Customer Reviews for

THE COMPLETE WORKS OF PLATO (Special Nook Edition) FULL COLOR ILLUSTRATED VERSION: All the Works of Plato in a Single Volume!) The Apology The Republic The Laws and Other Classics of Greek Philosophy (Socrates) NOOKbook (COMPLETE WORKS COLLECTION)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

it's real

wow... i find already all the works of Plato in this book.. his biography and his works that will help to my study..

posted by 8429901 on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Useless as a Study Tool

Plato is studied using a standardised paragraph numbering system. This allows students and scholars to quickly locate passages regardless of the text edition or translation. Without the standard paragraph numbering, a translation is useless as a study tool. This collect...
Plato is studied using a standardised paragraph numbering system. This allows students and scholars to quickly locate passages regardless of the text edition or translation. Without the standard paragraph numbering, a translation is useless as a study tool. This collection doesn't have it.

posted by FugereTextus on July 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    it's real

    wow... i find already all the works of Plato in this book.. his biography and his works that will help to my study..

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    i salute

    Plato is the famous philosopher of all the philosophies.. all his works gains knowledge that can help to manipulate our life in a right way..

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    excellent

    Excellent collection of all works of Plato a great philosopher of all times..

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    gain knowledge

    this collection of works of the famous philosopher is best book that can gain knowledge of our children and also in the future generation..

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Useless as a Study Tool

    Plato is studied using a standardised paragraph numbering system. This allows students and scholars to quickly locate passages regardless of the text edition or translation. Without the standard paragraph numbering, a translation is useless as a study tool. This collection doesn't have it.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Excellent as a study tool

    As good as the book i read in college several years ago. No numeing system but who cares when all of plato's works are in your hand for 3 dollars. Just cite the page number and add a note in your nook if you are using it for your studies.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Horribly organized and I don't need an intro to every single part of the book!

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    An Excellent Translation of Western Philosophy's Seminal Works

    Of greatest importance to this review is the content generated by Benjamin Jarrett, i.e. his translations of and introductions to Plato's works, since Plato's works are long established in their texts and in their significance to Western Civilization.

    I cannot speak to Jarrett's introductions, because I did not read them. I get bogged down in introductions, in general, and lose interest before I can read the primary text, which I wanted to read in the first place. As for these introductions, the most important information is that which sets the stage in Athenian culture for a given dialogue. For my purposes, what I don't know about Athenian life during Plato's time can be discovered by the Nook's "Lookup" feature. Jarrett's interpretations are less interesting to me; I would rather simply read Plato's text and draw my own conclusions.

    As to Jarrett's translation, I have read the Apology in Greek and find that his translation has much of the feel and character of Plato's writing. In fact, if I have a complaint about Jarrett, it is that he sometimes tries too hard to force Greek grammar on an English language in which it does not fit, e.g. infinitives as the main verbs in subordinate clauses. Very occasionally he will also use a dated English word, i.e. "tiring" (short for attiring) rather than "fashion" or "couture" which would more contemporarily translate the same Greek word(s).

    As to Plato's text, he provides the bulk of our contemporary information about Socrates. Some say that he presents an idealized image of Socrates, but I find his characterization very human. If he does present an idealized image, I assert it is in the Apology and Crito (a dialogue between Socrates and his good friend Crito while the former is in prison awaiting execution) in which Socrates is presented as remarkably at peace with his approaching death. This is consistent with his philosophy, as set forth in the Gorgias and elsewhere, but is much harder to live out than to believe. That said, Plato's characterization largely harmonizes with Xenophon's description of Socrates' Apology, the other contemporaneous source for Socrates.

    I assert that Plato's Socrates, far from being an idealistic "Sun God" (as some describe him), is guilty of frequent logical fallacies, chiefly creating false dilemmas. These arise from a tendency to universalize inappropriately from specific cases. He also occasionally falls victim to equivocation regarding key concepts in his dialogues. A prime example arises in an extensive discussion in Gorgias with Polus regarding whether a person who does bad things and gets away with it is happier than a person unjustly punished. Polus even alludes to the equivocation, but neither pursues the issue. It seems to me that Socrates defines happiness as a sense of ethical well being which derives from an objective or de ontological standard. Polus, on the other hand, defines happiness as a subjective, emotional sense of contentment or positive feeling. As a result, they spend significant time talking past each other.

    Whatever faults I may find with Plato's Socrates, he is undeniably a source of wisdom and, through his inquiries, he began a process of trying to determine what comprises the well-lived life. While Plato's Socrates often seems unable to resolve with his dialogue partners what is and what is not "the good", he helps us frame a discussion which can get us closer to deciding how these elements ought to fit into our lives.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended -- The Gold Standard

    This volume of the complete works of Plato uses the translations done by Benjamin Jowett. The Jowett translations into English are used as the reading material for the classes about Plato's writings in most American universities. The university courses usually assign a hardbound edition. This epub edition is much more convenient than the very heavy hardbound format. I'd much rather carry my nook with all my other related course materials loaded along with this textbook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Very satisfying to the mind.

    There isn't any problems I've found so far. I am enjoying this quite a bit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Perfect

    Great format for Nook Simple Touch

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Human bean January,3,2012

    This is the bom!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    Nice,,,, Great...!

    Nice,,,, Great...!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Wingstar

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Shadow

    He pads in warily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    To Wingstar

    Can you help me develop some sort system to advertise for active cats here? Please. Shadowheart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Hawkfyre

    Cool. Ok i saw last post. Walks out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2