Customer Reviews for

Syren (Septimus Heap Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(282)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This series is Awesome

If your thinking about buying this trust me, its worth every penny! Its a great childrens book series that captivates all readers. It has much humor,thrills, and all that good stuff all books should have. Its a book for 9-16 year olds. I have read all four books at...
If your thinking about buying this trust me, its worth every penny! Its a great childrens book series that captivates all readers. It has much humor,thrills, and all that good stuff all books should have. Its a book for 9-16 year olds. I have read all four books at least 3 times or more and i am much looking forward to the 5th book!

posted by Gringe on June 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Syren, not up to standard

While I recognize that the Septemus Heap series is not a ground-breaking series or anything, Syren was even less compelling than its predecessors. This was essentially a self-contained, mild-mannered mini-adventure within the series. Same characters, but no seemingly co...
While I recognize that the Septemus Heap series is not a ground-breaking series or anything, Syren was even less compelling than its predecessors. This was essentially a self-contained, mild-mannered mini-adventure within the series. Same characters, but no seemingly compelling reason for its existance to further the larger plot (in fact, that is one of my complaints about the series, the apparent plot line of Tertius Fume trying to take over is not very well drawn out, and now that Simon is "good," is there no one really root against and Septimus is not a very compelling hero). In short, the story was bland.

posted by 1055682 on January 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 422 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Scary but awesome

    Scary but awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    A wonderful book for fantasy readers

    All lovers of fantasy should read this book and this serie. It makes you dream about wizards, syren, genies and Magyk. Fantasy readers should not miss this wonderful adventures that changed my vision of fantasy : For me now, magic became Magyk, wands became charms, and red drangons became green. Now, my dreams are diffrent, but much more wonderful. Fantasy has become a bigger part of my imagination than it already was; now it is my favorite serie and I will never forget it. I believe you will love it, if you don't you are not a fan of fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    This might have been the best of the series so far, as Septimus

    This might have been the best of the series so far, as Septimus gets older and more confident in his abilities the books seem to be getting better, at least to me. I enjoyed this one and am looking forward to Darke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Syen is awesome.

    I like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    I love jenna

    Jenna is the best charachter in the entire book of Queste! But I do so think that Snorri Snorrelson and Nicko Heap's relation is so cute! I also think that it is very logical of Angie Sage that she added the detail in Queste that the map and notes that Snorri and Nicko wrote almost crumbled to dust in Jenna's hands because at that point they were trapped back 500 years ago but Marrcellus Pye was alive then and Snorri and Nicko visited him regularly so he ended up with the papers before they left for the house of Foryx,and then marcellus took the potion for eternal youth and was still alive in Jenna's time, so he gave Jenna the papers so they cold travel to the house of Foryx too YOU HAVE TO READ THIS SERIES BECAUSE IT IS HILARIOUS AND MAGYKAL WAY BETTER THAN THE HARRY POTTER BOOKS! IT WILL BLOW YOU AWAY! THE END! THANK YOU FOR READING THIS AND BE SURE TO READ THE SERIES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    The Wrong Path 9

    |quest apps are done because I've decided, everybody who applied will be in the quest and i'll keep you informed at voyage of the dawn treader. Next at darke.| Crystal and I picked our way to breakfast. The air was chilly and we could see our breath so we decided to tell eachother about ourselves. I started with telling her about my dad who was broken hearted for years before finding my step mom and then marrying her when I was young. Crystal was a good listener and didn't interject once. After I finnished Crystal started,"last night I told you I had three parents. My godly parents had three some." When I looked confusedly at her she said,"oh, thay means I have three parents instead of two, kind of like you but not exactly. They are Hypnos, Aphrodite, anf Hades." I nodded and asked her to continue. "I came to Camp Half Blood just about two years ago and I felt nobody excepted me because of my three parents but Seth, my boyfriend if you havn't noticed, did." She paused and looked at a girl rushing towards us. I gasped! It was Tianna!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Amazing

    These books are amazing!!!!!!!! I have read up to Syren, and i hope to get Darke soon cuz thats the next book. i would hate for this series to end it is simply incredible and anyone that says it isnt has a serious mental issue and needs madical assistance. Thats how much i love this series. Angie darling, pretty please DO NOT STOP WORKING YOUR ANGIE SAGE MAGIC, it is incredible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Yup

    Is boss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Sahra

    Sahra's story is the sadest story i have ever heard.i hope she wakes up in the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Nicole B. Again

    The next book is the book Darke, & from the chapter i read in Syren, Simon gets in trouble. And I think i know who has the two faced ring. My guess is: MERRIN MEREDITH!!!!! Bexause in Syren, it says at 1 point he is twisting his TWO FACED RING!!!! Of course it may be te unexpected but something random is : I feel sorry for Lucy Gringe. Her lover is sudden back awash in Darke Magyk again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Boycott nooks,they don't give you all the pages in the book!

    Example: 34,35,35,3536,36,37,38,39,39 there,you see?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    The book took us on an amazing ride where new twists and new cha

    The book took us on an amazing ride where new twists and new characters are introduced. We of course see the characters we love; Jenny, Beetle, Septimus and his family, along with Marica. Its a great read that was easy to follow. Its fun continuing to watch Septimus and Jenny coming into their own as they grow up. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    SYREN

    I just finnished SYREN, I am in love! I don't get what happened to Syrah, but I hope she wakes up, I like her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Flickers den

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Okay

    Not the best of the series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Criss

    Syrah we have to go comelater lets just do this tommorow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Anonomous

    3rd best bookever.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    !!!!!!!!!!

    i luv it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!u hav 2 read this !!!!!its gr8 !!!!!!its all paridice mystry !!!!!!!it creeps ya out in a good way.there is a creepy posesive ghost.u will luv it !!!!!!!!!!!best book ever !!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Syren

    Great fifth book by angie sage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 422 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22