Customer Reviews for

T Is for Trespass (Kinsey Millhone Series #20)

Average Rating 4
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A terrific investigative tale

In 1987 in Santa Teresa, California abrasive octogenarian Gus Vronsky suffers a shoulder separation from a fall that he cannot get up from. His next door neighbor private investigator Kinsey Millhone and her eighty-seven years old landlord Henry hear a wail. They inve...
In 1987 in Santa Teresa, California abrasive octogenarian Gus Vronsky suffers a shoulder separation from a fall that he cannot get up from. His next door neighbor private investigator Kinsey Millhone and her eighty-seven years old landlord Henry hear a wail. They investigate, find Gus debilitated, call 911 and care for him until his great-niece hires nursing home aide, Solana Rojas.--------- However, Millhone becomes concerned that the care-giver is mistreating her patient. She plans to intervene if she can find proof. Unbeknownst to Millhone (ironically the reader knows on page one) is that a diabolical thug has stolen the real Rojas┬┐ identity and knows who she must remain vigilant against with if she is to continue with her masquerade.--------- Although the ending violently rights things, this Millhone tale is T for terrific. The story line is action-packed as Millhone wants to do the right thing for her neighbor, but finds her interference not welcomed. The fake Rojas proves a clever adversary at they play a deadly game of chess in which Gus could prove the victim. Fans of the long running series will enjoy this entry as the normally confident heroine struggles with how much involvement is acceptable.------

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

tends to get too boringly descriptive

I have read most of her other books in this alphabet series but this was the most boring yet. You knew where the plot was going with the care giver of the elderly neighbor, so no surprise ending. Too much narrative by the lead character, Kinsey Milhone.
I would not rec...
I have read most of her other books in this alphabet series but this was the most boring yet. You knew where the plot was going with the care giver of the elderly neighbor, so no surprise ending. Too much narrative by the lead character, Kinsey Milhone.
I would not recommend this book to mystery enthusiasts.

posted by 995883 on January 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best ever for Grafton!

    Kinsey Millhone, the prickly star of Sue Grafton's California based alphabet series, is no slouch detective. So, when Millhone does a cursory background check on a home health aide and unwittingly places an elderly neighbor in harm's way, she feels obligated to undo the damage. The problem is that no one, especially not the neighbor's reluctant relative who hired her, wants to be bothered with the inconvenient truth.

    The villain in "T is for Trespass," an evil psychopath, is one of the best that Grafton has written. I found myself gripping the pages and worrying that Millhone might not survive this one.

    As is true in all the Grafton books, more than one case is being investigated, so that Millhone can pay her bills. The search for a missing witness to a car accident overlaps the search for the primary villain. Grafton has set the scenes in the two stories in such a way as to make the overlap seamless and absolutely believable.

    Each book in the series is set at sequential intervals in the 80s - before cell phones. This way, Kinsey Millhone gets shot at, arrested, threatened and harassed, all without backup coming anytime soon. What a life just to avoid a 9 to 5 schedule. What a ride!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Still reading but great so far

    Beginning to wonder if all her injuries are going to catch up with her in old age. Wish she would get a haircut!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked this book. It was different from the others. We

    I really liked this book. It was different from the others. We got to hear things from not only Kinsey's point of view but the villain's as well. Very well written. I also was happy that things were wrapped up more and we got to find out what happened.

    In what may be her most unsettling novel to date, Sue Grafton's T is for Trespass is also her most direct confrontation with the forces of evil. Beginning slowly with the day-to-day life of a private eye, Grafton suddenly shifts from the voice of Kinsey Millhone to that of Solana Rojas, introducing readers to a chilling sociopath. Rojas is not her birth name. It is an identity she cunningly stole, an identity that gives her access to private caregiving jobs. The true horror of the novel builds with excruciating tension as the reader foresees the awfulness that lies ahead. The suspense lies in whether Millhone will realize what is happening in time to intervene.

    Though set in the late eighties, T is for Trespass could not be more topical: identity theft; elder abuse; betrayal of trust; the breakdown in the institutions charged with caring for the weak and the dependent. It reveals a terrifying but all-too-real rip in the social fabric. Once again, Grafton opens up new territory with startling results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Same Kinsey Millhone, Different Sue Granfton

    I've read every book in the Kinsey Millhone series by Sue Grafton in order and in paperback. Each time I complete letter, I am immediately eager for the next but know it will be months before it is published. Finally, I bought the hardcover T and found myself having a difficult time jumping right into the story. I finally read it a year later on my Nook. Kinsey is the same tenacious character but the connection to 'S' was more obscure than in the past when each story reflected back on the previous case a bit more. It even seemed that Kinsey had moved farther down her timeline since S is for Silence that was normal between the books. I feel like I know Kinsey so well I can predict her next actions (not always) and if I ended up in Santa Teressa one day, I would recognize her and where she lived. What is different is what Sue Grafton decided to give Kinsey to solve in 'T'. Sue has a message she wants to deliver, a warning she want to give, a scream against wicked evil people she wants to let loose. The Prologue begins with what the Epilogue ends with. Same words. The book is different in pace and guest characters. That does not make it a book that is less interesting. It actually is a breath of fresh air as we see Kinsey more in her normal routine. All ready many of these reviews have spoiled the books story but I will still try to abstain when I say that somewhere near each of us is a Solana and a Melvin and the Fredricksons who are preying on the innocent and weak. This story has a very satisfying ending as well as tight moments of suspense. Kinsey plays catch-up a lot in this story and that, for me maker her human...so to speak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What's going to happen when...

    Sue Grafton runs out of the alphabet?! Haven't read all of them, but, yes, I enjoy her books. Perfect for escaping real life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    My Old Friend Is Back...

    I have read every book from A to T. The thing I like about this character is she is definitely very human - she gets bumped, bruised but she always manages to find the answers. I cannot wait until the next one as I look forward to spending an evening with an old friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sue at her usual

    typical Grafton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    A Timely Topic

    Sue Grafton - and her alter ego Kinsey Millhone - take on the subject of elder abuse. Kinsey, who is also working on other cases, feels called upon to rescue an elderly next-door neighbor from a 'caretaker' who has assumed a false identity and is draining the old gentleman's financial assets dry. Solana Rojas is one of the nastiest villains in this mystery series, and there are plenty of suspenseful moments. Credibility kind of falls apart toward the end, however, as Kinsey, who admittedly loves risk, gets into one dangerous situation after another, then fails to extricate herself in the obvious and logical way. A page-turner, though - I gobbled it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    would recommend

    this is the first time i have read a book by this author and i plan to read more of her books. it was very good and had a lot of action especially towards the end. would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    NICE CHANGE OF PACE

    I enjoyed reading something a little different from the other alphabet books. They are all excellent and I love Sue Grafton's way of writing. This is really 3 stories in one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3