Customer Reviews for

Take it Like a Vamp

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

FABULOUS

What wonderful read!! Covet did great job in asking Candace to help launch thier new line! Hope she writes more about these wonderful characters... i want Linc to get a hea!

posted by Mrsthanosthemad on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too much angst.

I enjoyed the book but there was way too much angst on the part of the 800 year old vampire. I just wanted to shout, "Make up your mind!!"

posted by happyendingamust on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fun romantic PNR with some honest laugh out loud momen

    This is a fun romantic PNR with some honest laugh out loud moments.

    Fans of Molly Harper, MaryJanice Davidson, and Katie MacAlister will enjoy this fun PNR by Candace Havens.
    Vampire Nick has lusted after his neighbor Casey for the entire 9 months he’s known her. She is a breath of fresh air. Mostly I think because she offers him friendship without strings. He is rich, powerful and good looking. Everybody wants something from him especially his ex. Casey knows she isn’t like the skinny models Nick goes for so she settles for friendship with Nick although she isn’t blind to his charms. When Nick asks Casey to be his date to keep the match making mama’s off his back he brings Casey to the attention of factions that would use her to get to him and things get interesting.
    This is a fun romantic PNR with some honest laugh out loud moments. Welcome back to the dark side Candy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Casey's Aunt/Uncle invited her to move in after the death of her

    Casey's Aunt/Uncle invited her to move in after the death of her parents. Casey's Aunt was rich and lived in a well guarded place that Casey could call home while she was alone when her Aunt was traveling. Casey also had a hunky rich neighbor/owner of the building that became her friend. Nick Christos was her friend for months, but she wanted this man. She was so in lust with him she even named her "toys" Mr. Nick. Then one day all of that changed. Nick started showing that he cared about her and invited Casey to a party where the rich and famous went to be seen. Nick was also there for a different reason, he planned on making Casey his and wanted to show her to the super natural world. That was when Casey's problems started.

    The vamps in this book are my favorite kind. Tall, dark, handsome & fangs. Casey had self-esteem problems & thought her curves were a curse. But the new hot men around her loved her curves and wanted nothing more than to touch them. The characters even though paranormal had a true to life feeling about them. You could relate to Nick wanting to care for his woman. Casey was weak in a sense she did not realize the power she held within until the love of her life brought her inner beast out in her. A great vampire read. I hope we hear about these vampires soon.

    Rating: 4

    Heat Rating: Hot

    Reviewed By: Rae

    Courtesy of My Book Addiction And More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    Candace Havens' latest is a wonderful paranormal romance. It has

    Candace Havens' latest is a wonderful paranormal romance. It has terrifically likeable hero and heroines in Nick and Casey. You automatically root for Casey to get her HEA and it is delivered nicely after a variety of twists and turns. Very funny, with poignant moments, and a nice change in scenery segue, it is a tasty morsel of a book. My only comment would be that the paranormal worldbuilding was a bit on the light side for my tastes. But the tension, the spooky bad-ass adversary and the cast of supernatural secondary characters are all terrific. Rather like having you vamp neighbor over for chocolate martinis & nooky! Definitely a great read for romantics!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book has a nice love story, it has some action. This was th

    This book has a nice love story, it has some action. This was the first book I have read by this author and will definitely be reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by: Indera Book provided by: Publisher Review originall

    Reviewed by: Indera
    Book provided by: Publisher
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book




    I enjoyed this book. I was expecting more “paranormal” happenings in this book, but I was not disappointed. I categorized this book as a contemporary romance sprinkled with some paranormal spices.




    This book was very easy to read. I loved the humorous tone in the writing of Candace Havens. Many times I found myself laughing out loud. Below are a few memorable moments from the book that made me laugh out loud!




    “Is that why you went fangy?”




    “You can’t understand what it’s like to be the crunchy Milk Dud in the pack.”




    “Way to go embarrassing him with all the talk about vibrators and Milk Duds right after you flashed him.”




    I adored Casey and Nick. Casey is a beautiful woman but has no clue. Nick is her best friend and is a super hunk. They both have the hots for each other yet neither have a clue! I felt this made the story entertaining. Throughout the story Casey was so in need a a good man and some good loving. I laughed my butt off with her crazy thoughts and ideas which all seemed to be about getting some good loving… particularly from her best friend Nick who has NO IDEA she is lusting over him. The characters are well developed, there were several characters in the book and the author does give plenty of information and back story. I loved the personality of both Casey and Nick. I found myself relating to Casey throughout the whole book with her ideas of love and relationships and her past “failed” relationships and losers. She felt like a “girlfriend” to me. This made me want to keep reading!




    The fun starts when Nick is in need of a date for an event. He invites Casey to be his “date”. Before the he spoils and lavishes her with the royal treatment. He sends a limo for her, she gets pampered at a high end salon, and he provides her with a wardrobe of dresses to pick from-top designers. By the time she was ready, Casey felt like a fairy tale princess and that is exactly what Nick intended. The fairy tale princess portions of the this book made me love it even more. The book was just full of the “over the top” love story themes and scenarios but the humor and characters made it memorable and very enjoyable. You have your prince charming, your beauty with no clue, romance and excitement!




    Nick is head of the Council and is expected to marry and find a mate. Alvinia is a woman from his past that wants nothing more to ruin Nick and to join the council. There was some more hints and touches of “paranormal in this book” with all the Council dealings and the war between Nick and Alvinia. Alvinia wanted Nick for herself and will stop at nothing to destroy Nick’s ‘Casey’.




    On top of hurting Casey and filling her head with doubts, Nick has to find a way to to win Casey over. He needs to protect her from Alvinia and her demons. He has to convince her to marry him and mate with him. Problem is she has no clue that he is a Vampire. He loves her, he wants to be with her and now that he has brought her into this secret “Council” mess! Staying with her would be the only way he could protect her.




    The story does deepen as Casey ends up in Greece with her hot and sexy best friend. He is on a quest to make her fall in love, tell her the truth about himself and make her fall deeply in love that she will marry him! I did enjoy this read!




    This book was a short read. Short not by number of pages, but short because I could not put it down. I kept reading looking for more paranormal and vampire things but got much comedy and romance. I did find myself wanting more spicy sex scenes. The book cover is extremely sexy and led me to believe this book was more “adult” that it truly was. I did enjoy the bits of paranormal tied into an over the top romantic comedy. Author Havens references “Twilight” and “Tru Blood” along with WOW (World of Warcraft) and some other pop culture themes. I will say this book is refreshingly funny. For those paranormal readers I would not recommend this book, unless of course you are also a bit of a cheesy romance lover . This was a funny, sexy adventure that will be sure to keep you laughing and reading. Thumbs up for Candace Havens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    liked this book

    I liked this book. Candace Havens never disappoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Cute story.

    Havens gives a cute story that provides humorous characters with the potential to expand on as a series. Which I hope she does with the two best friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a fun read! This book was quick and lighthearted, perfect

    What a fun read! This book was quick and lighthearted, perfect for a beach read or cozy evening in! A really good paranormal romance with lots of comedy!
    Casey was hilarious, I loved waiting to see what was going to come out of her mouth next. I can honestly say that she is my favorite character in the book. She is down to earth and takes everything with a healthy dose of humor. Nick is her next-door neighbor and one of her best friends. He is always there for Casey when she is down, and she's been secretly crushing on him for a while.
    Nick was just awesome, the complete package! He's a successful business man, super-sexy, and well he's a vampire (and he can be a little bit of an Alpha). They've known each other for months, and even though they are close, he still hasn't told Casey.
    Since Nick and Casey have been friends for a while before the book actually starts, their relationship moves fast but it is completely believable. The chemistry is great between them and I enjoyed watching it progress, and overall they were really good together!
    This was an enjoyable read, and also a quick and steady read with no slow or boring parts. A fun book for those of us who like a good romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1