Customer Reviews for

Tilt-a-Whirl (John Ceepak Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This is good, really good.

The story is an honest mystery not a romance book as so many titles are lately. The plot is fresh. The characters seem real--they change and grow.
The narrator is a part-time, nonprofessional police officer. The chief investigator is an ex-military police officer who ha...
The story is an honest mystery not a romance book as so many titles are lately. The plot is fresh. The characters seem real--they change and grow.
The narrator is a part-time, nonprofessional police officer. The chief investigator is an ex-military police officer who has been recruited by his former military comrade, now Chief of Police. The setting is a small New Jersey beach and tourist community on the ocean. The reported crimes include murder, kidnapping and tricycle theft.
I very much enjoyed this story and urge you to read it.

posted by 595439 on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

Good Read, I enjoy the characters.

posted by BettyG76 on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    A fast read with good characters in a decent story. A worthy se

    A fast read with good characters in a decent story. A worthy series keeping you wanting to read more. Definitely a good summer read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    recommended

    Fun quick read. Good sense of humor. Great depiction of typical boardwalk shops and summer at the shore.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Really enjoyed this.

    Tried this new (to me) author and liked his style. I really like thetwo main characters-Danny and Ceepak- and hope he keeps writing for them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    A Very Enjoyable Read

    The author brings an entertaining assortment of characters to life: from the seedy underclass to the ultra-rich; a part-time, inexperienced cop paired with a heroic cop in the John Wayne mold; and the various and sundry citizens that live in a summer resort town in New Jersey. The thread that ties them all together is the story's narrator, who keeps you chuckling with his hilarious descriptions and observations, long after you've turned the pages. Speaking of turning pages, the many plot twists and turns, shocks and surprises will keep you flipping them for more. A very enjoyable read, indeed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Easy to read, hard to put down.

    This book has twists I did not expect and a rather jarring last look at the "victim".

    Even though I usually don't, I liked the 3rd person narration of the story.

    I also enjoyed getting to know Ceepak. Hope you do, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great read!

    This book was really good. So many twists and turns. I thought I figured out who the killer was, and then it changed over and over. When they revealed who the killer was I was like WHAT? i didn't see that one coming. Good book. I'm going to read his other books as well. Glad my friend got me this book! I recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Great first novel! Read it and enjoy!

    I have read subsequent novels and enjoyed them equally. Light reading and highly entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Got this book for my nook because I grew up summers on the Jerse

    Got this book for my nook because I grew up summers on the Jersey shore. It was like being there again. (without the bodies or course)
    John Ceepak and his rookie buddy Danny are perfect. I got all the other books too. Loved them all. Interesting characters, good mystery and of course the jersey turnpike and the Parkway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I had no problem getting engrossed in this book I love a good series. Tons of humor and a story thatbkeeps you guessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Very Good

    I enjoyed this book -- held my interest from the very first page and I loved the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    Good Read

    Nice escape to the jersey shore.
    The story is told through Danny's eyes. Danny is a summer police officer (no weapon). He follows Ceepak (a seasoned officer through a murder investagation and mystery, while learning from him. Full of surprises. I never saw the ending coming. Good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    good read

    Enjoyable !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Liked it.

    A good page-turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Good read.

    Good overall read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyed this book.

    This is the first of a series and I enjoyed it so much I quickly read the next two and intend to follow the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Good mystery

    Chris Grabenstein was recommended by another author Carolyn Rose and I agree with her, great read and there are more in this series to keep me entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    Tilt-A-Whirl a Wild Ride

    There are a lot of twists and turns in the case, as befits a book with this title. Once I got caught up in the story, and the voice of Danny, who narrates the tale, I found it very enjoyable and a lot of fun. But there's danger here as well, and threats, real and perceived, and a lot of good stuff for the mystery fan who likes to try to figure things out before the pros do. This debut novel by Chris Grabenstein is a delightful cozy, one that is a fast read and keeps the reader guessing right up until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2