Customer Reviews for

THE AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF MARK TWAIN Nook Edition

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful, Funny, Sad and Ultimately Life Affirming

This is a beautiful autobiography which at times is also extremely sad, painfully funny, and ultimately makes you glad that you are alive and that there were people on this world like Mark Twain. Highly recommended.

posted by 6957375 on February 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Not the print version!

May be wonderful, but be warned, this is not the print version.

posted by 4756730 on February 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    Not the print version!

    May be wonderful, but be warned, this is not the print version.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    Beautiful, Funny, Sad and Ultimately Life Affirming

    This is a beautiful autobiography which at times is also extremely sad, painfully funny, and ultimately makes you glad that you are alive and that there were people on this world like Mark Twain. Highly recommended.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Excellent Autobiography by An Exceptional American Writer

    This is a true pleasure to read. In terms of wit and wisdom, Mark Twain has no parallel, even 100 years after his death. A great book for young and old alike, his life serves as a model for how a life should be lived.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    exciting and sad and funny

    the free sample has 3768 pages!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!$!$!$!$!$!$!$!$!$!$!$!$!$!$$!$!$!$!$!$!$!$!%!$

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    My sons loved it!

    After reading Tom Sawyer's adventures during xmas, I recommended my two boys 12 and 15, to read the author's autobiography. I downloaded this on their nooks (this is quite a reasonably priced version so could afford to buy two) and they really enjoyed putting things into perspective and he is a great author!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    Excellent

    Wonderful autobiography by America's most beloved author. Excellent.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    Good stuff ... definitely worth $2.99

    Good stuff ... definitely worth $2.99

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    A True American Original

    Excellent autobiography by a true American original

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    It's good, but ...

    There's no indication that the Peale biography of Twain is just 'dropped' into what appears to be the middle of the autobiography, and the autobiography ended at that point (I don't have the standard text version to compare with at this time). The "Special Nook Enabled Features" may include a non-working Table of Contents, non-adjustable text size, and some really strange pagination from about page 400 on. The error messages associated with reading (also from page 400 on) may be from my Nook, but they don't occur with other Nook books. I may try a different version of the Autobiography, without the 'Special Nook Enabled Features'; I can't, in good conscience, recommend this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Baffled

    So, call me confused but as another poster noted, the font is set to something one would expect in a nursing home for the blind and cannot be adjusted. I've run into multiple problems with the next page taking too long to load or the same page repeating over and over. Granted I only have the 3400 pages offered with the "sample" but I use the sample to determine whether I want to purchase the book and after trying to navigate this one the answer is a resounding NO. Additionally I'm still trying to figure out what exactly the special Nook features are unless they are referring to the unchangeable font, useless table of contents and non-working content search. GREAT cover though...?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    Broken

    This is a poor reproduction. The book is poorly programmed and has several reader bugs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Deep insights

    ...both of the author and his departed daughter, from whom he quotes often. As this is a scan and not a reproduction, it is often difficult to tell which is the author and which is the quote. There are a few scanning errors. You'd think they could hire someone to clean these scans up. If you love Sam Clemens, you'll love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Ugh

    Horrbile

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Great

    Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Mark Twain is one of my favorites

    I enjoy having the complete works in one volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Made me more of a fan of Mark Twain.

    Twain's life as seen by himself, his daughter, and his biographer. Not only do you get the story of Twain, but also the stories of the people who inspired many of his characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Enjoyable read if you like Mark Twain

    I enjoyed the sections that Mark Twain wrote. His biographer was bland in his writing, but Twain gave us a piece of his soul as he told of his family and how he felt along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Fantastic!

    Clemens was witty and briliant -- perhaps america's cleverist writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4