Customer Reviews for

The Bat (Harry Hole Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I liked it. I liked it a lot. He created a couple of great chara

I liked it. I liked it a lot. He created a couple of great characters in Harry Hole and Andrew Kensington. It was paced really well, and had mostly believable interactions between the characters. The flaws the characters had only made them that much more relatable. I ca...
I liked it. I liked it a lot. He created a couple of great characters in Harry Hole and Andrew Kensington. It was paced really well, and had mostly believable interactions between the characters. The flaws the characters had only made them that much more relatable. I can't wait to read more, though I know it's going to be different; if for no other reason than Harry leaves Australia to go back to Norway.

The 'fish out of water' and 'flawed man' motif's reminded me a little of Tony Hillerman's Jim Chee or William Kent Krueger's Cork O'Connor, two other wonderfully written series. Though, Harry Hole is probably more flawed than the other two. Wonderful book, I highly recommend it.

The ebook was formatted fine with no obvious errors.

posted by kamas716 on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing (I enjoyed prior Jo Nesbo / Harry Hole books)

Very disappointing (I enjoyed prior Jo Nesbo / Harry Hole books). Dialogue is stilted and unnatural. I was unable to finish the read/

posted by 5338310 on July 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    So excited to meet Harry in the beginning....

    I can almost completely forgive the tendency of Nesbo to ramble on. Great read. Glad it was finally released for US fans.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tall, blonde, Scandinavian Harry. Complex and damaged but nevert

    Tall, blonde, Scandinavian Harry. Complex and damaged but nevertheless a brilliant detective. A man after my own heart. Yes, I like damaged men, even fictional ones. It's my cross to bear. Anyway, back to the point...

    A good mystery with solid characters The Bat is a first rate mystery/thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Most of the time. It meandered in places, but for the most part the book kept my attention and left me guessing on who the killer was. Like The Leopard, I think the author could have cut a few pages and it still would have been a good read.

    * I received an arc from the publisher via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    great book

    now i know why Jo Nesbo is so popular here in America.His stories started off great and are still great at keeping you reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    Norwegian Jo Nesbo ranks with Stieg Larsson, Henning Mankell, a

    Norwegian Jo Nesbo ranks with Stieg Larsson, Henning Mankell, and Jussi Adler-Olsen as one of the fine contemporary Nordic mystery writers.

    In his first novel, The Bat (1997), a young Norwegian woman living and working in Australia is brutally raped and murdered. Nesbo's burned-out detective Harry Hole (pronounced holy) is dispatched from Norway to assist the Australian authorities.

    Hole is the postmodern embodiment of the dysfunctional hero weighted down with so-called issues. But while he has been through the wars, both personally and professionally, and battles several demons, including alcoholism, he remains a highly competent, dedicated, and compassionate detective who collaborates with a group of able Australian investigators who complement each other well, despite differing personalities and skill sets. One, a philosophical and perceptive aboriginal, is perhaps more than he seems.
    Other characters include a gay clown, a prostitute and her pimp, a sleazy drug dealer, his aging hippy American mother, an aboriginal boxer, a bar manager purportedly infatuated with the victim, and Hole's likeable, sympathetic, and beautiful Swedish romantic interest, a woman readers hope will not fall prey to a vicious serial killer. This novel provides good descriptions of Sydney as well as rural areas within relative proximity. And its twists and turns plus a murderer who even differs from fictional stereotypes add to this story's complexity and helps keep readers guessing until almost the bitter end. In summing, The Bat has a thoroughly developed plot and a hero with a tragic past who battles his demons, yet manages to persevere. He is complemented by sympathetic Australian detectives and an appealing romantic interest. This novel is a highly recommended page turner for fans of the mystery genre and a welcome supplement to the superb Nordic detective fiction that has graced North America's shores in recent years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Very satisfying

    Not stop page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Yikes

    Missing an entire page! Page 177 has been omitted . What happend to proofreading?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Recommend series

    If you love murder mysteries this series is for you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Although this is the first in the Harry Hole series, it's just n

    Although this is the first in the Harry Hole series, it's just now coming to America after many of the later books have made fans of many Americans.  Luckily, this is the first book I've read in this series.  I love knowing the background of the hero before getting into the later books.  Harry Hole was a great character to read about in this book.  Alcoholic, rushing into dangerous situations, and unlucky in love, Harry pushes for results regardless of what will happen to him.




    In trouble with his Norwegian police force, Harry is sent to Australia with instructions to stay out of trouble while "looking" into the death of an woman celebrity from his homeland.  The Australian police force pairs him up with an Aboriginal policeman, who is full of historical information and strange friends.  The Australians want to find a simple single murderer, but Harry in convinced that they should be seeking a serial killer.  Meanwhile, he quickly finds a love interest that complicates his life. 




    I'm really glad I started the series here.  Really enjoyed the philosophical discussions that developed these characters.  The story development was fast passed, and developed beautifully.  Looking forward to reading all the rest of this series now that I've had an appetizing taste of this very flawed, but very compelling man named Harry Hole---pronounced Harry Holy. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    This series is excellent detective fiction, and Harry Hole is a

    This series is excellent detective fiction, and Harry Hole is a fascinating, bedeviled character.
    Alas, this long awaited first in the series is not quite as good as the rest, but for Nesbo fans, a must read.

    The crimes are

    brutal, so much so that I nearly put down the first I read (The Snowman--alas we are bound by the vagaries of translation and late publication in the US), but the whole is so well done that I soldiered on.
    Great reward. I haven't missed a one in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    A good intro to Jo Nesbo and Harry Hole.

    This is my first Jo Nesbo book and I was pleased. Harry Hole is an interesting new character for me. The characters and situations are believable, even if some good folks get killed off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1