Customer Reviews for

Taboo (CSI Reilly Steel #1)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great story

Engrossing plot. Never lags.

posted by 1517575 on December 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not recommended for those with a weak stomach.

I would not recommend this for a book club. It had a good story line, but kind of gory with the murders. A mystery to the end.

posted by 18473381 on January 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2015

    Great Read

    This book was well written with compelling characters and an intriguing plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2015

    I really enjoyed this book.  Reilly Steel, CSI is an exceptional

    I really enjoyed this book.  Reilly Steel, CSI is an exceptional investigator transplanted from San Francisco to Dublin. She certainly has her share of problems with an old school boss and police force who aren't sure they want this female Yank helping them solve major case crimes.  This case is a tough serial murder that Reilly identifies as such.  Do they want to believe her?  Of course not.  She comes across as a strong protagonist who proves her point.   I was hooked from the beginning.  It is well written and edited.  It is a tough situation for Reilly as it hit her very close to home and her family.  Great for CSI  mystery fans. I will read more of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    Nope

    Killer kids, homosexuality, gruesome, incest, molestation of kids. Perverts. Killing parents. Needed some editing. This book is not for mee. Adults only.

    AD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    4 stars. Enjoyed this mystery. Planned to buy box set for more b

    4 stars. Enjoyed this mystery. Planned to buy box set for more but will wait based on reviews and look for paperbacks.
    Interesting characters and plot. No sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2015

    If you like forensics and behavioral profiling you will love ┬┐T

    If you like forensics and behavioral profiling you will love “Taboo: A CSI Reilly Steel Thriller” by Casey Hill. This book has a little bit of everything, crime, mystery, forensic investigation, behavioral profiling and even a possible romance.

    Reilly Steel is an FBI trained forensic scientist/profiler with a troubled past. Originally from California she takes a job running the forensic unit for the Dublin police. Her alcoholic father is also in Dublin and she is hoping to take better care of him now that they are in the same city. There is a tragedy in her past regarding her sister which is hinted at from the beginning but not fully revealed until the end.
    With the exception of one detective, Chris Delaney, the Dublin police are pretty skeptical of Reilly and her GFU unit and their ability to assist in crime solving. But when a string of brutal murders hits the city they need all the resources they can get. A serial killer is on the loose and Dublin is quaking with fear. Reilly must first prove that the murders are related and all committed by one person, then she must discover who that person is. This investigation is full of twists and turns and is ultimately very personal for Reilly.

    Reilly Steel and the other key characters and very well developed in this story and enabled me to be completely drawn in. The more I read the more I wanted to keep reading. This is book 1 in a series and I can’t wait to check out the next installment. I give this book 4 out of 4 stars because it just really captured my imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2015

    This was an extremely fun read. Great murder mystery with intrig

    This was an extremely fun read. Great murder mystery with intriguing characters. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2014

    Wow. Great book and characters. Highly recommend.

    Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    4 stars

    4 stars - i enjoyed reading this book Taboo, by Hill. The PR states similar to Scarpelli, Cornwell & ther women writers, I don't completely agree. Ms. Hill is a good writer and has great potential but she has not reached the level of writing as these authors. I believe with time and a good editor to guide her she will be a excellent story teller.
    I do recommend this book the story line was very interesting, the pace good, characters well developed. The negatives is jumping from one scene to another, instead of creating another chapter for the new scene, it was confusing at first but after a few times i was prepared for the quick scene changes. The end was a little disappointing, i felt as though she could not wait to finish the book. This was the time to tie up everything and build the final suspense, Ms. Hall dropped the ball.
    This was a free friday book and was pleased with the selection, I will keep the book in my library and plan in reading other books by Ms. Hall, and looking forward to see her develop as a writer to equal the other womem authors mentioned
    Recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2014

    Reily Steel Shows she can not only keep up,but that she can beat

    Reily Steel Shows she can not only keep up,but that she can beat out the good old boys network.Utterly riveting page turning plot,with a strong female character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    A page turner

    Keeps you going until the very end. Loved the way most loose end are brought together and leaves room to move on to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Good, But Not For the Squeamish

    Some reviewers say that the murders are too gory. But it isn't the murders themselves, but the psychological trauma surrounding the murders -- the "taboos" forced to be broken -- that was most disturbing. This was a good first effort. It is a combination of a "CSI" police procedural mystery combined with psychological profiling and a touch of "Psycho".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Great read!

    Good plot twists, very creative plot, draws you in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Anonympus

    Great read. Casey Hill my new favorite author. I will read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Good book

    Enjoyed this book, plan to get rest of series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    A salad bowl

    This supposed to be the first in the Reilly Steele series, and it is a salad bowl of every imaginable taboo: incest, maternicide, homosexuality, suicide, you name it. All this committed by a 14 year old girl who graduated to be the most ruthless murderess from CCWF (California Correction Women Facility), where she educated herself on Freud and hands on psychology. And for what? To prove a point to her older sister (Reilly) who was not willing to cover the 14 year old murder of her own mother, and her mother's boyfriend. Far fetched you say. The understatement of the year.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Very good

    With 275 pg this book was hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Fanrastic

    A real page turner, just loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Great book kept your interest all the way through. The ending will surprise you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Hope to read more of the series

    I really enjoyed this story, but even more the characters. Too few books take place in Australia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Kept me up most of the night!!!!

    Fantastically fingernail biting read...loved the suspense!!! Taboo is more than forbidden, it's full of sizzle! Believable Characters, great dialogue and some surprising twists make this one stand out from so many others ...5 stars!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4