Customer Reviews for

Table for One

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Table for One is delicious. Prepare to be seduced... Decadent

Table for One is delicious. Prepare to be seduced...

Decadent food + sexy, what's not to like?

Claudia's boyfriend, Andrew, breaks up with her on Valentine's Day, the jerk. Of all days, he chooses Valentine's to end their relationship, or what's left of it anyway. A...
Table for One is delicious. Prepare to be seduced...

Decadent food + sexy, what's not to like?

Claudia's boyfriend, Andrew, breaks up with her on Valentine's Day, the jerk. Of all days, he chooses Valentine's to end their relationship, or what's left of it anyway. After both agree being in each other's company would only prove miserable and will do nothing to prevent their irrevocable break up, they part ways. Claudia makes up her mind and decides to go thru with what she's planned for that night. Guy or no guy, she's determined to dine at Ward's. Who wouldn't? The place takes reservations only, and to get on the list can be a matter of months. She's not about to wait months, plus she's there on a business mission not pleasure, or so she thinks.

Ward, not only happens to be a recognized Chef; he's one of the top ten sexiest men in London (imagine that). What a combination, decadent food + sexy, NOT a recipe for disaster. This is a recipe for seconds, thirds, fourths, and however many more servings one might like. He finds the table originally reserved for two, is now for one. He sorta feels sorry for the woman that's been stood up, and decides the menu she is there to have, is simply not fit for a solo. He doesn't think anything of it until he catches a glimpse of her. Then, his seduction begins...

Ward concoctes the most delightful courses. Claudia finds herself almost expiring in food ecstasy. The prelude to his seduction, is making love to her tastebuds first. You ought to read it, then you'll know what I mean.

I can't say much more because I'll spoil it. The story is mouthwatering. Don't be surprised if it gets you craving seafood, a filet mignon, sweet potato casserole, sparagus, garlic rosemary potatoes, blue crab cakes, and a good bottle of wine...may I suggest a Cabernet Sauvignon? Oh I forgot... how's a creme brule and berries for dessert?

Anytime I read short stories, I never know what to expect. Many romance shorts rush thru the character interactions, leave out details or jump quickly on to the next scene without full closure on the previous one. Table for One, however,goes above and beyond all expectations. In fact, the story is so well written, it doesn't even feel like a short but a full blown romance instead.

One thing for sure, I'll be dreaming with food tonight. ;0)

posted by Evie_Knight-7 on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

R

One of the worst books I have read. Dull and stupid. Wasted 99 cents for 86 pages of drible.

posted by 892267 on April 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    R

    One of the worst books I have read. Dull and stupid. Wasted 99 cents for 86 pages of drible.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Table for One is delicious. Prepare to be seduced... Decadent

    Table for One is delicious. Prepare to be seduced...

    Decadent food + sexy, what's not to like?

    Claudia's boyfriend, Andrew, breaks up with her on Valentine's Day, the jerk. Of all days, he chooses Valentine's to end their relationship, or what's left of it anyway. After both agree being in each other's company would only prove miserable and will do nothing to prevent their irrevocable break up, they part ways. Claudia makes up her mind and decides to go thru with what she's planned for that night. Guy or no guy, she's determined to dine at Ward's. Who wouldn't? The place takes reservations only, and to get on the list can be a matter of months. She's not about to wait months, plus she's there on a business mission not pleasure, or so she thinks.

    Ward, not only happens to be a recognized Chef; he's one of the top ten sexiest men in London (imagine that). What a combination, decadent food + sexy, NOT a recipe for disaster. This is a recipe for seconds, thirds, fourths, and however many more servings one might like. He finds the table originally reserved for two, is now for one. He sorta feels sorry for the woman that's been stood up, and decides the menu she is there to have, is simply not fit for a solo. He doesn't think anything of it until he catches a glimpse of her. Then, his seduction begins...

    Ward concoctes the most delightful courses. Claudia finds herself almost expiring in food ecstasy. The prelude to his seduction, is making love to her tastebuds first. You ought to read it, then you'll know what I mean.

    I can't say much more because I'll spoil it. The story is mouthwatering. Don't be surprised if it gets you craving seafood, a filet mignon, sweet potato casserole, sparagus, garlic rosemary potatoes, blue crab cakes, and a good bottle of wine...may I suggest a Cabernet Sauvignon? Oh I forgot... how's a creme brule and berries for dessert?

    Anytime I read short stories, I never know what to expect. Many romance shorts rush thru the character interactions, leave out details or jump quickly on to the next scene without full closure on the previous one. Table for One, however,goes above and beyond all expectations. In fact, the story is so well written, it doesn't even feel like a short but a full blown romance instead.

    One thing for sure, I'll be dreaming with food tonight. ;0)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Good but...

    It wasva good book but too short and left you in a "what will happen nxt moment"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    So short

    I feel like this story had a lot of potential. It was cute but short.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    check it out!!!

    Very enjoyable. Sweet and unpredictable. I enjoyed this story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    The descriptions of the food are almost more sensuous than the l

    The descriptions of the food are almost more sensuous than the lovemaking! Definitely a hot foodie book, and Ward is so sexy he curls my toes. Loved this, had great humor and just enough angst.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    recommended

    Funny, entising, quick read!! I didn't want to put it down. Read in less then an afternoon!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great short story

    It should only take a day to read.easy reading that will keep your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very seductive. Why is it that holidays seem to be the time to

    Very seductive. Why is it that holidays seem to be the time to break a romance. I like the way Ward seduces Claudia with all 6 senses. WOW. I do think it was a little too short though. Another 100 pages would have been nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Fun read!!!

    This was a fun fast read, I recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Good read, Just wish the story was longer.

    I really enjoy this book. Pulled me in and keep interested, which isnt easy when it comes to short stories. Only wish it was a longer story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Good read, weak volta, and predictable

    This is a very easy read, and a story worth glancing if you have an hour to kill. The dramatic twist is not.worth the build up and the ending, though sufficient, leaves an unsatified feeling in the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    easy read

    easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Heroine was a too desperate for my tastes. She was practically b

    Heroine was a too desperate for my tastes. She was practically begging the hero to love her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    awful

    terrible characters and just not fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Grade C

    Predictable and very short

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Delicious and delightful - a must read!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Ugh

    My son's History reports are better reading!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2