Customer Reviews for

Syrup

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Fun, witty and full of characters you'll never forget. You'll never look at advertising the same way again after Syrup. Company and Jennifer Government are also great reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    MUST READ!!!

    Very entertaining !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Satire on Marketing

    This is another brilliant book by Max Barry who is one of the best satirists out there regarding office and business situations. This time he pokes his wit at the Marketing Industry. The main character who calls himself Scat (because it is a cool name) claims that every individual can come up with three million dollar ideas per year. Scat has his first; coming up with a revolutionary name for a new Coke drink. He tries to pitch it to a young marketer called "6." Immediately Scat is intrigued by 6 and falls in love with her even though she has made it clear that men are not her thing.
    Scat's idea is a big smash but unfortunately it is undermined by his roommate, aptly named Sneaky Pete. The book moves rapidly with Scat coming up with great idea after another hoping to be rich and land 6 to boot.

    I really enjoyed this book and look forward to more work by Mr. Barry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    Brilliant Satire on Marketing!

    This is another brilliant book by Max Barry who is one of the best satirists out there regarding office and business situations. This time he pokes his wit at the Marketing Industry. The main character who calls himself Scat (because it is a cool name) claims that every individual can come up with three million dollar ideas per year. Scat has his first coming up with a revolutionary name for a new Coke drink. He tries to pitch it to a young marketer called ¿6.¿ Immediately Scat is intrigued by 6 and falls in love with her even though she has made it clear that men are not her thing. Scat¿s idea is a big smash but unfortunately it is undermined by his roommate, aptly named Sneaky Pete. The book moves rapidly with Scat coming up with great idea after another hoping to be rich and land 6 to boot. I really enjoyed this book and look forward to more work by Mr. Barry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    Hands down - One of the best books I've ever read.

    I loved this book. I started it one evening on the subway home from work...and didn't put it down until I finished it. I read it in 6 hours. It is PHENOMENAL. The storyline, the writing, the humor, the situations... everything. I love it, and would highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    The most engaging book I've read this year

    This book was fantastic. I read it in two days, couldn't put it down, and smiled the entire time. I would recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    i'm no longer a virgin

    a friend of mine is a literary critic and - if it needs saying - avid book lover. and She's more than once spoken of literary characters with whom She's fallen in love, and expressed surprise that i've never fallen in love with one. but i hadn't. and now i have. i think about 6 - i long for Her, i miss Her, i feel i need Her - while i'm washing dishes or playing computer games. it's a good, if somewhat sad, feeling. i loved this book - i'm sure largely, though not solely, because i was falling in love with 6 while reading it. i plowed through its 294 pages in all of two days, which is unusual for me. i found it funny - i laughed out loud a number of times, which is definitely a mark in its favor - and smart and intriguing, and unlike one reader who gave it two stars - something about people not throwing hash browns (?!) - i also found it compelling and intriguing and i did very much care what happened with Scat and 6. its tone reminded me of Microserfs, by Douglas Coupland (i see that another of his books is listed as one of the 'people who liked this book also bought' titles), but not such that i think it a rehash or anything. i haven't read another book like this one. my only (and very minor) complaint about it is that i feel Mr. Barry needs to expand his store of adjectives. he mentions 6's 'midnight hair' and 'dark eyes' too often; adjectives like these should be used no more than once if the description is to retain its power. but that's the only thing i felt called for improvement. i thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    one of the best books I have ever read

    I finished this book literally shaking with anticipation for each next page. I felt like I was in Scat's body. I hated Sneaky Pete so much. I desperately wanted to have sex with 6. I still do, actually. The book had amazing feeling and intensity, and I find its black humor to be some of the best that I have ever read. If Max Barry does not continue to write books, or at least make a movie of 'Syrup,' I will personally fly to Australia and beat the stuffing out of him. Thank you for this piece of art, Mr. Barry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    Took me two days to tear through this novel.

    Absolutely the best novel I have read in quite some time. I could not put it down; it actually made me want to put my computer away for a bit. If you work in a corporate environment, get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    This book is OUTSTANDING

    This is the first book that I have read from start to finish in one setting. I have never picked up a book that I could not put down to take care of other business. TWO THUMBS UP. I think that it could be because I work for Coke that I find this so interesting and so true in many ways. I look forward to reading anything else Maxx Berry decides to write. I highly encourage everyone to read this book!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2001

    Syrup is a Sweet Read

    Barry is ingenious. Syrup is hip, young, smart and absolutely fresh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    A Comedic and surprising Masterpiece!

    I may only be 12 but have I got some news for you. I know a good book when I read it and Maxx Barry's Novel, Syrup is a great book for ADULTS. Some content may not be suitable for children under 16. Scat, a marketing executive with only one thing in his mind, money, gives his Idea to Coke-Cola, a multimillion dollar Idea for a new Cola. He goes down to register only to find out that his sneaky room mate, Sneaky Pete has stolen his Idea. He then works with a long time Coke Employee to make a new Coke Summer Campaign. I suggest reading 'Syrup' By Maxx Barry Today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1