Customer Reviews for

Take Two (Above the Line Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Take two continues the exceptional storytelling that Karen Kings

    Take two continues the exceptional storytelling that Karen Kingsbury is known for. Very sweet and timely story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Good Life struggles

    In some ways I liked this one better than the first one. Depression was portrayed so well that I got very annoyed with Kelley and her complaining but also could see how someone with depression might feel and come across. I could relate to the food addiction. Taz was a great representation of Satan and how he slowly and gradually leads us to the edge of the slippery slope so we are ready to slide down at his will. I feel badly for Andi's choices. There are so many of life's temptations in this book. I am really ready for Bailey and Chase to stop trying to outguess each other and get together. The ending again was not an ending but just stopped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Frustrating

    I realize this is a series, but this book ended with no resolution to any of the problems. I also don't like that the problems between Kelly and Chase seem to be considered all Kelly's fault. Chase is allowed to follow his dream without accepting any responsibility for his wife and children. In my opinion he is neglecting his family. His life is different than Keith's in that he is leaving his wife with 2 preschool children to raise alone. I'm a Christian and don't believe God wants us to neglect our family to the point they lose their faith. His pursuit of his dream has become a stumbling block for his wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    have a tooth brush handy

    I wanted to like them, but this series has all the depth of a sit-com, an old, wore out sit-com that the network should have cancelled long before.Perfect smiles, perfect people in perfect lives that experience minor trials and overcome them with minimal effort and with perfect timing....just like a sit-com. I can almost hear the canned laughter.Fluffy, sugary stuff that will have you racing for your toothbrush.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Another hit!

    Another great book by Karen Kingsbury! I love every aspect of this book. Kingsbury carried on Bailey Flannigan and Cody's relationship into this book and it continues further into Take 2. If you love her books you will love this one just as much! I can not wait for Take 3!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Karen has done it again

    Karen has done it again, enjoying her "above the line series, on book 3 and she has captivated me again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    She's done it again!

    Karen Kingsbury has done it again! Take Two is about the trials that Kelly (Keith's wife) goes through while Keith is in Hollywood editing The Last Letter with Chase. Does Kelly leave Keith or does she turn her life back over to God?

    Keith and Chase meet with NTM to discuss a new movie called Unlocked. Do they get the chance to produce it or does someone steal the idea as their own? And what happens with Bailey, Andi, Tim & Cody?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Karen Kingsbury Sseries books

    My first books by Karen Kingsbury started with the Redemption series, Firstborn series, Sunrise series and now I've enjoyed the first 3 of the Above the Line series. I find comfort and lessons in all her books and find them hard to put down. I especially like how she tied in the Baxter family members into the Above the Line series. I can't wait to read the last book of this series which will be available sometime this summer. Hope she continues to write about the Baxter and Flanigan familes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Take Two gives hope for dark days.

    Take Two is the second book in Karen Kingsbury's "Above the Line" series. This story follows the lives of two producers to the life of Hollywood, complete with temptation, excess hours of work, a change of priorities, and the isolation of a lonely wife/mother. The storyline really challenges readers to trust God without hesitation, remembering that His plan for your life may be hard to understand, but will prove to genuinely make you closer to Him. The simple idea of God bringing people into your life at the right moment was seen over and over again, to remind us that He won't leave us to fight our battles alone. And it made me want to reach out to all those girlfriends that got left behind when life got too busy. Renewed relationships are always a blessing! Thank you, Karen Kingsbury, for making your fiction an inspiring message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Another EXCELLENT Book by Karen Kingsbury

    As always, Karen captures the imagination in another amazing installment of this series. She has an captivating way of bringing you into her books, and making you believe that these characters are real people. Very few authors can capture the mind of a reader as she does. Her stories are always compelling and can't be put down, and this book is no exception. The only bad thing to say is that its too long of a wait until the next one comes out! :) Her books are filled with Biblical inspiration, but could also be thoroughly enjoyed by anyone, no matter the religious preference. Another five star book from a talented author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Second in the series

    I am enjoying this series as I have with all of Karen Kingsbury series. These books make for good reading, thinking about current issues for Christians, and are great for gift giving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Excellent book!!!!!

    This is even better than Take One and makes waiting for the next book in the series difficult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Encouraging and challenging!

    While the plot is somewhat predictable, the book is an interesting read and keeps you turning the pages to see what's next. Overall,Take 2 sends a message of hope in Christ and the love of God . It also gives the reader cause to stop and think about ones own life and how things of the world impact life on a daily basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Fantasic

    All of Karen Kingsbury books are great. I haven't found one I didn't like yet. Her Baxter family series was something else. I couldn't put it down.I can't wait for the next book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Book Two

    Great Reading and Story. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Amazing Christian Author

    Karen Kingsbury is an amazing talented author who repeatedly brings to life the struggles we all face as humans. I highly recommend anything that she has written. Having said that, some of her books stand out more than others in my mind. I am enjoying the 'Above the Line' series and can't wait for the 3rd installment to be published. However, I am not seeing quite the depth to her characters in this series as I have in the series' devoted to the Baxter family. Perhaps that will come as we delve further into the lives of these characters. If you enjoy this book, I highly encourage you to read her others. Some are 'stand alone' books and others are part of a series. If you are new to Karen Kingsbury and looking for a first book to read, I would recommend starting with a stand alone title. But which ever title you choose, you can't go wrong with this gifted author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    enjoyed

    I recommend this book and love a lot of Karen Kingsbury books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Karen Kingsbury Books!

    I thought that this book was amazing! Karen really knows how to keep you wanting more! I can't wait until her next one comes out. The way that she has woven in issues that are very realistic from Kelly's struggle with turning to food when things are stressful to Andy's issues with dating. I am also completely enamored with the unending chase of love between Bailey and Cody. Her ability to show the ups and downs that the characters have in their relationship with God and how to get back on track if you have fallen off is very believable! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4