Customer Reviews for

THE COMPLETE SHERLOCK HOLMES & TALES OF TERROR AND MYSTERY (Special Nook Edition) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Including Study in Scarlet Adventures of Sherlock Holmes Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes The Hound of the Baskervilles Return of Sherlock Holmes

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Excellent

    This is defintely one of my favorite books. It is the perfect example of what can happen from blind obedience. This is defintely a book that I would recommend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    Great Book- Highly Recommended!

    Animal Farm is an interesting and timeless novel. This book is about the revolution against Mr. Jones by his farm animals. In the story Mr. Jones has lost his interest in taking proper care of his farm. Often times he is stingy with the amount of food he gives the animals and is very abusive to them with his whip. The animals are fed up with this treatment and decide to band together so they can revolt against Mr. Jones. They are convinced that they could run the farm ten times better than Jones. Lucky for the animals they succeeded in their act of getting Jones off the farm. The animals were working together in harmony to take care of the farm. But sadly this did not last long. The most intelligent animals on the farm were the pigs. The pig that stood out the most was Napoleon. It was clear that he would kill anyone who stood against him at any cost. The pigs became the ultimate power on the farm. It came to the point that the pigs were doing less and less work on the farm, leaving it to everyone else to have to worry about. Napoleon wanted the fear he had instilled in the animals to make them want to work harder and think in doing so he wouldn't brutally kill them. He also used the fear he had in the other animals to keep them from believing in Snowball. Snowball was another pig who was on the farm until Napoleon drove him away. I think that Snowball was the only capable leader the farm could have had. But since he had been driven off the farm Napoleon was left in charge of everything. Whenever Napoleon wanted something he would twist his words in a way that would either confuse the others into thinking that it was the right thing to do or he would twist the truth to make it sound good. One thing that was really unfair was that the pigs got more food than everyone else, even though they were barely working (if at all). The pigs knew all the rules since they had been the ones who had written them in the first place. So I believe it was out of pure greediness that they broke every single one of the rules. The pigs became more and more like the humans they had overthrown; for example, they even started to sleep in the farm house. Animal Farm is a great book that teaches a very important lesson that can be used in many everyday situations and can be showed in other events from the past.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Good book

    Great story, a bit short, but awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Gorge Orwell's satire of the Russian Rebellion is a brillant book about communism and how it looks very appealing when said or written down but it doesn't work out the way it was penned

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Not complete. Does not contain the casebook and other stories.

    Not complete. Does not contain the casebook and other stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Goodd

    Not si good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Hannah Ward

    A beautifully crafted work of satire, bitterness, freedom and reality in a brutal battle for the ownership of Animal Farm. Napoleon makes a gloriously hate-able antagonist, lusting after power with no regard to the comfort of others (just as his human counterpart did). The style is intelligent but simple, with incredible clarity and power. Characters seem familiar, with clear flaws and strengths, making them both believable and easy to relate to. The style allows you to view from the outside what the insiders cannot realize, giving you unique insight to the crumbling society. When blood is shed you feel the pain when the battle won your heart rejoices, and as the civilization crumbles, you sit and wish to tell the animals, warn them of the horrors to come. The ending is poignant and powerful, a death blow in more ways than one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Inot fantastic

    This book reminds me of planet of the apes......but with pigs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Animal Farm

    Animal Farm is a story by George Orwell, loosely based on true events revolving around the Russian revolution. It's about a large group of mistreated animals, who have taken over the English farm, once belonging to drunk Farmer Jones, and turned it into a Utopia they called Animal Farm, a place where all animals are equal. However, it all falls apart for the animals when one of their own kind turns into their worst enemy. I can't tell you what happens to the animals, you'll have to find out for yourself. For an English assignment, I was to read a novel, and Animal Farm was one of the options. As an animal lover, I was captivated with the title and chose that book. I was unsure what to expect when I first opened the cover, foolishly thinking it would be a cutesie sort of fairy-tale book, but I was surprised to discover that it was not only a dark and depressing tale, with blood and betrayal, but it was also quite an eye-opener to me on how easy it is for us to fall into the same trap those poor animals fell into. For that reason, and the fact is has animals for the main characters, it became one of my favorite books, and it still is. However, one of the negative points I need to mention was that at some parts I was very confused, especially at points when that fat porker, Squealer, was speaking; I simply couldn't tell the difference between a truth and a lie when a speech went flowing from his mouth, and he still confuses me. I guess he really is a ¿brilliant talker¿. It also annoyed me when no quotation marks surrounded Squealer's speech when he was talking to the animals at one point, I just couldn't tell if it was the truth or not, but it is in third-person, so I guess it doesn¿t really matter. My copy has a preface by ¿Russell Baker¿, which talks about the story behind Animal Farm, and an introduction, which gave me a good idea what to expect in the story. If you have an English assignment due involving picking out a novel and Animal Farm is one of your options, I suggest you go pick Animal Farm, for it was an eye-opener for me. However, don't be fooled by the title like I was; it may look like a cute kid story, but as you read more, you'll find it's much deeper and more intelligent than it seems, but I think teens and adults would enjoy it like I have.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    Recommended!

    When I started reading the novel Animal Farm, I actually did not want to read past the first chapter. Now that I have read the book from front to back, I am glad I did continue reading. It is an interesting book. As you probably know it is indeed about animals on a farm. There are just a few things that different compared to a typical farm. The animals are not just different, they are majorly different. The animals act just like humans, taking care of the farm! While reading this novel, just as I have said, I did not want to continue reading after the first chapter. This is because the first chapter stated it was about a drunken farmer who did not care for his animals properly. However, while this is true, it is not at all what I thought it would be. This novel is actually a book about how the animals feel when the farmer does not care for them properly. It is a book about what the animals do to get out of their situation. If I were an animal that was mistreated, the answer to my problems would not be in this book. I think the author is trying to show how animals are mistreated and how they should be cared for properly, not how mistreated animals will act. It really surprised me that the animals took over the farm and started farming it. They were able to run the farm better than the farmer did and get a better share of food and supplies. While all this seems impossible it was not on Animal Farm! The end of the book really caught me dumbfounded. First I did not like the book, and then it got very interesting. Next it actually ended up about where it started in the first place. There was no more animal cruelty, but the pigs of the farm basically took over the position of the farmer. They commanded all of the animals what to do. They lived in the farmhouse. And worst of all, they drank the farmers beer! There was no cruelty left, but there was still bad things going on within the farm. This is not the very end of the novel however. I will let you read the end for yourself. If there was still a farmer over the farm, it would not be much different. I think the author of this novel is only trying to say he is against animal Cruelty. If you do not have an opinion on animal cruelty, I would strongly suggest reading this novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Stuped

    How ever is writing that essay is stuped

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Great Read

    Animal Farm
    Animal Farm is a stunning novel by George Orwell with a message that will last forever. It will never lose its shine. Animal Farm is the story of a group of over-worked, exhausted animals that decide to rebel against their masters, the parasitical humans. They do rebel, winning their freedom. But soon, the treat of tyranny hangs over their brilliant democracy.
    Animal Farm was written in a simple word style. The words are used sparsely, just enough to convey the basic message, just enough to hint at the true meaning. Although this writing style would seem awkward or blunt in less experienced hands, George Orwell uses his experience and his skill to make it shine. And it does shine, making the book simple, but yet complex, and easy to read, but still challenging. Orwell makes every word count.
    The characters in the story were flawless. They were made believable, even though they could have seemed fake and cliché. Napoleon's personality could have come across as openly tyrannical, but instead, his personality was allowed to develop into being tyrannical. This made his greed for power a little bit more surprising and gave him more depth. George Orwell was a master at writing the characters to be flawed, but yet not too flawed. Boxer was shown to be not the brightest bulb, but yet Orwell gave him a confidence and a hard working personality. This gave him a balance that made him seem real. Orwell gave all his characters a careful balance between their good and bad traits that made the characters seem real.
    The plot line behind Animal Farm was simple, but steady. The plot ran smoothly, going from the rebellion to overthrow the humans, to the eventual downfall of the farm. At first, the book seemed like it should have ended after a certain event, but it does not. But as the reader reads more, they see why the plot line was not stopped after that event. After that event, the gradual destruction of the farm was portrayed artfully, as rules were broken and "rewritten", animals were killed unjustly and the democracy of the farm was broken. This part made the book to be celebrated book, because of how it warns people of what happens when people are not educated, follow leaders blindly, and many other things. If it were not for this part, Animal Farm would never encompass so much, never be so popular.
    Overall, Animal Farm was artfully written with graphic eloquence and time-standing prose. It portrayed many things and give the reader a picture of many evils that can sprout from greed, power, and lack of education. The characters were molded to perfection because of their imperfections and perfections. The writing style was simple in a way that was just perfect for the story line. The plot was well done, a steady train that stays on the train tracks. Animal Farm is truly a classic novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Animal Farm Review

    Animal Farm Review
    The book Animal Farm starts out like any other book. So peaceful and nice and quiet. The setting of this book takes place on a nice farm in England. It starts off with Old Major talking of something big that will happen before the animals on the farm even know it. The animals on the farm begin to think of what there life would be like without the abusive owners of Manor Farm. They all decided that they would take control of the farm and be free. Then before they even realize what they have done, they are on their own. The "Big event " that the old pig had spoken of before had happened and the animals didn't know until everyone had left. The animals changed the name from Manor Farm to Animal Farm. That is how the book starts off. There were many important things that happened on the book. In order would be the farmer leaving the farm in a funny sort of way. This part is what changed the whole story and made it even more interesting. Once there farmer left they had to find a new leader to be in control of the farm. The story would have turned out to be very different if the animals hadn't found a leader. Another important event would be the making of The Seven Commandments. The Seven Commandments were mostly about not doing the same as the humans would do. The farm had two leaders. One of the leaders felt threatened by the other and had him chased off the farm. Now they had a new leader who was just like the farmer in so many ways but he was an animal. With the new leader they worked as hard as they did when the farmer was there. They did work on the fields while the leader and his little group bossed them around and did nothing. The animals had many problems throughout this story. The animals were also being deceived by there new leader. The Seven Commandments had been changed to suit the leader and his followers. The rest of the animals who couldn't read very well were told that they must have forgotten part of the commandment. The leader also said that the reason he did not work in the fields was because he had documents and papers to fill out. The truth was he and the others did nothing and bossed the others around. I found this new leader to be selfish and cruel. He never does any work and lies. The animals could not figure out whether or not they were better off with the farmer or not. It seemed all the same. It was like instead of having a human that treated them badly for a leader is was an animal. The only difference was that if an animal was secretly involved with any of the former leaders they were killed in front of the other animals. Overall I think that this book was amazing. I loved it. George Orwell did an awesome job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Think Demov Think democratic!

    Wow. Great book. George does a great job explaining democracy. From a srventh graders veiw this book is a little violent. I've read almost all of it and it gets kind of scarey and corrupted. Were they trying democracy or just trying to become like "real" people?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Animal farm is a good book but i honestly think the ending could of been better, i really enjoyed reading the book exept that the animals never were free and always did work as slaves"/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    book review

    Jeronimo Grassi
    Mrs. Pulitano
    3:11
    Animal Farm Review

    Animal farm starts out like any other book quiet and piece full. The book takes place on a imaginary farm in England. The animals on this farm start to wonder what would happen if they were the owners and masters of the farm. So they come up with the conclusion to take over the farm and run it their selves. So when they catch the farmer not paying attention they strike him and run him off the farm then they change the name of the farm from" Manor farm to Animal farm". and that is how the book started. I think that the start of the book should of begun with the animals posting the farm rules on the side of the barn and then a flashback into how they ran the farmer off the farm
    In the novella Animal farm there were many important events. The first event I'm going to talk about is when the animals ran Mr. Jones off the farm. Once the farmer was gone this changed everything in the story. Because once there is no leader, another leader will rise and order everyone around but to have a good future in the book the right leader has to rise not just anyone. The second important event that happened is when the animal (mostly the pigs) set the rules up on the side of the barn. Most of the rules are about animals being animals and not acting and doing the same as humans. Then the pigs start to break the rules one by one so that the other animals wouldn't notice but by the end of the book the pigs turn out to be exactly like the humans.
    In the novella Animal farm there are a few parts that I would change. The first part I would change is when the animals put up the farm rules I would put that in the beginning and then I would make a flashback explaining how the animals took over the farm. The second thing that I would change about Animal farm is that when Napoleon starts to break the rules I would put that all the animals would start to complain and ask why he is the only one with special treatment and why they cant be like humans too.
    This has been my book review on the novella Animal farm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    What?

    Yo, its called a review, not an essay. You pretty much ruined the story for me. Thanks a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Pretty good...

    I thought the book was good but could have more information revealed. It had an ok ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Check this book out

    Animal Farm is an outstanding book and I enjoyed reading it. Its probably one of the best books George Orwell has ever written. Animal Farm is about animals that are tired of being treated horribly by their farmer Mr. Jones. The animals have a meeting together and decide to revolt against Mr. Jones. They force Mr. Jones off their farm and now they must take care of each other. The animals must also try to run the farm their selves. The animals go through a lot of different conflicts throughout the story. The pigs on animal farm try to take control of the other animals and they force them to do work around the farm. Napoleon is the leader of all the animals and it's obvious that all the pigs don't care about the other animals working on the farm. One example that shows that the pigs don't care is they begin to kill most of the animals on the farm. Napoleon is the leader behind all these killings only because he doesn't want the animals to believe in snowball so he wants the animals to be afraid. I believe Napoleon was threatened by snowball and he knew he would be a better leader. That's why he had snowball chased off the farm so he could be the only leader figure for the animals. Napoleon was a corrupt leader and manipulated all the animals so they could do all his work. It's just obvious how much the pigs don't care about the other animals. I find the pigs to be very selfish and careless. Another example that the pigs don't care about the other animals is the pigs take advantage of them and they get treated better. The pigs got to kick back and watch the animals do all their work. The pigs manipulated Boxer and he had to work the hardest. The pigs got to eat more food and they even drank alcohol. The pigs knew that the animals had set rules but since the pigs felt that they wee the boss of the others they broke ever single rule. The pigs even did business with humans when the humans are suppose to be the animals enemies. Napoleon and the other pigs clearly showed that they didn't care for the other animal. Animal farm overall is an outstanding book I enjoyed every page of it. This book teaches a great lesson and could be applied to everyday life. I hope many other people can enjoy this book like I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Highly recommended- check it out today

    Animal farm is an intriguing and enthralling novel. It shows knowledgeable, wise, and bold words. The style of the book is incomparable and shows that the author knew what he was talking about. And it too shows that he knew how to approach the reader to show them what the purpose behind the novel was. The tone of the novel was very neutral and calm because it only explained and described the feelings of the animals and the setting. Mainly the mood of the one telling the story was not happy but just in the middle. The content of the book is a bunch of farm animals that are willing to fight for their freedom. Animal farm is about an average farm with animals that are willing to do anything to get rid of their abusive and non caring oppressive owner. The animals finally find courage to take down Mr. Jones and try to manage the farm by themselves. As time goes by the pigs get the animals thinking that they can control what they do. The animals go through a series of events that slowly give you the idea of what the author wants the reader to understand .One event that really shows that the pigs don't really care about the farm animals is when the pigs kill off, most of the farm animals. This was only done because "COMRADE" Napoleon didn't want any animal on the farm to be guided or have a false belief that Snowball, his rival is better than him. Napoleon believed that is was best for the animals to die than for them to get an idea that snowball was still good. This showed that Napoleon wanted to keep Snowball as far away so he could have the barn to himself and could be the only one that acted like a leader. When Napoleon started drinking and buying alcohol that confused most of the animals because they thought animals weren't suppose drink any alcoholic beverages. Some animals questioned themselves but Napoleon reassured them that it was for good and that only he and his pigs could drink alcoholic drinks. After a couple days the pigs were lowering the food rations for all the animals on the farm. A couple of animals slowly noticed that napoleon and his pig group were eating and drinking more. Based on all these two events I think that napoleon did not care about the farm animals. Napoleon was only using the farm animals to eat well and have a good non working life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4