Customer Reviews for

Tab Electronics Build Your Own Robot Kit

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    Great Kit!

    This kit is the best of its kind, if its no the only of its kind! It is so simple and easy to build, use, and service. Plus I used a Basic Stamp II I already had and got programming my own programs in no time! Buy one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Try the SumoBot

    Predko and Wirz have created a new low price-point for an Infrared controlled Robot. Outstanding value for the money. You should be aware this package does not come with the Basic Stamp 2 module, which is available separately, and which is required if you want to program your robot. (The robot does come with a 505 processor pre-programmed with light-seeking, light-avoiding, wall following, and random movement behaviors). The very similar Sumo Bot from the same company costs a little more, but includes a Basic Stamp 2 and a prototyping panel. Still, 5 stars for both these products for ease of use, ease of construction, and quality of results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2002

    Tab Electronics Build Your Own Robot Kit

    I picked this up on a whim because I've Myke's Programming and Customizing PICMicro microcontrollers and I really like the book. Despite my clumsy fingers, I was able to assemble the robot without any problems and play around with it. My ten year old son really is really excited about it (I'm going to buy one for him) and I've ordered a BS2 from Parallax and I'm looking forward to teaching him how to program. When I've looked at other robot kits, they are no were near as polished and complete as this one - the remote control is a really nice touch as is the CD-ROM material (there is over 400 pages of material that you can read through or print out) and best of all, you get $15.00 off buying a BS2. My hat's off to Myke and Mr. Wirz for this excellent kit and loading it up with so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2002

    Tab Electronics Build Your Own Robot Kit

    I've been looking at building a small robot that I could experiment with and learn about artificial intelligence. I never really got up the energy to make it and I was thrilled to see that the TAB robot is exactly what I was looking for. Actually it's better than what I could have hoped for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2002

    Tab Electronics Build Your Own Robot Kit

    I bought this for my 16 year old as a whim before Christmas and now I found that I want to play with it as well. After 3 kids, this is the first present I ever bought where I liked it so much that I went out and bought another one. This one was missing the two worm gears and with a simple email, I got replacements sent to three days later. Great kit, great service. Adam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2002

    Tab Electronics Build Your Own Robot Kit

    Mr. Predko and Mr. Wirz have come up with probably the best, simple robot I've ever seen for introducing students to robots. The built in 'behaviors' are great and I've tried a few BS2 programs and I can see that this is something very special. I've shown it to my students and we are talking about making a course around it. My hat's off to the two designers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    The best robot

    Nice kit - buy one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2002

    Tab Electronics Build Your Own Robot Kit

    I got this robot as a present from my parents for Christmas. It went together okay and it was fun to play with. After a while I decided that I wanted to do something more and I got a BS2 to add to the robot. I couldn't get the BS2 to work, so I sent an email to Mr. Predko - he replied with a long email explaining what I had to do and gave me a little program to try out on my own. I discovered that the same information was on the CD-ROM that came with the robot, but I just wanted to thank him for taking the time to answer my question and make sure I was able to get up and running.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    Fun and innovative learning!

    I bought this kit for my nephew for the holidays. He has been trying to learn everything he can about robotics and electronics--mostly from books--so I was really excited when I saw that there was an actual robot-building kit. My nephew has been engrossed in this kit from the moment he opened it. In addition to getting hands-on experience in robot-building, he is learning more about electronics and designing his own programs. Rarely before have I seen my nephew so focused, excited and eager to learn! (I am amazed at how much I have learned as well.) I have found this kit to be fun, practical and informative for those just starting out (like myself) or for those with more experience (like my nephew). Just one question: Will there be more robot-building kits to come? I know you have one potential buyer right here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2001

    Great!

    I bought one of these for my kid for Christmas, but I opened it to see what it was like and then I started playing with it and now I have to buy another to replace the present. You can buy a book and try to come up with your own robot, or you can buy this kit and really start learning about robotics. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    Tab Electronics Build Your Own Robot Kit

    My 16 year old son is crazy for robots and pushed us to buy this kit. I was really nervous because it looked complex, but when we opened the box we discovered that all the electronics were already built and my son just had to assemble the mechanical bits and pieces. The robot worked right from the start and is a lot of fun for my son (and my husband). He is reading through the material on the CD-ROM and excited about the idea of creating his own robot programs. Just one suggestion for people who buy this robot: make sure you get the rechargable batteries from Radio Shack that are recommended on the CD-ROM files. My son had gone through four Energizers before we realized how much time he was spending on it. Pat Brown

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1