Customer Reviews for

Take One (Above the Line Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Kingsbury does it again!

    I have each and every Kingsbury novel in my collection. I've read the stand alones as well as the series. I followed the Baxter's from day one. I was a bit sad when Kingsbury decided not to continue the Baxter story. When I purchased "Take One" from the Above the Line Series, I was hesitant to read. I didn't think I would get as involved with the characters. Kingsbury was clever in mingling her new characters with the Baxter's. I read it non-stop. She did it. I'm hooked and can't wait until Take Two is available. Brilliant author!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Take Two to "Take One"

    This was my first Kingsbury novel and, as a busy writer myself I don't have a lot of reading time, so I was happy to find a truly worthwhile author here. Lots of fiction today feels like it was hurried to press, hurried past copy-editors, and makes me cringe while reading. Not Kingsbury. I loved the smooth, tight writing, great characterization (not a single flat character, even those briefly drawn) and the plot was highly engrossing. I'll definitely look for the next book in this series, and when I can, go back to the earlier ones that introduced many of the characters in this one. My sons are not big fiction readers, but I'll see if I can get them to read this book, as the film-making theme does interest them. It also adds to the enjoyment of the story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Karen Kingsbury characters are like family!

    I have been reading Karen Kingsbury novels for over a year, and I can't get enough of Kingsbury's inspiring stories and reminders of God's truth. Though the book is fiction, the sense of family is recreated in each series, and this latest series "Above the Line" not only gives us some new "families" to follow, but also touches on the lives of previous families that Kingsbury fans have fallen in love with, through joy and sorrow, and the chance to remember that God's plan for our lives will be made known in His time, but that we don't need to fear, but have hope that we are in His care. The families of two Christian film producers is constantly tested, and the Hollywood eyes are watching to see their every response. But as the producers hold on to God's truths, the world is about to be surprised by the reality and consequences of living a life of compromise, yet learn that God is still a loving and accepting Father. Once again, Karen Kingsbury takes a simple truth of God's accepting love, and shares it with so many readers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Take One definitely worth reading

    Take One by Karen Kingsbury was very inspirational and realistic. I enjoyed it very much.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    If you like Karen Kingsbury

    Another good book from Karen Kingsbury and I love the fact that it is a series. Knowing there are more coming keeps me hooked. This is a book that deals with today's issues for Christians.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Excellent read!

    This is a great book and Karen continues to keep the Baxters alove while moving down the path of another great story/family.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Take One

    I love this author, I was so glad to see the continuation of the Baxter family and the morals they bring to the stories. She always brings in to the story the way of the world and how as Christians we can stand for good and decent values and turn away from temptation. Not in a sappy way, it can be done. I can't wait until the next book comes out in June, I am on the list. Keep up the good writing Karen

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing! I love Karen Kingsbury!!

    Karen Kingsbury never disapoints! She really has a true gift. I can never get enough of her books and I read them within the week of starting them. I try savoring them like chocolate-but I can't get enough. I love her characters and I love the Baxters are in there somehow. I would totally recommend this book! Also with a box of tissues-she always makes me cry!!! I recommend the baxter series and first born series! Start with baxter series then first born then this series! I love her, she is amazing! I'll stop now haha

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    I have choices to make on a daily basis.

    Every time I read one on Karen's books I have trouble putting them down - I loose more sleep because of this!! This is a wonderful book about life's temptations given to us daily by Satan and our choice to follow himor to follow God's will for us. Thank you, Karen, for reminding me in each of your books that I have a choice, and that only I can make that choice for me. But always God is there, ready to take me back into his fold if I should decide to stray to far and decide I want to come back.
    God is truely AWESOME!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    This was the second set of books I've read from Kaen Kingsburg.

    This was the second set of books I've read from Kaen Kingsburg. Hard to put down. My son bought my nook tablet for me almost a year ago and have read about 100 book. Mostly the free or under five.dollars. I'm on a very fixed income so it was tought to buy this four in the series and the next Bailey Flanigan seaiers, but it was worth it. The messages are deep and meaningful. I'm happy to have God in my life and these books helped me share God with my mom who is not a christian. So Karen, thank you very much. I'll save my change so that by the start of the NEW YEAS 2012, I can once again start reading more of your wonderful book. I know that God has so Blessed you and was happy to have found your books. I'll have to check with our library to see if they have any of your other books. Again THANK YOU? Readers of Karen's, books pass them on. God will bless you also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Great Christian Fiction

    I loved the story. I have read Karen Kingsbury before and the way she incorporates her past characters into the book is awesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Karen Kingsbury births another wonderful series.

    This story is true to form for Karen Kingsbury. She makes you laugh, cry and also really deeply consider situations we could all find ourselves in. Her characters are so believable and are always people I would love to have as friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    A Must Have for Kingsbury Fans

    I have been reading Karen Kingsbury's novels for many years now. Her writing style draws the reader in and you can not put the book down. I have been able to share her stories with my mother, grandmother, sister, and friends. She has connected us through her stories. I can't wait for the next in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    Beautiful story of faith and trust

    An amazing success story in the face of the determination of evil forces in our midst.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!!

    This book is just like all of the rest of Karen's books... hard to put down. I just pre-ordered Take Two (the next in htis series) and I can hardly wait for it's release.
    Karen has a God given gift and I am so very glad that she does.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3