Customer Reviews for

Torment - A Novel Of Dark Horror

Average Rating 4
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I dont know

What all the people below who said this is a bad book are talking about but this is a good book. It may be a little long on talk in the beginning but once it gets going it doesnt let up. Kind of a cross between robert mccammons swan song and brian keenes zombie trilogy...
What all the people below who said this is a bad book are talking about but this is a good book. It may be a little long on talk in the beginning but once it gets going it doesnt let up. Kind of a cross between robert mccammons swan song and brian keenes zombie trilogy.

posted by 6408752 on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!

Actually the worst book i have EVER read - a very disjointed and confusing story that attempts to mix post apocalyptic earth with the saving graces of faith.

Totally unbelieveable and and absolutely a waste of my time.

Set your money on fire and watch it burn - it...
Actually the worst book i have EVER read - a very disjointed and confusing story that attempts to mix post apocalyptic earth with the saving graces of faith.

Totally unbelieveable and and absolutely a waste of my time.

Set your money on fire and watch it burn - it will be more entertaining and you won't regret it as much

I am only sad I cannot give this a negative star

posted by PaladinGC on November 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    I dont know

    What all the people below who said this is a bad book are talking about but this is a good book. It may be a little long on talk in the beginning but once it gets going it doesnt let up. Kind of a cross between robert mccammons swan song and brian keenes zombie trilogy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    Zombies with a twist

    Let me tell you first that I am not a Zombie fan. TORMENT is a Zombie-like novel. The zombies are not stupid or slow but people who are tormented (get it) by what they are doing.

    There's action aplenty and a fast pace to the storytelling. War. Space. Zombies. Action. Religion. Nudity.

    Oh, and by the way there's a nice twist at the end.

    I recommend it and can't wait for the next one. Bishop is one to watch.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!

    Actually the worst book i have EVER read - a very disjointed and confusing story that attempts to mix post apocalyptic earth with the saving graces of faith.

    Totally unbelieveable and and absolutely a waste of my time.

    Set your money on fire and watch it burn - it will be more entertaining and you won't regret it as much

    I am only sad I cannot give this a negative star

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    Let the TORMENT begin

    There's a common theme in apocalyptic fiction, and I don't mean the obligatory end of almost all life on earth, the collapse of civilization, or the constant threat of danger to the survivors. No, I'm talking about human drama. Whether it's The Stand or Night of the Living Dead, what captures our interest is the way that ordinary people will behave when everything familiar is swept away and they are thrust into a completely alien environment--alien not just to them, but also to those of us on the other side of the fourth wall. In his debut novel, TORMENT, Jeremy Bishop gives us plenty of all of the above. The story follows Mia Durante, the fiancé of a US Marine sniper whose apparent involvement in a plot to assassinate a world leader has brought the world to the brink of total war...did I say to the brink? Well, I don't think it's a spoiler to say that maybe things go just a wee bit over the brink. Mia's quest to learn more about her fiancé's fate puts her in the right place at the right time to survive the initial phase of the apocalypse, but of course the interesting stuff is what happens afterward. Bishop doesn't belabor the human drama, but there's just enough to make us care about Mia and her comrades. Where TORMENT really shines is in the action scenes, where the dwindling ranks of the survivors are harried by the creepiest and most imaginative army of undead monsters I've ever seen in prose. What makes them creepier than most? I don't want to give too much away, but let's just say that they do more than just moan, snarl and consume human flesh. TORMENT is not without its flaws however. Bishop's style has all the subtlety of a sledgehammer that's been wrapped in concertina wire. That isn't necessarily a bad thing, but it's a serious liability in the first 1/3 of the novel. The setup here, for both the characters and the end of the world, is a Rube Goldberg contraption of contrivances that requires more suspension of disbelief than the otherworldly scenario that follows. If you're as nitpicky as I am, my advice is just go with it; don't think. Once the unkillable undead start coming out the woodwork, TORMENT will delight you.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book is amazing!

    One of the best things about reading is finding those few gems, books that catch you off-guard and blow you away. This is one of those books. The action starts early on and just never lets up, this is truly a "can't put it down" book. At first I was simply amused and entertained by (what I was calling) the "apologetic zombies" but as the book went on I realized there was much more to it than that. I stayed up way too late reading this on more than one night, and didn't want it to end. The ending itself is quite awesome too. Will be eagerly looking forward to more by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Not the best book I have read. The twist at the end is just as c

    Not the best book I have read. The twist at the end is just as confusing as the entire story. If there is a second I'm not buying. Sorry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Wow!

    A fantastically original spin on the zombie genre. It is a relentless adrenaline rush that left me exhausted. It has one of the most messed up, creeptastic endings I've ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    This book is so good when I read it the first time I wanted to r

    This book is so good when I read it the first time I wanted to read it again, because it scared me and made me think at the same time, I will never look at a pond the same way again, it is well written, the story line is so good, Torment has every thing you want it a Horror book .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Ok.

    Begining was ok. Not really plausable. The plot was good but became tiresome to read in the end. Not a bad read. Good character development. Not worth a second "look". I like reading really good books over and over.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Worst ever

    The worst, absolutely worst ever. Shame on you Jeremy Robinson for writing this while hiding behind a pen name.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Could not put it down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Great book

    Loved loved it! Couldnt stop reading it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Great book I can't wait for the next

    This book was none stop action from start to finish great twist. Read it in two days could not put it down. Only for work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    great book

    i loved this book i cant wait. for the wtiter to erite more books, ver fast paced I could not put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    Great

    While some of it was implausible , I really connected to the characters and story line. Did not want to put it down. Can't wait to see what he has next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    wonderful read

    This was a great book! It was fast reading and ended before I was ready to let it go. A definate read for any reader of horror.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!

    I have read TORMENT twice now and the second time was just as exciting as the first. What a ride! Freaky, tormented undead people chasing survivors of a nuclear holocaust. Big twist at the end. The question asked is, Are You Ready?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    A Novel of Dark Meh!

    Implausible start, followed by a furious race for life, ending with a whimper. I would not give this to anybody. It had a lot of potential, but ultimately Meh.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Bold New Take on the Zombie Genre!

    Torment is a novel of intense suspense and creeping horror. Ostensibly a post-apocalyptic nightmare in the zombie genre, the author turns some of that genre's clichés on their heads to excellent effect. To wit: the zombies keep coming back to life, no matter how many times you kill them. The cast of characters are well rounded and the action hooks you pretty early on, then the blood and gore begins. What makes Torment stand apart from the pack though is a lightning-fast pace, constant danger for the heroes, the occasional excellently turned phrase, and most importantly, an allegorical approach to the genre. That's right--a zombie tale with a deeper message and enough hints and subtle suggestions to spark some actual discussion about the hidden depths of this dark tale. Bishop doesn't hand us all the explanations on a platter and makes us think about how this new world actually works and what the correlations to the living might be. Bishop keeps the surprises coming and the suspense ratcheted up right up to the last page. If you like fast-paced action and horror thrills, this is the book for you. Jeremy Bishop is a bold new talent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    Jeremy Bishop has a way of writing that makes you question every

    Jeremy Bishop has a way of writing that makes you question everything and allows your imagination to continue what his started, which is totally creepy but fantastic. I couldn't put it down and regret that I may have nightmares because of it. But it was definitely worth it. The ending is shocking and not what I expected, but that is what is so good about Bishop - he does the unexpected and doesn't apologise for it, nor should he. A book that will definitely be in the 'repeat read' pile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8