Customer Reviews for

Take Over at Midnight

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    War School (part five)

    Jack stepped forward onto the stage beside Rachel. He saw her nod slightly before he began his speech to the waiting students. "Welcome, 7th and 8th graders. My name is Jack, and my girlfriend Rachel. We have gathered you here for this secret meeting today to tell you the truth." He paused. "The adults here are going to be<_>at us as punishment from now on."<p> Outrage exploded from the crowd. "NEVER!!" one girl yelled. "NOT TO US, THEY WON'T!!" another boy called. Once they were quiet, Rachel added on.<p> "I understand that you're angry, we all are. But we won't let this happen to us! For once, we children will take a stand and say no!" As she said this, more and more students began to nod and narrow their eyes in anger, listening closely. Jack continued on from Rachel."Follow us, and we will guide you all to freedom!" Rachel took Jack's hand. "Together, we shall make sure that children have their say!! Together, we will burn the school to the ground!!" <p> Cheers erupted from the crowd, growing louder and louder. Jack smiled and pulled the curtain down, revealing Coltin's message that got him in custudy. "Let the school burn"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Night Stalkers

    My least favorite book in the series. I could not stand Lola and thought Tim deserved better. Do wonder how Kee, Connie and Lola made it through any psych evals to get into SOAR.. Love the series tho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    Buchman has won me over. His books are now a truly auto-buy for

    Buchman has won me over. His books are now a truly auto-buy for me!

    I LOVED this installment of the Night Stalkers Series. Each book is a stand-alone novel that comes to a thrilling and satisfying conclusion...and the ongoing cast of characters (other books lead Hero/Heroine become the next book's secondary characters) is an absolute joy to read about, catch up with their lives, and they always, *always* remain true to character. I'm impressed!

    This book was so rewarding on so many levels. Loved the dialogue, the romance between hero and heroine, the deeply motivated decisions and choices. The hero (Tim) is a man I could (and did!) fall in love with; Lola is strong, capable, worthy of admiration from women (so easy to like!), and ultimately--very deserving of Tim's unswerving devotion.

    Buchman writes incredible action scenes, believable romance, powerful &quot;what-if&quot; military scenarios including the biggest, baddest disasters American soldiers could face. (A little unbelievable? We might WANT it to be a stretch....but I suspect wicked bad stuff like he writes COULD happen...and as citizens, we'd likely never know the heroes of the military saved the world.)

    The pacing was extraordinary. No sagging anywhere. Never wanted to put the book down (but had to force myself). Stayed up too late last night finishing it (when I had a 4 AM alarm set). Definitely deserves ALL FIVE STARS. Absolutely recommend it!

    ~Kristin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    Loved the series, but thought this final book wasn't quite equal

    Loved the series, but thought this final book wasn't quite equal to the others. Would give it a 3.5 if I could. The overall plot is engaging and most of the characters comfortably familiar. Without giving anything away, some of the actions of the characters didn't always ring true and seemed contrived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked how Lola was developed as a character. She had he

    I really liked how Lola was developed as a character. She had herself a really harsh beginning and it's not every day you see a character raised pretty much by a brothel house's cook without being encouraged toward the lifestyle herself. I also really admired that Lola considered it, but then the author allowed the natural time line to influence what happens (9/11, specifically) and what she decides to do with her life. And, as an aside, her father utterly deserves whatever torture he's put through in this life and the next. She also has a lovely little problem with Kee Stevenson from the last book I read in the series, and I liked seeing little Dalya again. The little girl's certainly growing up and proving herself smart as can be.
    .
    Tim - he's a hoot. He's got a fabulous family and really deserves his &quot;crazy&quot; moniker. He's not afraid to go after a woman, be the first one to own up to feelings, and to not utterly give up on one when she shoots him down. Oh, can't blame him for being hurt, and he was, buuuuut they also found their way to work through things.
     
    I love the military aspect to this book. AMAZING! I love the amount of detail in these books and am amazed by the fact that all those details never get to be too much. I am not a detail or mechanical gal, but the military facts in these books are written to simple perfection. TONS about the mission and the mechanics of the helicopters, but it's interwoven into the story so incredibly well. The suspense part of this book was particularly well done. I really loved every single bit of it. Just a fabulous book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    This series gets better and better with each book. Granted, I've

    This series gets better and better with each book. Granted, I've missed the first book in the series when the two majors get together, though I get the impression that events referred to in this book definitely apply to that missing book (there are references to Pres. Mathews' late wife and a lot of guilty looks going between the majors).




    I really liked how Lola was developed as a character. She had herself a really harsh beginning and it's not every day you see a character raised pretty much by a brothel house's cook without being encouraged toward the lifestyle herself. I also really admired that Lola considered it, but then the author allowed the natural time line to influence what happens (9/11, specifically) and what she decides to do with her life. And, as an aside, her father utterly deserves whatever torture he's put through in this life and the next. She also has a lovely little problem with Kee Stevenson from the last book I read in the series, and I liked seeing little Dalya again. The little girl's certainly growing up and proving herself smart as can be.




    Tim - he's a hoot. He's got a fabulous family and really deserves his &quot;crazy&quot; moniker. He's not afraid to go after a woman, be the first one to own up to feelings, and to not utterly give up on one when she shoots him down. Oh, can't blame him for being hurt, and he was, buuuuut they also found their way to work through things.




    The story was great - I learned a lot about the conflicts in the Middle East, and some of the earliest issues with Iran after the hostage situation in the 1970's. ML Buchanan took some of the current world's very real concerns (bioweapons being used) and turned it into a great thriller to keep me on the edge of my seat throughout.




    Lola and Tim were great as a couple, or even as a man/woman making eyes at each other without an initial plan as becoming a couple. ML Buchanan played well with the concerns that Lola rightfully would have had, as an officer having an affair/something with an enlisted individual.  I can't help but wonder if there are going to be any more books. I think the Night Stalkers (at least the unit with the Majors) have been all paired up, so I'm not sure who could be the next subject for this series. But I certainly hope so and know I'll eagerly read them if/when they come out.




    Thank you so much, ML Buchanan and Sourcebooks!




    Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another great addition to the series!

    ABOUT THE BOOK:

    Lola LaRue, Chief Warrant Officer of the U.S. Army's secret helicopter regiment, is a natural at everything except relationships. She's a professional in the air but she screws up every time she touches the ground.

    Sergeant "Crazy" Tim Maloney is a goner the moment he first sees LaRue on a mission to deliver a Delta Force team into the Iranian Desert. He's always been a 'love 'em and leave 'em' kind of guy, but all that changes when Lola's in danger. Now with the stakes higher than ever, they must find a way to eliminate a threat that could destroy more than just their future.

    MY REVIEW:

    I have enjoyed this series by M.L. Buchman immensely. Buchman manages to create some pretty good romance in the most unusual of circumstances. I mean, where else or who else would want to find love—not just sexual attraction—out in the middle eastern desert, under less than favorable conditions, while working twelve, sometimes sixteen hour shifts?

    Doesn’t sound very attractive does it?

    Well Buchman manages to go beyond the regular story of boy meets girl and together they fall in love. His stories are always engaging, descriptive, and on par for pure action. Take Over at Midnight was no different. At as a bonus, at the end there was a nice addition into just what inspired the author to develop this piece of romantic fiction.

    Sometimes the writing was a bit off to me, but it was more so on a character base, which is why I took it down a star. I would have loved to given it five, but for some reason Lola really just didn’t do it for me in this book, and came off as a bit self-centered at times. I know we don’t always want to have perfect characters in books, but for Lola, I almost didn’t like her.

    Even so, I adored this couple falling for one another. I would have liked to see them both work a bit harder at showing the falling in love, but I was well beyond pleased with the action and suspense in this read. Great job. Four out of five stars and hearty recommendation for a weekend read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1