Customer Reviews for

THE COMPLETE SHERLOCK HOLMES & TALES OF TERROR AND MYSTERY (Special Nook Edition) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Including Study in Scarlet Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes The Hound of the Baskervilles Return of Sherlock Holmes & More!

Average Rating 4.5
( 1012 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(764)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

250 out of 253 people found this review helpful.

Baker Street Logic

I grew up reading, watching and even pretending to be Sherlock Holmes. Indeed, later I when I studied in London, I even got a flat in Baker Street! Needless to say, I am a die hard Holmes fan. I have the entire collection of his book in various hardcover and paperbac...
I grew up reading, watching and even pretending to be Sherlock Holmes. Indeed, later I when I studied in London, I even got a flat in Baker Street! Needless to say, I am a die hard Holmes fan. I have the entire collection of his book in various hardcover and paperback formats, but for $2.99 I decided, why not give this a try. Great choice.

This volume is truly excellent, and it is a joy to be able to carry around all of his stories to read whenever I want, and which does not weigh almost anything and has almost no bulk.

Highly recommended.

posted by Aakif_A on February 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

137 out of 140 people found this review helpful.

Great other than the font and spacing

Great price for all the Sherlock Holmes stories. My only complaint is takes a while to load on the nook everytime you open the book and that the font and text size cannot be changed. With the double spacing you are turning a page every 1-2 minutes.

posted by JeffreyF on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 764 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    Baker Street Logic

    I grew up reading, watching and even pretending to be Sherlock Holmes. Indeed, later I when I studied in London, I even got a flat in Baker Street! Needless to say, I am a die hard Holmes fan. I have the entire collection of his book in various hardcover and paperback formats, but for $2.99 I decided, why not give this a try. Great choice.

    This volume is truly excellent, and it is a joy to be able to carry around all of his stories to read whenever I want, and which does not weigh almost anything and has almost no bulk.

    Highly recommended.

    250 out of 253 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    The Best Holmes Collection on the Nook store!

    This volume not only has the COMPLETE Sherlock Holmes stores and Novels, but also has the complete Tales of Terror and Mystery. This is enough to keep any reader busy for at least a few months :)

    205 out of 210 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    EXCELLENT!

    This is a must for all Sherlock Holmes fans. The book contains a great table of contents which is fully interactive so I can get to every single story of every single book within seconds!

    182 out of 184 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Excellent Collection Works Flawlessly on Nook

    This is a great collection of all the Sherlock Holmes stories which works flawlessly on the Nook. The pictures add a great dimension to the stories and I like the fact that the navigation works without any problems.

    179 out of 179 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Contains all the Sherlock Holmes Stories and the Tales of Terror and Mystery

    I was familiar with Sherlock Holmes but not so much with Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Tales of Terror and Mystery. I found the latter to be just as fun to read as the former.

    Recommended for all mysery fans.

    169 out of 171 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    Excellent!

    Highly recommended. Will provides for weeks of pleasurable reading.

    158 out of 163 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    Truly Comprehensive Collection

    A must for all fans of Sherlock Holmes and the mystery genre.

    153 out of 156 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Excellent and Great Value

    I highly recommend this to all detective and mystery fans. A true classic.

    151 out of 152 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    It is the perfect gift!!!!

    I always loved Sherlock Holmes stories. This book which has it all on my Nook was the best gift from my partner. Thanks for putting it together in such a user friendly way

    145 out of 146 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    I would give it 100 stars if I could!

    It is too bad that Barnes and Noble only has a five star scale. I would give this 100 stars if I could ... if you are a fan of detective stories then this is THE book for you. I absolutely love it on my Nook.

    144 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    An Incredible Bargain

    This is one of the best bargains I have seen in quite awhile. Not only does this contain the equivalent of 10 books, but it is priced lower than the cost of a single paperback.

    Incredible bargain.

    143 out of 144 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    I'm lovin it

    Great stuff and a great bargain!

    142 out of 143 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Outstanding ... It's Elementary My Dear

    Mr Dear Watson, this is the Sherlock Holmes book to get on the Nook. It's elementary!

    141 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    Very happy with purchase

    This is a massive book that contains ALL the Sherlock Holmes stories in a single volume. Needless to say, it will keep me busy for awhile.

    140 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    This is THE Sherlock Holmes to get

    The navigation is simple and the stories are all first class. There are even some illustrations and the Tales of Terror and Mystery were a very nice and surprising discovery for me. Five stars from me!

    139 out of 140 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Worthwhile addition to my nook collection

    I just bought this, no problems downloading or navigating. It's a great price for such a large collection and I know I will be spending many evenings enjoying reading these masterful stories once again.

    138 out of 139 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    Very fast delivery and works flawlessly on my Nook color

    Excellent purchase, highly recommended.

    138 out of 139 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Nice Interactive Table of Contents

    Navigation works very well on this Nookbook. What I like is that I can use both the Nook goto as well as the Table of contents page that links to every book.

    136 out of 136 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Best detectives stories

    I actually like Watson more (maybe because of Jude Law!).
    This book is such a great value and so well navigable on the nook. Would highly recommend it to all the Watson and Sherlock lovers

    136 out of 137 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Best Sherlock Holmes Collection in the Nookstore

    Five stars!

    136 out of 139 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 764 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 39