Customer Reviews for

A Tailor-Made Bride

Average Rating 4
( 735 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(330)

4 Star

(211)

3 Star

(115)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

"Tailor-Made for the Romantic Christian Heart"

I DID NOT WANT THIS BOOK TO END!! From cover to cover, Karen Witemeyer just blew me away! If you were to combine the "character depth" of a Tamera Alexander novel and the "romantic charm" of a Deeanne Gist novel- let's face it, you would have a truly remarkable masterpi...
I DID NOT WANT THIS BOOK TO END!! From cover to cover, Karen Witemeyer just blew me away! If you were to combine the "character depth" of a Tamera Alexander novel and the "romantic charm" of a Deeanne Gist novel- let's face it, you would have a truly remarkable masterpiece, but you wouldn't even be scratching the surface of what makes "A Tailor-Made Bride" one of the best Christian historical romance fiction books your eyes will ever have the pleasure of beholding!

This is Karen's first novel, and that fact alone will leave you even more wide eyed and slack jawed at her abilities. Most importantly, you will also find the Lord's "thumbprint" on every page. Her words ministered to my spirit in such a deep, penetrating way. Opening my own eyes to appreciate more greatly and see more clearly the beauty of God all around me. This book is "Tailor-Made" for the romantic Christian heart!

Her characters live and breathe, not only within the pages but long after the cover is closed. The heroine, Hannah Richards, is the kind of a girl we would all strive to be like. Not only is she beautiful, graceful and talented but she also possess a kind, gentle, yet passionate nature and shines the love of Christ so effortlessly, desiring His will above her own, no matter the sacrifice. The hero, Jericho "J.T." Tucker, is exactly how the author describes him, "a little crusty on the outside, but his heart is true and as big as a mountain." From the start he just took my breath away (however, I did want to smack him a couple of times). He is ruggedly handsome, strong and determined, but set in his ways with no plans on changing. That is until the scales fall from his eyes AND his heart, allowing him to behold the inner and outer beauty of a certain dressmaker. We (along with Hannah) fall head-over-heels with this man and his mountain size heart! We find that he is humble, a little vulnerable, and capable of great kindness, loving with his actions rather than words. With each page we witness a refining process happening in our hero and... gosh, I've said too much already. You'll have to read it yourself *grin*

Her supporting characters are great as well, adding even more life, color, and depth to the story, as does her charming Texas setting. And as a side note, she ends her chapters with some of the best closing lines you'll ever read that will have you saying, "Okay, just one more chapter." into the wee hours of the night! Simply put, this book is going on my "to be read again AND again" shelf, with NO chance of collecting even a speck of dust any time soon!!

posted by Amanda608 on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Way to religious for me

a nice chaste love story, but way to much talk of religion there were so many bible quotes and prayers that i was not expecting. I have nothing against religion but i dont want a romance novel that is all about god, the most sexual thing is a chaste kiss no toungue at t...
a nice chaste love story, but way to much talk of religion there were so many bible quotes and prayers that i was not expecting. I have nothing against religion but i dont want a romance novel that is all about god, the most sexual thing is a chaste kiss no toungue at the end, totally NOT my cup of tea!!!!!! very dissapointing!!!!!

posted by apacheprincess on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "Tailor-Made for the Romantic Christian Heart"

    I DID NOT WANT THIS BOOK TO END!! From cover to cover, Karen Witemeyer just blew me away! If you were to combine the "character depth" of a Tamera Alexander novel and the "romantic charm" of a Deeanne Gist novel- let's face it, you would have a truly remarkable masterpiece, but you wouldn't even be scratching the surface of what makes "A Tailor-Made Bride" one of the best Christian historical romance fiction books your eyes will ever have the pleasure of beholding!

    This is Karen's first novel, and that fact alone will leave you even more wide eyed and slack jawed at her abilities. Most importantly, you will also find the Lord's "thumbprint" on every page. Her words ministered to my spirit in such a deep, penetrating way. Opening my own eyes to appreciate more greatly and see more clearly the beauty of God all around me. This book is "Tailor-Made" for the romantic Christian heart!

    Her characters live and breathe, not only within the pages but long after the cover is closed. The heroine, Hannah Richards, is the kind of a girl we would all strive to be like. Not only is she beautiful, graceful and talented but she also possess a kind, gentle, yet passionate nature and shines the love of Christ so effortlessly, desiring His will above her own, no matter the sacrifice. The hero, Jericho "J.T." Tucker, is exactly how the author describes him, "a little crusty on the outside, but his heart is true and as big as a mountain." From the start he just took my breath away (however, I did want to smack him a couple of times). He is ruggedly handsome, strong and determined, but set in his ways with no plans on changing. That is until the scales fall from his eyes AND his heart, allowing him to behold the inner and outer beauty of a certain dressmaker. We (along with Hannah) fall head-over-heels with this man and his mountain size heart! We find that he is humble, a little vulnerable, and capable of great kindness, loving with his actions rather than words. With each page we witness a refining process happening in our hero and... gosh, I've said too much already. You'll have to read it yourself *grin*

    Her supporting characters are great as well, adding even more life, color, and depth to the story, as does her charming Texas setting. And as a side note, she ends her chapters with some of the best closing lines you'll ever read that will have you saying, "Okay, just one more chapter." into the wee hours of the night! Simply put, this book is going on my "to be read again AND again" shelf, with NO chance of collecting even a speck of dust any time soon!!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    A delightful period tale of faith and Mars vs Venus

    A Tailor-Made Bride is a delightful period experience with humorous views into the complexity of differences and misunderstandings of men and women. Hannah Richards displays a refreshing combination of femininity, independence, strength and courage, while attracted to Jericho, "J.T. Tucker, who has personal reasons to fear and despise her very character.

    Consequently, their mutual attraction is a mystery to them both. J.T's jaded view of Hannah's true personality is in constant conflict of others high opinion of Hannah's actions and his attraction to her. Similarly, Hannah's hurt and anger at his unreasonable and unkind rebuffs fight with the realization that she is the only woman he treats in such a manner.

    Unexpected allies and a surprisingly sinister foe awaken the two bit by bit to their misconceptions - a few times, almost too late, but for enduring faith.

    Beauty, vanity, faith and trust are redefined in this lovely and entertaining tale.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A DARLING LOVE STORY!

    Hannah Richards has come to Coventry, Texas to achieve her dream, to open a dressmaker's shop, having inherited the title of a building from a wealthy customer. But achieving her dream causes her to run head on into J.T. Tucker, who'd planned to buy that building himself. And there is another reason for J.T. to dislike Hannah, her taste for stylish clothes reminds him too much of his vain, self-centered mother.
    Jericho is a wonderful male protagonist, stubborn but more so generous, handy with tools, protective, and thoughtful. He looks out for his sister, the widow that works next door to Hannah, his assistant, Tom, and even Hannah. He may not want to get involved with her, but he does not want her to get hurt or not have what she needs.
    Hannah is wonderful too. She's determined, independent, kind and trusting, but also a little insecure, but she is willing to work hard to achieve her dream.
    A darling love story that will please all who read this!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    HIGHLY recommended!

    I really liked this. Not only is it an easy read but it's nice to have people change. It's predictable about who the "bad guy" is but if you like historical fiction, with no sex scenes, this is a good one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and Sentimental Christian Romance with great characters

    For-warning for buying this book - it is a Christian Romance, I hate seeing good authors get bad reviews b/c somebody didn't realize what they were buying during a promotion. That being said it is not a "preachy" book - more Little House on the Prairie style. The Characters are moral, hard working, go to church on Sundays and read the Bible in hard times.

    They are also headstrong, charming, romantic, funny, and best of all extremely well written! I enjoyed this novel so much that I am going to buy her other books. The book fits well with an old joke - do you want to make G-d laugh? - Tell him your plans. We have two characters who are so bent on proving each other "wrong" and themselves "right" that they don't realize their on the same page - and comedic hijinks, charming romance, and some drama ensues. Good easy read that will leave you with a smile on your face and contented sigh in your heart.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Really nice story

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were believable, funny, and each with their own interesting quirks. For a free book this was exceptional,I wish there were a lot more like it. Unfortunately I refuse to pay the $9.99 price tag for more by this author. A shame but even if they are as good as this one the price is too steep.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful prose, lovely story

    With a prose that stands up and grabs the reader's attention, this debut novel did not disappoint this reader! I found great delight within the pages of TAILOR MADE BRIDE. Jericho, Hannah and Cordelia, even the villains and secondary characters were brought to life. I loved the word usage, the character portrayal, their interactions, it all shouted to me that this book is one to be remembered. Jericho and Hannah's relations are funny and romantic. What a hero! And what a romantic chemistry, it made me sigh and my heart give little jumps. The struggles and faith of the characters are well portrayed without feeling stilted or overdone. Each one had growth and changes and through some had it to grow more than others, it was done in a well written manner. My favorite scene was one of the first in the book when Hannah falls through the floorboard and into Jericho's arms. What a visual image! And this whole book was like reading in a dream. I was there. No doubt about it, this novel is extremely well written. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute in this book and almost wished it to go on and on. A great read, don't miss it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Taffy on january 29,2013

    What a wonderfully refreshing story. Loved it from start to finish. Encouraging & inspiring as well as entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Great

    This book was a great getaway to delve into. Love the characters and story development. You wont be disapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Great love story Wild West style

    This was a difficult book to put down. The characters were very likable and it truly made me want to live in this little town. I love the magic that slowly and reluctantly develops between the lead characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Loved this book

    Good moral values, good story, couldn't put it down, read it straight through the night! Let thid book speak to your heart

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    A FUN read!

    I had a lot of fun reading this story. I'd say the overall attitude of both main characters had a hint of Pride and Prejudice in its pages, without the mother, the sisters and other characters. I could totally see JT's side of things, as well as Hannah's, which made their battle all the more believable. Because of their devotion to God, they were able to work things out. This inspired me personally. When folks are committed to following their Heavenly Father, their differences can be worked out. Anyway, I also loved the cover. There aren't many Christian Romance covers I like, but this one was a perfect depiction of the story. I was also impressed with the writing. The author clearly understands craft. All in all, a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Characters Won Me Over

    I looked forward to this book ever since I saw the cover. The more I read about it, the more I wanted to read it. It didn't disappoint.

    I know you shouldn't judge a book by a cover but how many of us do just that? We either are drawn to the gorgeous dress (like on this one) or repelled by what we don't like on another. It's like that in life too. Jericho Tucker takes one look at Hannah Richards and sees all the things he hates and fears. He certainly doesn't want to get to get entangled with the seamstress - no matter how nice she seems.

    The two of them are like watching old fashioned bumper cars at night. They slam into each other and seem to be causing quite a fuss. But beneath all the noise and clamor you see the sparks flying.

    Jericho is a wonderful hero. He is two parts stubborn and three parts generous. Add in a little bit wounded, handy with his tools, protective, and thoughtful. He looks out for his sister, the widow that works next door to Hannah, his assistant, Tom, and even Hannah. He may not want to get involved with her, but he doesn't want her to get hurt or not have what she needs.

    Hannah can't understand why the livery owner is so grouchy and mad at her - and yet helps her so often. Even worse, she finds she likes him far more than she'd like to admit. When she finds out he objects to her job and thinks she is trying to lead women astray by appealing to their vanity, she knows there is no hope he'll ever like her.

    Hannah is great. She's determined, independent, kind and trusting. She is a little insecure and fearful, but she is willing to work hard to overcome any difficulties that come her way. She was a really like-able person. I found myself wanting to have her for a friend. Maybe we could meet for hot cocoa in the morning after she went for her "constitutional." :o)

    When you want to sit down with the characters in the book then you know the author has done an excellent job.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2015

    This book was wonderful! I¿m not a fan of westerns, but this cha

    This book was wonderful! I’m not a fan of westerns, but this changed my mind. Karen Witemeyer weaves together a fascinating story with interesting characters and a setting that brings together the best of both the wild west and civilized Victorian. I’m one of those who loves regency –style stories, and this one had the best elements of those mixed in with western fun. I love the setting of Coventry, Texas, a fairly young western town, but one that’s grown into a city that feels like it could have been placed on the Eastern coast and still have been believable. And then you have the main characters, JT and Hannah. The tag line of the book is “When a dressmaker who values beauty tangles with a liveryman who condemns vanity, the sparks begin to fly!” And it’s perfect for the book! Hannah is a skilled seamstress, and now a business woman opening her own shop. She loves beauty, the God-given beauty that every woman has, giving them the gifts of gowns made from God-made colors. I love that she’s so strong, opening up her own business, but soft, loving the artistry of putting colors together and creating beauty. Then there’s J.T. who’s got a heart of gold himself, but with a past that includes a particularly vain woman, his view is skewed to believe that anyone who values outward appearance doesn’t value the inward. He loves his sister, and helps out his neighbors all that he can, especially a widow with children. I love so many in the book are business men and women: Hannah runs her own dress shop, JT’s sister bakes and sells her goods at the general store, and the friendly widow does laundry and works hard to take care of her three children. There’s such a great message about working hard, and of course it’s so awesome to see such a positive message about women working! Even marriage doesn’t mean the woman gives up on her business dreams. And of course, I can’t help but love the interactions between JT and Hannah. It’s funny how both value what’s underneath, but at first neither can see past the exterior: Hannah’s beauty and JT’s gruffness. They have some very sweet moments that just warm your heart, but the next page has them bickering like Benedict and Beatrice! And there’s a good amount of adventure and suspense that had me on the edge of my seat to the very last page wondering if it’ll all turn out okay. Strong women, heroic men, and a great mix of cowboys and culture make this a great read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Outstanding!

    I was pleased with how quickly I was swept up in this beautiful romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Very sweet romance

    Hannah and Jericho's story is a sweet Christian love story. Jericho, had many walls wrapped around his heart stemming from his mother's abandonment of his father and sister when he was young. When Hannah arrived in town, Jericho saw her to be just like his mother. As time went by, Jericho's walls around his heart started to fall and he realized he was wrong about Hannah. Very nice 297 page read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Adorable!

    Loved her independence and loveable nature. Loved his gruffness and softness mixed together. A great spiritual read. Gives us all Hope! I certainly enjoy Witemeyer's way of writing the Word into her books. Keeps you thinking and appreciating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    So Cute!

    I was pleasantly surprised to find that religion was a big thing in this book. I thought it was a really cute love story and I really enjoyed it. (I loved the characters)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Awesome

    Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17