 422 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This series is Awesome

    If your thinking about buying this trust me, its worth every penny! Its a great childrens book series that captivates all readers. It has much humor,thrills, and all that good stuff all books should have. Its a book for 9-16 year olds. I have read all four books at least 3 times or more and i am much looking forward to the 5th book!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    THIS BOOK ROX!!!!!!

    I have read every other book in this series and I love all of them!!!!! This book is DA BOM though, seriously. I'm an avid reader and also am IN LOVE with fantasy. I'm always looking for new books to read and enjoy and this one really caught my attention. It's funny, suspensful, and just an all around great book! If you read these ms. (or is it mrs.????) Angie Sage, I just have a couple things to say to you. Keep writing these books and doing your thing because your thing works extremely well for me and many, many others as well. U ROK THIS UNIVERSE TO NO END!!!!!!!!!!!!!! KEEP IT UP!!!!!!!!!! PEACE!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What about the Dragon Boat?

    I don't mean this to be a spoiler. I LOVE these books. This is the first time in a long timet hat I have been so extited and read an entire series back to back.

    I was hoping to find out more about the status of the dragon boat. It was not mentioned in #4 after such effort was made to get the potion to save it in book 3... It was mentioned for a moment in book 5, but only in passing.

    That aside, this was a great book. I love the charactors and the inventive foods & gadgets! Sage over all is a great writer who immediately draws you in and holds you for the whole ride.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fun series

    This series is often compared to Harry Potter, but I think in many ways it's much different. The only parallels that I see are that it involves a boy, who at one point is an orphan, and magic. Definitely written for a younger audience, the Septimus books have a tendency to be a little silly sometimes and the endings easily resolved. However, in contrast, Sage deftly creates an interesting world with often odd and humorous characters who have the ability to surprise the reader. The plot structures of each story vary, and, to any fantasy reader's great joy, she doesn't use the same antagonist throughout every single book. Some of the characters switch sides, and other, new bad guys emerge as the series progresses. Also, unlike many series writers, Sage will start a chain of events that last throughout several books, continuing to hook readers from book to book. She does not wrap everything up neatly, but is still able to finish a book in a way that makes the story seem complete. Then, the reader has the anticipation of discovering how some of the issues that arise in earlier books will unravel in later additions.

    For Syren specifically, at first I was a little disappointed that Sage brought out a reference to Greek Mythology as the main antagonist for this addition. I've found that what I love so much about this series is its inventive nature and the fact that things like the House of Foryx, the Witch's Way, the Dragon Boat, etc. are unique elements to this series and thus add something larger to the world of fantasy literature overall. However, as I got through the book, I was able to discover that the specific way in which she brought out the mythology of the Syren was different, and there were other elements, namely the Cat Lighthouse, the submarine, the jinnes, and the reemergence of the ice tunnels, which seem to lead out much further than one would imagine. The only element that I wish Sage would bring back into the books in a very tangible way is some of the magyk that Septimus is learning. The past couple books have seen a lot less of it than some of the originals did. I recommend this to all readers 9+, skewing more toward boys.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    The awsome seris

    I havent red it yeet but the first two were amasing and i had read from school and when i checked on my nook and saw 3 4 5 and 6 i knew that i would be reading alot. Septimus heap is epic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is THE best book in the septimus heap sieries yet!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Highly recomended

    Action packed and fast paced and a few what-the-heck moments!!! This is worth every second reading and I'm happy I bought this book!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Enjoy

    I love all these books, but this is so far my favorite. Harry Potter was my favorite series. Then came along Percy Jackson and now it is Septimus Heap. I love these books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome series

    I found this series and thought it might be good for my 9 yr. old granddaughter, who loves to read. I decided to read the first one to see what it was like and see if it would really be good for her. I was hooked after the first chapter. I read all the books and loved them. My granddaughter saw me reading one of them and asked if she could borrow them. I told her that I would give them to her for Christmas. She keeps reminding me not to forget to give them to her. She is really looking forward to reading them and I am looking forward to being able to discuss the books with her after she receives them. I recommend them to anyone with children of the age group recommended by the publisher, but also to any adult who liked the Harry Potter series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book Like No Other!

    The book "Syren," by National best-selling author Angie Sage is the fifth installment in the wonderfully acclaimed and Magykal "Septimus Heap" series, which will be seven books when completed. Containing suspense, mystery, humor, and non-stop action, "Syren" certainly does its companions justice and most surely will not disappoint anyone who reads it, from the first page to the last! With its unique storyline and one-of-a-kind characters, this book is impossible to put down and will definitely leave an indelible imprint upon the reader's heart and mind forevermore! Another great thing about "Syren" is that it leaves the reader eagerly awaiting the next book in this irresistible series starring Septimus Heap! A book like no other!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    G

    Septimus Heap has just returned from the deadly Queste, alive, no less, and is about to earn some new stripes on his sleeves:Senior Apprentice stripes from Marcia.
    With the new freedom he is given, he sets off on a mission to bring home Jenna, Snorri, and Nicko. But he and Spit Fyre are blown off course by a sudden storm and are forced to land on an island inhabited by a mystical Syren.
    Little does Sep know that by accepting a SafeCharm he refused because of past experience, he has given an all-powerful jinnee to his nemesis and doppelganger, Merrin Meredith.
    Enjoy this return to a land of Magyk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Kc

    Confused

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No interesting title thought of today.

    It was awesome. Seriously.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Amazing

    This was a grreat book I definetly recomend it to any body who likes the Bartemeas series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Great series

    It has it all teen drama, magic, good vs evil
    Read the all in order as with most series they flow into each other

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    very interesting

    i just love this entire series, i love the way Sage makes you beive you are there even thoug hthe entire story could never be true, it is beutifully written and i wish this series was more popular, the artwork is amazing, good job Angie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    Syren, not up to standard

    While I recognize that the Septemus Heap series is not a ground-breaking series or anything, Syren was even less compelling than its predecessors. This was essentially a self-contained, mild-mannered mini-adventure within the series. Same characters, but no seemingly compelling reason for its existance to further the larger plot (in fact, that is one of my complaints about the series, the apparent plot line of Tertius Fume trying to take over is not very well drawn out, and now that Simon is "good," is there no one really root against and Septimus is not a very compelling hero). In short, the story was bland.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Met Septimus Heap

    Have you met Septimus Heap? Well, I had not til we bumped into each other this month. I am watching out for Christmas presents right now. And I found not just one but a whole series of them for my neighbors daughter. Thankfully Septimus was willing to be included in the endeavor.

    Who is this character? Well, for that we would have to go back to the beginning. All the way back to Magyk. For that is the first book in this series. Septimus Heap Septimus Heap is the seventh son of a seventh son, who possesses magical powers, and is apprenticed to ExtraOrdinary wizard, Marcia Overstrand.

    I jumped in here on Syren and stowed away with Beetle, Jenna, Nicko and Snorri. Here we are all stranded on an island with a Magykal girl named Syrah and a cat-shaped lighthouse that has lost its light. Septimus is trying to escape the persistent and eerie presence that sings to him. And he's stranded there with his badly injured dragon, Spit Fyre. Trouble is also brewing for Lucy and Wolf Boy, who have become entangle with nefarious sailors at sea, and for Milo Banda, Jenna's father, who is harboring a mysterious treasure chest in his ship's hold.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What I think of Syren...

    i think Syren is the perfect sequel to Queste. I makes everything seem so wonderful and thrilling at once. I love it! I give it 5 starts, although more describtion should be put into the characters...it's the best...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Read

    I LOVE SERIES! I THOUGHT I Would hate them but i love them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 422 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22