Customer Reviews for

T is for Trespass

Average Rating 4
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A terrific investigative tale

In 1987 in Santa Teresa, California abrasive octogenarian Gus Vronsky suffers a shoulder separation from a fall that he cannot get up from. His next door neighbor private investigator Kinsey Millhone and her eighty-seven years old landlord Henry hear a wail. They inve...
In 1987 in Santa Teresa, California abrasive octogenarian Gus Vronsky suffers a shoulder separation from a fall that he cannot get up from. His next door neighbor private investigator Kinsey Millhone and her eighty-seven years old landlord Henry hear a wail. They investigate, find Gus debilitated, call 911 and care for him until his great-niece hires nursing home aide, Solana Rojas.--------- However, Millhone becomes concerned that the care-giver is mistreating her patient. She plans to intervene if she can find proof. Unbeknownst to Millhone (ironically the reader knows on page one) is that a diabolical thug has stolen the real Rojas┬┐ identity and knows who she must remain vigilant against with if she is to continue with her masquerade.--------- Although the ending violently rights things, this Millhone tale is T for terrific. The story line is action-packed as Millhone wants to do the right thing for her neighbor, but finds her interference not welcomed. The fake Rojas proves a clever adversary at they play a deadly game of chess in which Gus could prove the victim. Fans of the long running series will enjoy this entry as the normally confident heroine struggles with how much involvement is acceptable.------

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointing

Having been a Sue Grafton fan for years, and having already read 'A' through 'S' I awaited the release of this book with great anticipation. However, this book was slow and arduous to read. Grafton's newest criminal , Sonya Rojas, is interesting, but not enough so to ma...
Having been a Sue Grafton fan for years, and having already read 'A' through 'S' I awaited the release of this book with great anticipation. However, this book was slow and arduous to read. Grafton's newest criminal , Sonya Rojas, is interesting, but not enough so to make this a 'page turner'. This is my least favorite of all of her books.

posted by Anonymous on February 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific investigative tale

    In 1987 in Santa Teresa, California abrasive octogenarian Gus Vronsky suffers a shoulder separation from a fall that he cannot get up from. His next door neighbor private investigator Kinsey Millhone and her eighty-seven years old landlord Henry hear a wail. They investigate, find Gus debilitated, call 911 and care for him until his great-niece hires nursing home aide, Solana Rojas.--------- However, Millhone becomes concerned that the care-giver is mistreating her patient. She plans to intervene if she can find proof. Unbeknownst to Millhone (ironically the reader knows on page one) is that a diabolical thug has stolen the real Rojas¿ identity and knows who she must remain vigilant against with if she is to continue with her masquerade.--------- Although the ending violently rights things, this Millhone tale is T for terrific. The story line is action-packed as Millhone wants to do the right thing for her neighbor, but finds her interference not welcomed. The fake Rojas proves a clever adversary at they play a deadly game of chess in which Gus could prove the victim. Fans of the long running series will enjoy this entry as the normally confident heroine struggles with how much involvement is acceptable.------

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best ever for Grafton!

    Kinsey Millhone, the prickly star of Sue Grafton's California based alphabet series, is no slouch detective. So, when Millhone does a cursory background check on a home health aide and unwittingly places an elderly neighbor in harm's way, she feels obligated to undo the damage. The problem is that no one, especially not the neighbor's reluctant relative who hired her, wants to be bothered with the inconvenient truth.

    The villain in "T is for Trespass," an evil psychopath, is one of the best that Grafton has written. I found myself gripping the pages and worrying that Millhone might not survive this one.

    As is true in all the Grafton books, more than one case is being investigated, so that Millhone can pay her bills. The search for a missing witness to a car accident overlaps the search for the primary villain. Grafton has set the scenes in the two stories in such a way as to make the overlap seamless and absolutely believable.

    Each book in the series is set at sequential intervals in the 80s - before cell phones. This way, Kinsey Millhone gets shot at, arrested, threatened and harassed, all without backup coming anytime soon. What a life just to avoid a 9 to 5 schedule. What a ride!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    T is for Terrific!!!

    Kinsey Millhone, Sue Grafton
    " I know there will always be someone poised to take advantage of the vulnerable: the very young, the very old, and the innocent of any age. I know this from long experience. Solana Rojas was one..." And so begins the prologue of "T is for Trespass" one of the most interesting yet dark and touching stories Grafton has written.

    T is for Trespass is a sad, touching, and very dark tale of injustice taken from real life through the eyes of our own heroin P.I. Kinsey Millhone.
    Meet Solana Rojas, the villain sociopath of the story. Grafton does a wonderful job as usual creating characters that become as real as our neighbors next door. She develops Solana's character from her early childhood up to her adulthood. What' more important, by the end of the book, Grafton makes Solana's name a symbol of evil's keen desire to take advantage on the innocent.
    Solana's social and malign background set the tone of the book very early in the story, and enable readers a glimpse of the atrocities and the mayhem Solana is about to commit.
    Grafton Plot and writing style is at her best, As usual we find P.I. K Millhone dealing with a couple of cases at the same time, in this case what can be characterized as insurance fraud and the anatomy of the perpetrator. Grafton always manages to overlap all cases together and make the story not only interesting but very real.

    Taken from today's news, but having taken place in the late eighties Grafton touches in many social subjects such as: Identity theft, Elder abuse, sex offenders, family values, and the failure of the entities that are supposed to oversee them.

    T is for Terrific, because in the 20the installment of the Millhone's series, Grafton takes P.I. Kinsey Millhone through a journey of fighting evil to protect the innocent. Grafton's pace is magnificent, a page turner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Love Sue Grafton

    I always feel like I'm visiting a friend when I read Sue Grafton's work and I almost hate to come to the end of the book, because that means my visit is over. So it was with Trespass. I thoroughly enjoyed this book as I have all the others in the series. Each one of Ms. Grafton's Kinsey Millhone mysteries is a good read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    tends to get too boringly descriptive

    I have read most of her other books in this alphabet series but this was the most boring yet. You knew where the plot was going with the care giver of the elderly neighbor, so no surprise ending. Too much narrative by the lead character, Kinsey Milhone.
    I would not recommend this book to mystery enthusiasts.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    Possibly the best of the series

    I am a fan of the series, and feel that this latest book may indeed be the best of all. The very real possibility of exploitation of the elderly is treated honestly, openly, and compassionately, while maintaining the integrity of the characters that populate the series as a whole. This has been skillfully melded with the very contemporary issue of identity theft, making the reader feel just a little vulnerable and determined to be rather more careful in trusting strangers, a wise practice in these times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    Very Disappointing

    Having been a Sue Grafton fan for years, and having already read 'A' through 'S' I awaited the release of this book with great anticipation. However, this book was slow and arduous to read. Grafton's newest criminal , Sonya Rojas, is interesting, but not enough so to make this a 'page turner'. This is my least favorite of all of her books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    I've read all of the alphabet books, and this is one of the best. It does take some 'dark' turns, but that's to be expected considering the subject matter. I was both sad, and a little relieved, when the story ended. After reading it, I think you'll understand what I mean.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    why is the nook book so expensive $31.99??

    why is the nook book so expensive $31.99??

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Loved this book. One of the best so far in the series ! I ador

    Loved this book. One of the best so far in the series ! I adore Kinsey, I will be very sad when the series ends. Ms Grafton needs to keep it going.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    As with all the books in this series, I could not put this down. Sue Grafton knows how to keep you on the edge of your seat. My hope is that she writes many, many more books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Price Check

    Oddly, it costs 3 cents more to buy the 4 combined books than to buy them individually.

    Just sayin'.

    I've enjoyed the series from the very first "A" book, and hope to read it all the way through "Z"!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Still reading but great so far

    Beginning to wonder if all her injuries are going to catch up with her in old age. Wish she would get a haircut!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Best one yet!

    I have read all of the books in order, and this has been the best one by far! Couldn't wait to find out how it would end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Must read "T is for Trespass"

    I LOVE this series and I am concerned that we are nearing the end of the alphabet. This was a terrific book. It covered quite a few areas that will haunt me for awhile. Anyone with elderly family (most of us) should really take this book to heart. Again, just fabulous, and yes sad, but still fabulous. I am always sorry when I get to the end of Ms. Grafton's books. I feel like Kinsey and Henry live just around the corner and what good friends they are :>) I can't wait for our next visit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read the whole series but..................................

    I've read the whole series but...........................................................................
    This one didn't do it for me.   Ihad to force myself to finish the book.   A first for a Kinsey Millhone.   Kinsey never seems to grow and the bad guy in this was plain boring.   I was very disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Anonymous

    My absolute favorite in the series. Kinsey faces a villian who is relentless in her goals. The subplot regarding the auto accident was a relief from the tension-filled main story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked this book. It was different from the others. We

    I really liked this book. It was different from the others. We got to hear things from not only Kinsey's point of view but the villain's as well. Very well written. I also was happy that things were wrapped up more and we got to find out what happened.

    In what may be her most unsettling novel to date, Sue Grafton's T is for Trespass is also her most direct confrontation with the forces of evil. Beginning slowly with the day-to-day life of a private eye, Grafton suddenly shifts from the voice of Kinsey Millhone to that of Solana Rojas, introducing readers to a chilling sociopath. Rojas is not her birth name. It is an identity she cunningly stole, an identity that gives her access to private caregiving jobs. The true horror of the novel builds with excruciating tension as the reader foresees the awfulness that lies ahead. The suspense lies in whether Millhone will realize what is happening in time to intervene.

    Though set in the late eighties, T is for Trespass could not be more topical: identity theft; elder abuse; betrayal of trust; the breakdown in the institutions charged with caring for the weak and the dependent. It reveals a terrifying but all-too-real rip in the social fabric. Once again, Grafton opens up new territory with startling results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    Great!

    Received order very quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Love kinsey milhone

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8