Customer Reviews for

Take This Regret

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Review vs summary

People REVIEW the book, DON'T sumurize the book! Get over yourselves!

posted by 1534566 on January 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Eh

I only made it about a third of the way through before all the melodrama and grammatical errors forced me to stop and write a review. Everything in this book is extremely overdramatic, it's like reading a soap opera. The reactions by some of the character , especial fro...
I only made it about a third of the way through before all the melodrama and grammatical errors forced me to stop and write a review. Everything in this book is extremely overdramatic, it's like reading a soap opera. The reactions by some of the character , especial from Elizabeth, seemed forced it was terrible. I do not believe the love between Christian and Elizabeth. When something terrible happened to Christian he allowed his daughter to comfort him and even his ex girlfriend but not the women he loves? It's unreal. And every paragragh he talks about how much he loves his daughter...it is boarderline creepy the way he goes into detail about how he loves his daughter. Right now I'm at page 153 and I'm not surprised by any of the plot twist, I saw them coming a mile away. Overall I'm not happy with the purchase of the book and wouldn't recommened it to anyone.

posted by Gainbr on April 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    Anonymous

    Enjoyed this book very much. A lot of depth and feeling throughout this story. Maybe not for everyone but I would definitely recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Good read

    Lots of regrets, sadness, forgiveness, trust issues, love along with lots of drama.
    I don't know how Elizabeth could forgive after five rough years but their lve was stronger.
    It was so emotional I can't think of reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Pretty good

    I rated Lost to You 3 stars, but Take This Regret is a solid 4 stars. The characters and story were much better developed in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    She forgave him WAYYYYYY too easily, he definitely needed to suf

    She forgave him WAYYYYYY too easily, he definitely needed to suffer more in my opinion... But I spent almost the whole time bawling my eyes out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An emotional rollercoaster start to finish I was fortunate to b

    An emotional rollercoaster start to finish

    I was fortunate to be able to read the prequel to this book before reading it.  Lost to You is the background story of how Elizabeth and Christian met and became a couple.  Many things in Take This Regret made better sense to me because of it.  I think I was much more tolerant of Christian and Elizabeth both from having read the prequel.




    This book was an emotional roller coaster ride.  I was hooked immediately and felt drawn to both characters.  The story is told by the alternating POV of both characters.  I am really glad the author decided to write the book this way as it added to the emotional impact of the story and helped me to connect to both of the characters.  I particularly enjoyed Christian’s dialog.  I think it felt a little more real to me.




    I highly recommend this book to anybody who enjoys a quality emotional drama.  You do not have to read the prequel before this one but it will definitely enhance your reading experience if you do.  I will definitely be reading more A.L. Jackson books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    WOW

    Wow is all I can say! I chose this book after an internal debate...did I want to read such a heavy, emotional story. YES...YES I did. This story broke my heart with the possibility of two people almost missing out on a deep, true and honest love. I cheered on the changes in Christian and silently willed Elizabeth to take a chance. I cannot wait to start the next book, even if it will break my heart again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    A MUST read

    I am a Nicolas Sparks and Kristen Hannah fan so if you love these two authors you will love A L. Jackson also. You must read both books in the series and they are both so good that you will want to. It is fast paced,exciting, emotional and funny at times. It brings you back to the meaning of true love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Sweet

    The second book was sweeter...bittersweet. Tear jerking even. Didn't think I would enjoy it and reluctantly read it. I am glad that I was wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Good book...

    I enjoyed the book and the characters. I liked how the author provided both main characters point of views. I originally admired Elizabeth for her strength,but then at times I wanted to choke her for being selfish. Read the prequel to get good background on Elizabeth and Christian.


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    shoulda read this first

    I liked this story I wish I would have read this book first. I hope we get to see what the future holds for these two people!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Full of Emotion

    It's said that you do not need to read the 1st book to this story line (Lost to You) which is true. BUT... I feel you wouldn't get the emotional depth without having doing so. I was so caught up with the characters and their long fought journey. I cried and rooted for Christain to win back the heart of Elizabeth even though he probably didn't deserve to. I recommend both books !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    Good book overall, read prequel first. I liked the story but got very frusterated with both of the main characters at different times. I could understand her hesitation and being reluctant to let him back into her or her daughters life but after he was trying to prove himself over and over again it kinda got old with her pushing him away. He was definetely the cause of it all but she was a very damaged and broken woman and was going to make sure he knew he was the cause. It ended the way it should and was happy with the outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    great book

    I loved this story, very emotional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Made me cry!

    Love second chances

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Good read

    Great story and it was very heartfelt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Christian and Elizabeth were madly in love with one another unti

    Christian and Elizabeth were madly in love with one another until
    Christian makes a choice that drives a wedge into the relationship. I
    love a good contemporary romance. Many times I find the plot very
    similar to other romances, which is kind of what I expected here, but
    that was not the case. This book reminded me of the great many romances
    out there, but also had family conflicts which reminded me of novels by
    Kristin Hannah and Barbara Freethy. Elizabeth was a great mother who
    had taken her circumstances and done the best she could for herself and
    her daughter, Lizzie. Lizzie is adorable. I definitely fell in love with
    Lizzie as her dad did when he first met her. Christian is a great man,
    who made some poor choices and is trying to rectify those the best way
    he knows how. I think his father may have had some influence on these
    choices, but when Christian grows up, he can see clearly for himself.
    Even though this love story is mainly about the love between Christian,
    Elizabeth, and Lizzie, I can see the side love stories of Christian with
    his mother and father, and Elizabeth with her friend Matt and cousin
    Natalie. I really enjoyed Natalie’s character. She was supportive to
    Elizabeth and Lizzie, but very smart on her own. She was able to see
    things clearly and did not judge according to the past. She provided a
    fresh perspective and balance to the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    Beautiful, touching, and addicting. My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 sta

    Beautiful, touching, and addicting.

    My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars.

    Disclaimers: I received an electronic copy of this book for review as part of the Reading Addiction Blog Tour in exchange for my honest opinion. I did not receive any compensation for my review nor was I obligated to write a good review. The tour host did receive compensation for setting up the tour, but I did not.

    My overall Thoughts/Impressions: I went into this book not entirely sure what to expect. I thought the synopsis looked good and was excited to read it, I didn't expect it to be as good as it was.

    Some books you read and they effect you after you finish reading them. After I turned the last page, I couldn't stop thinking about the book I just read. We all make mistakes and it was interesting trying to watch Christian deal with his mistakes.

    Walking out a girl you have impregnated and not seeing your child for five years is unpardonable....or at least you would think that. Watching his determination to fix his wrongs and his love for his daughter was so touching.

    Then watching as Elizabeth dealt with her lingering resentment and the wounds that still plague her was equally touching.

    A novel that definitely played on my emotions. This book was well-written and focused on brilliant characters. But more importantly, the overall message was very touching. Definitely an engaging story.

    In Summary: A.L. Jackson's story drew me in from the first page and after having read her novel I am still thinking about this beautiful book. A beautiful read with a great message.

    Warnings/Side-notes: This book did contain some instances of strong language and some sexual scenes. However, they were very vague. They weren't graphic.

    The Wrap-up: I adored this novel. It's one that will definitely stick with me. It's touching, beautiful, and everything a novel should be.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Take This Regret by A.L. Jackson is one of the most heart wrench

    Take This Regret by A.L. Jackson is one of the most heart wrenching novels I’ve read lately. I was so captured by this story from the beginning and knew I had to keep reading to see if this couple would ever find happiness again.

    Elizabeth and Christian are a young couple in love and trying hard to finish law school. But their love will come to an end when Elizabeth finds out she is pregnant and Christians give her the choice; him or their unborn child. Elizabeth chooses her child, heart broken she drops out of law school and move back to San Diego to raise her daughter Lizzie on her own.

    Christian finished law school and takes a job in his father law firm, but he cannot forget Elizabeth and the way he treated her. When Christian moves to San Diego and accidentally stumbles upon his daughter, he knows deep down in his heart he wants his family back and he is determined to succeed on that front.

    A.L. Jackson is a new author to me and I’m glad I had the opportunity to read this book. She has written a fabulous novel full of real emotions, great characters and a day-to-day storyline. This was definitely a novel where healing was the most important topic of it all, I found myself reading parts of the story with a lump in my throat and that don’t happen often. This author took me on a rollercoaster with raw emotions, frustrations and finally happiness.

    Little Lizzie stole my heart from the beginning, she accepts Christian from the moment she meets him. It was so touchy to read how this little girl opens up herself for the love of her father who didn’t want her at first.

    I can only say that I loved it, the characters, the storyline and their journey to becoming a real family was heart warming.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2