Customer Reviews for

T2: Infiltrator

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Good Stuff

    The Terminator in this book seems like one of the best logical creations that Skynet has created thus far. Due to this and other elements, the story is well written and should please the vast majority, if not all, Terminator fans (both casual and obsessive) extensively. There has yet to be a killing machine in the Terminator saga (both in the movies and the books) that has dissapointed me. Being more than a casual fan of the Terminator series, I include Serena (the killing machine in the novel) among my favorite killing machines. I highly suggest to fans of the Terminator series to check this book out, although insist to keep an open mind and be patient, since the author inevitably satisfies all readers with a thorough explanation of his intent as the novel progresses. After reading this, I was left with an enhanced desire for more Terminator stories due to the author's ability to deliver a good one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    If you like the story you will enjoy this book.

    I picked this out mainly being that this is such a great and frightening concept. The story started a bit slow, but then picked up with insight into the future through the eyes of the machines. Also you learn a little bit about 'Arnold's' character. John takes on a stronger presence to the story as well. I am afraid that the up coming movie will leave me a little disappointed after reading this. But I'm already disappointed in finding out that James Cameron wasn't the director. :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Excellent story to pick up from T2 the movie

    This is what T3: Judgement Day should have been. I have a knack for figuring out what will happen next in a story and I was totally thrown off with this. I literally couldn't put it down (this applies to every book in this server actually: T2:Rising Storm and T2: Future War)

    Stirling makes you feel for the characters. He even makes the events completely plausible even if you've seen the movie Judgement Day. The story moves well with very few slow spots. Felt like I was watching a movie. In fact, I forwent watching TV to get thru this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    Excellent!!

    I've just finished reading "T2 Infiltrator" and have "Rising Storm" and "Future War" waiting in the wings.

    The beginning of "Infiltrator" was kind of all over the place, with the different characters and locations, but it all came together in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Disappointing And Slow...

    Taking a long time to introduce the familiar Connor characters whose operative psychologies should be long understood by any dedicated 'Terminator' fan readership, _T2: Infiltrator_ seems to thrive on displays of prolonged illogical-for-context abstract behaviors by both new and old faces. Specifically, S.M. Stirling seems to want to emphasize 'good guy' characterization to counteract self-applied labels on the part of people whose moral motives should not be important given the circumstances he drops them into (a blackops federal agent that doesn't want to arrest a 'known terrorist', a fugitive in hiding who doesn't LEAVE when the cop moves in next door etc. etc.) With about 50% of the writing taken up by what Stirling himself cutely ascribes to 'maudlin' interpersonal relations, T2:I's most interesting scenes involve the Terminators continuing literary development as thinking machines and in particular the future-war Skynet conversations with a new model, the 'I-950'. Unfortunately, the integration of cause and effect doesn't have Cameron's masterful stroke behind it (it takes 2/3rds of the book to discover that the robots are talking to each other over our VOIP networking using cellphone chips) that causes SOD to compress in on the reader for extended periods of 'wonder why' failed exposition. Of particular discomfort is the notion that while Skynet is losing the war, it chooses to waste time on an 8 year development process for 'human' cloned Terminators which are entirely undetectable in the future but in the past continue to be hated by dogs. While the climactic build is the typical roller-coaster of any thriller, the outcome seems highly convenient if not contrived in the way it allows mere humans to destroy not 1 but 6 Terminators. Saves John from three 'T-101s' (after having been shot by the worlds most powerful handgun) when a human not in their chain of command demands that they stop. And then provides for yet more unbelievable morality play leading up to Sarah Connor's recapture under conditions where interrogatin, torture and betrayal of associates is almost a given. Coming off as extreme writer's license hiding under a thin camouflage of 'fate' inherent to quantum super imposition of timelines, this book drags in the beginning and crashes, brainlessly, to an ill conceived end. _Not Recommended_.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    It's about time!!!

    I'm so glad someone finally decided to write a book about the Terminators. This one was great and fit perfectly into the Terminator story line and world of judgement day. Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2002

    A great wait until the movie

    When I picked up this book, I thought it would be another dumb Terminator rip-off. I was wrong! This book has everything. Action, Adventure, Sex (and lots of it too!), and Supense. It definiately is worthy of being the sequal to Terminator 2. The only thing that Striling has down bad is some of the dialect. Occasionally, some of the dialog from Sarah and John is really corny and stupid. But it only happens a few times. Still, great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2001

    HE IS BACK!!

    If you've been holding you're breath for a new Terminator movie then you can exhale because Skynet has unleashed a new Terminator on the world and SHE is more cunning and dangerous than anything you've ever seen before. Until T3 this is your best bet for a Terminator fix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2001

    A new good book , T2 style

    I think that this book is very good if you liked T2 you will like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    T2

    I THOUGHT IT WAS GREAT. BUY IT...OR ELSE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent T2

    In the present, Cyberdene built a computer chip to power Skynet, a military computer that eliminates the human error. Problems begin when Skynet turns sentient and attacks its former masters deeming them unfit tolive. Sarah Connor and her son have knowledge of a future where the lad will lead the human resistance against Skynet. Sarah felt that with the death of the Skynet creator and the Cyberdene complex burned to the ground, the future would change. However, the American government declares the Connors as terrorists forcing them to flee to Paraguay. <P>In 2021 John Connor, the resistance leader, tries to destroy Skynet, which has created a new weapon to end all counter insurgence. Cyborgs are attached to a neural link to send Serena back to the present to insure Skynet is built. The weapon system Serena becomes head of Cyberdene security and actively tries to kill the Connors, once agin having Sarah and John fighting for their lives and that of the future of humanity. <P> It has been about a decade since T2 hit the screen, yet S.M. Stirling captures the essence of the movie while taking it one step further beyond the icons. The story line is as exciting and fluid as the two movies so that even James Cameron will not want to terminate this series; judging it as worthy. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2