Customer Reviews for

The Bat (Harry Hole Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I liked it. I liked it a lot. He created a couple of great chara

I liked it. I liked it a lot. He created a couple of great characters in Harry Hole and Andrew Kensington. It was paced really well, and had mostly believable interactions between the characters. The flaws the characters had only made them that much more relatable. I ca...
I liked it. I liked it a lot. He created a couple of great characters in Harry Hole and Andrew Kensington. It was paced really well, and had mostly believable interactions between the characters. The flaws the characters had only made them that much more relatable. I can't wait to read more, though I know it's going to be different; if for no other reason than Harry leaves Australia to go back to Norway.

The 'fish out of water' and 'flawed man' motif's reminded me a little of Tony Hillerman's Jim Chee or William Kent Krueger's Cork O'Connor, two other wonderfully written series. Though, Harry Hole is probably more flawed than the other two. Wonderful book, I highly recommend it.

The ebook was formatted fine with no obvious errors.

posted by kamas716 on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing (I enjoyed prior Jo Nesbo / Harry Hole books)

Very disappointing (I enjoyed prior Jo Nesbo / Harry Hole books). Dialogue is stilted and unnatural. I was unable to finish the read/

posted by 5338310 on July 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked it. I liked it a lot. He created a couple of great chara

    I liked it. I liked it a lot. He created a couple of great characters in Harry Hole and Andrew Kensington. It was paced really well, and had mostly believable interactions between the characters. The flaws the characters had only made them that much more relatable. I can't wait to read more, though I know it's going to be different; if for no other reason than Harry leaves Australia to go back to Norway.

    The 'fish out of water' and 'flawed man' motif's reminded me a little of Tony Hillerman's Jim Chee or William Kent Krueger's Cork O'Connor, two other wonderfully written series. Though, Harry Hole is probably more flawed than the other two. Wonderful book, I highly recommend it.

    The ebook was formatted fine with no obvious errors.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Funny and grisly at the same time! Great writer!

    I now have to read the entire series. Love the way he writes....like watching a movie that keeps you gripped to your seat until the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    A breath of fresh air

    Jo Nesbo resucitated my faith in the genre. I had given up. I was determined not to risk to waste another single dollar buying "police misteries" anymorer, ever. Somehow I was able to listen to an audiobook of this author and have become a faithful follower ever since. It is not that it is perfect, but it is good enough to entertain my interest in a genre where millions of books from many different authors just repeat the same "vulgar" motif shamelessly over and over again, as if the same team of ghost writers were producing them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Hh

    My brother recommended this series to me and I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Liontear

    Hello.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Great read

    First book in awhile where the plot was fresh and not formulaic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Shadow

    [Didn't know anyone else in rp had read the silverwing series] Shadow landed on a tree branch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Eclipse

    A young female bat flutterd about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    DArkness

    Hello dudes?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    ↭ batclan ↭ main camp

    This is batclan main camp.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly recommend

    This was a great book to read. Very entertaining and I've already started on the third of the series. Highly recommend. I loved reading about Australia to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Character Introduction: Blind as a Bat

    Name: Sophia Robinson<p> Age: 21<p> Description: I am 6'2, blind, have long black hair, have pale skin, and am a girl.<p> Personality: I am shy have a few friends and love teaching<p> Job: A choir teacher.<p> Crush: Bruce Wayne<p> Boyfriend: none<p> Family: Unknown<p> Background/extra info: I was born blind but i can shapeshift so i usually just shift my eyes so that I can see. My seeing eye dogs are Min and Milly. Milly is really protective and usualy stays in my house. Min is the friendly one and goes with me to school, the store, any public place. I can shapeshift into anything and work as a superhero a night. (If you want any more info please leave a comment. ~Crissy Kemp)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Terrific Reading!!

    This is the first book by Jo Nesbo featuring Harry Hole that I have read and I could not put it down! I loved it!! The characters are all so interesting and the plot is a simple(?) murder case to follow. It takes Harry to another country where he seems to just fit in and help to solve the case. Plot twists and very interesting characters & sub-plots hold you to the book.
    Keep it coming Jo Nesbo!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Definitely a keeper. Well worth a read.

    Harry is very human, and very readable. I want to read more about him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful translation of a great book. High praise.

    A wonderful translation of a great book. High praise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2