Customer Reviews for

Torment - A Novel Of Dark Horror

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I dont know

What all the people below who said this is a bad book are talking about but this is a good book. It may be a little long on talk in the beginning but once it gets going it doesnt let up. Kind of a cross between robert mccammons swan song and brian keenes zombie trilogy...
What all the people below who said this is a bad book are talking about but this is a good book. It may be a little long on talk in the beginning but once it gets going it doesnt let up. Kind of a cross between robert mccammons swan song and brian keenes zombie trilogy.

posted by 6408752 on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!

Actually the worst book i have EVER read - a very disjointed and confusing story that attempts to mix post apocalyptic earth with the saving graces of faith.

Totally unbelieveable and and absolutely a waste of my time.

Set your money on fire and watch it burn - it...
Actually the worst book i have EVER read - a very disjointed and confusing story that attempts to mix post apocalyptic earth with the saving graces of faith.

Totally unbelieveable and and absolutely a waste of my time.

Set your money on fire and watch it burn - it will be more entertaining and you won't regret it as much

I am only sad I cannot give this a negative star

posted by PaladinGC on November 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book is amazing!

    One of the best things about reading is finding those few gems, books that catch you off-guard and blow you away. This is one of those books. The action starts early on and just never lets up, this is truly a "can't put it down" book. At first I was simply amused and entertained by (what I was calling) the "apologetic zombies" but as the book went on I realized there was much more to it than that. I stayed up way too late reading this on more than one night, and didn't want it to end. The ending itself is quite awesome too. Will be eagerly looking forward to more by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Wow!

    A fantastically original spin on the zombie genre. It is a relentless adrenaline rush that left me exhausted. It has one of the most messed up, creeptastic endings I've ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    This book is so good when I read it the first time I wanted to r

    This book is so good when I read it the first time I wanted to read it again, because it scared me and made me think at the same time, I will never look at a pond the same way again, it is well written, the story line is so good, Torment has every thing you want it a Horror book .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Great book

    Loved loved it! Couldnt stop reading it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Great book I can't wait for the next

    This book was none stop action from start to finish great twist. Read it in two days could not put it down. Only for work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    great book

    i loved this book i cant wait. for the wtiter to erite more books, ver fast paced I could not put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    wonderful read

    This was a great book! It was fast reading and ended before I was ready to let it go. A definate read for any reader of horror.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!

    I have read TORMENT twice now and the second time was just as exciting as the first. What a ride! Freaky, tormented undead people chasing survivors of a nuclear holocaust. Big twist at the end. The question asked is, Are You Ready?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Bold New Take on the Zombie Genre!

    Torment is a novel of intense suspense and creeping horror. Ostensibly a post-apocalyptic nightmare in the zombie genre, the author turns some of that genre's clichés on their heads to excellent effect. To wit: the zombies keep coming back to life, no matter how many times you kill them. The cast of characters are well rounded and the action hooks you pretty early on, then the blood and gore begins. What makes Torment stand apart from the pack though is a lightning-fast pace, constant danger for the heroes, the occasional excellently turned phrase, and most importantly, an allegorical approach to the genre. That's right--a zombie tale with a deeper message and enough hints and subtle suggestions to spark some actual discussion about the hidden depths of this dark tale. Bishop doesn't hand us all the explanations on a platter and makes us think about how this new world actually works and what the correlations to the living might be. Bishop keeps the surprises coming and the suspense ratcheted up right up to the last page. If you like fast-paced action and horror thrills, this is the book for you. Jeremy Bishop is a bold new talent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    Torment is a fresh horror story

    Jeremy Bishop's Torment takes on nuclear war and the horrible planet left in its wake. As the survivors return to Earth, they find out the hard way that this isn't their earth anymore. I could not put this book down. If you like horror, give Torment a shot. I've read a lot of horror and I found this book to be far more original than at least 96% of all the other books in the horror genre I've read. Do it, read it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Jeremy Bishop is a great up and coming author. He's debut book T

    Jeremy Bishop is a great up and coming author.
    He's debut book TORMENT has a little something or everyone,
    action ,zombies, post apocalypse, and mostly lots of dark terror.
    Very well written, and fast paced. But above all its some what controversial.
    Get the book and you decide....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    A very different read!

    I must say, after reading some other authors books, this one was an eye opener!
    It started off a little slow, but must books do because they give you background info.
    Then Jeremy hit the throttle and I was off. I wasn't expecting things in the book which was a good thing!
    Torment is a good name for this book!
    Thanks for a different view from what I normally read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    NOT WRAPPED UP WITH A PRETTY BOW First off, I loved this book! B

    NOT WRAPPED UP WITH A PRETTY BOW
    First off, I loved this book! Being the first horror novel by Jeremy Bishop, I thought he took the end of the world theme and gave it a twist and a thought beyond what has been done before. if you like your horror stories wrapped up with a pretty bow at the end, then this is not the book for you. That being said, if you have a hankering for an original story with an unusual head-scratcher end, then this is it!

    I have never thought of myself as someone who likes horror stories, but having read Bishop's other two horror novels, The Sentinel and The Raven featuring Jane Harper, seems I am a die-hard fan now.

    It's been said that this novel is the result of a dream had by the author years ago. All I can say is that I am glad I don't dream like he does! So...tick tock, tic tock, are you getting sleepy, Jeremy??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    I LOVED this book. I don't feel it is a zombie book at all, thes

    I LOVED this book. I don't feel it is a zombie book at all, these people were the living dead but not like the typical zombie living dead. They know what they are doing, are horrified by it, but cannot control themselves. It was a fun, fast read and I loved every minute of it, including the ending, I thought it ended perfect. Those who did not enjoy it must have expected a certain type of book or just didn't understand the book at all. This book makes you think, makes you wonder and for me had be going crazy when I was done waiting for a friend to finish it so we could talk about it. Isn't that what makes an awesome book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I totally enjoyed reading this book. I read mostly thriller/myst

    I totally enjoyed reading this book. I read mostly thriller/mystery books. I will read more of his horror books. I also don't understand what people didn't like about it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Fastest Read Ever

    This book grabbed my attention from page one. Creepy, scary, thought provoking. I hate when good books like this end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Awesome

    Amazing book. Tempted to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Great book!!!

    I was very impressed with this book. It kept me interested from start to finish!! I couldnt put it down. I look forward to reading more of his books:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Great read!

    I really pounded through this one. It grabbed my attention quickly and I just couldn't put it down...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Great

    Thrilling, horrific, suspenseful, page turning story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3