Customer Reviews for

Tactical Strike

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2015

    Awesome book

    Loved this book so timely loved the whole Ryan and Candice story line Thank you for the Awesome book Loved it so amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great second book in series...

    Loved Ryan and Candace's characters... both smart and determined. Looking forward to more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    very good reading!!

    I enjoyed the content of this book, lots of romance, suspense, and hot sex. There was a little too much of explaining military verbage, but overall a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     "Tactical Strike" is a military style book and of cou

     "Tactical Strike" is a military style book and of course got romance, too. To me, if some of the romance was left out, little more action, this would be a great book. I think, Kaylea Cross, though if she add, more romance, she would target both men & women. 

     The beginning of "Tactical Strike" start out great, I was intrigue with the book. Reading, about what the special ops, handle the situations that they are place in. Yes, you have a enlisted, want to get to know pilot officer. Which, is a big, no no in the military. As, you read "Tactical Strike", you sort could tell what going to happen, next. Yes, boy & girl do get together, like always.

     I give "Tactical Strike" by Kaylea Cross, three stars. I do like military style books, that did not hinder my thought on this book. If it was rewritten, like I said, with more military, little less romance, it could be a four, maybe four and half stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Military precision!

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    Gunship pilot Captain Candace Bradford has worked long and hard to earn her rank and position within the male-dominated world of Air Force Special Operations. She's not about to let anything or anyone jeopardize that, let alone one sinfully tempting man who seems determined to cause her nothing but trouble. Even if she's starting to fall for him.

    As an elite Combat Controller, Staff Sergeant Ryan Wentworth is used to overcoming adversity in order to complete a mission. Breaking through Candace's prickly exterior and into her heart is a challenge he can't let go. But just when he's begun to gain her trust, they're thrown together in the field facing an overwhelming enemy force.

    Candace and Ryan find themselves on the run, searching the skies for an emergency extraction. But one dangerous enemy has an agenda in mind and he'll use whatever means necessary to achieve it, including using American forces to do his dirty work...

    REVIEW:

    Wow! This was actually a very nicely written book. Ms. Cross has a definite way with words, and an eye for the insight into military operations.
    I loved the conflict established her and actually followed along with the flow of feelings until I was practically screaming at the pages, waiting impatiently for them to GET IT ON!
    The steam, the detail, the suspense, the action—all of it will make your experience with this story one that will be unforgettable!
    Five out of five stars for a job well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kaylea Cross's Tactical Strike is a suspenseful romance that put

    Kaylea Cross's Tactical Strike is a suspenseful romance that puts readers in the thick of military warfare. The second novel of the Bagram Special Ops series can probably be read without reading it's prequel, Deadly Descent. Tactical Strike focuses on Captain Candace "Ace" Bradford and Sergeant Ryan Wenworth.

    Cross is an excellent writer. Her attention to detail and the ability to make you feel like you're climbing a mountain during a blizzard, in the middle of battle, is done precisely so. The romance seems to fall behind the action, which isn't necessarily a negative element, but if you're not really fascinated by the war experience it'll make the story drag a little.

    The characters like Candace and Ryan are the kind you'd want to have your back when you're in a tight spot, loyal and dependable. At times Cross alludes to both characters having some kind of history in their lives that shaped their present attitudes, but I don't recall them ever explicitly talking about their pasts. Sure there were some statements that explained why Candace held herself apart from Ryan and why she was such a stickler for the rules, but I still felt like the story missed some pertinent personal information.

    Tactical Strike is a great novel to start with if you've never read military romance. The romance may not be extraordinarily different from what any romance reader is used to, but the military aspects that Cross uses to build the plot will open up the possibility of a new favorite genre.
    *eGalley provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    I can¿t stress enough that if you like military romantic suspens

    I can’t stress enough that if you like military romantic suspense you must read Kaylea’s books.  Just by reading them you can tell the level of passion she has for the US Military (and she is Canadian!). Ryan and Candace’s story is just as romantic and intense as her other books. I enjoy the different points of view Kaylea writes in because not only do you get to see things from the hero and heroine perspective but also the antagonist, which in this book is Khalid.

    Staff Seargant Ryan Wentworth has a pretty awesome job. Probably the coolest one I have read about.  Not only is he on the ground with the other troops, but he is essentially an air traffic controller so he gets to call in some bombers to take care of business. How cool is that? He does his job with such confidence and precision, which is exactly who you want out there when the enemy is closing in on you. He also has a bit of a bad boy in him and he likes to stretch rules and boundaries, especially where Candace is concerned.

    Captain Candace “Ace” Bradford is one tough cookie. She worked hard to get where she is and does not want to jeopardize her job or career in any fashion, so she does her best to ward of the flirtatious Ryan. She is the daughter of a senator and feels that every move she makes will affect her family so she is pretty tightly wound at the beginning of the story. Ryan is so good at getting Candace to loosen up and the chemistry between them is hard to ignore.

    Kaylea does a great job of balancing the romance and suspense in this story. We get to see the romantic interactions between the two while they are at Bagram but when they are in the heat of action in the cold mountains and fighting for their lives you have the suspense and the part of the story that has you holding your book (or ereader) just a bit too hard. Even when I was forced to put the book down I was thinking about the Ryan, Candace and the other US troops in the book like they were real people. My emotions and worry for the characters and the situation in the book spilled over to my reality a little bit.

    I really liked Ryan’s glossary of terms in the back of the book. The military uses so many acronyms it is hard to keep up but Ryan was thoughtful enough to give us a glossary, with some added commentary of course. This was my favorite comment of his in the glossary: “AFSOC: Air Force Special Operations Command. Made up of CCTs like me, PJs, Weathermen (way more badass than it sounds) and gunship crews like Ace. We CCTs are the most awesome though, in case you were wondering.” This gives you a glimpse of Ryan’s fun personality. I was glad that in this book we got a glimpse of Maya and Jackson and look forward toward their book next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1